We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaits at Taylor Hill.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Hill B&B

Taylor Hill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor Hill B&B
Save
You added Taylor Hill B&B to your Saves list
Route A859, Leverburgh, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Loch Lomond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits at Taylor Hill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Shona & Chris our hosts, made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were day tripping to St Kilda, and Taylor Hill is only 5 minutes from Leverburgh Pier. The room was beautiful and the power shower was brill. Breakfast was exceptionally good, with vegetarian option available for my wife. The eggs came straight from the back yard, where the chickens were roaming happily. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary whilst at Taylor Hill and Shona, Chris & family joined us for some champagne - so you can tell by that, that the hosts are incredibly welcoming and wanted to make our visit memorable. A great B&B to stay in, I highly recommend Taylor Hill, and we will certainly be back. Thank you Shona & Chris!

Room Tip: Front room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Harris and to St Kilda. My wife and I spent three nights at Taylorhill. Shona and Chris most welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. Spotless and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast using good quality, well cooked produce (the eggs come from their own chickens).
Greeted with tea on arrival. Shona booked dinner for us at the Anchorage Restaurant (Very good). She offered us a lift but it is only 30 minutes walk, which is most enjoyable after an excellent, large meal and a bottle of wine!
If you are looking for friendly, reasonably priced, good quality accommodation at the south end of Harris then I would thoroughly recommend Taylorhill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

One of the best B & B's I've had the pleasure of staying in. Great setting, great facilities and run by a couple who were very welcoming indeed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were able to find accommodation at Taylor Hill at short notice due to cancelled ferries and storms and were delighted that Shona and Chris were able to find room for us. We were welcomed with tea and homemade fruit loaf which was delicious!!!
The B&B is well placed for the Leverburgh ferry and the Anchorage restaurant.
The accommodation was very comfortable with comfy beds and was very quiet.
We both had a full Scottish Breakfast which kept us full for the majority of the day.
Would thoroughly recommend this B&B to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Its rare in these times to find a family so welcoming, accommodating and just so nice!
Touring the outer Hebrides on our BMW motorcycles, my friend and I arrived in the village late (8.30pm) and then started looking for a place to stay, Not ideal and not recommended, always book!.
We called at a guest house who unfortunately were not open for business at that time but quickly made a phone call to the owners of Taylor lodge who having rooms available were happy to accommodate us.
On arrival we were given hot tea and biscuits and given a double room each and both were beautiful, warm and very very comfortable,
Being late, we rather naively asked if there was anywhere local to eat and without hesitation the hosts offered to cook us up a quick meal. We were served a 'huge' and i mean huge home made cheese, ham and tomato omelet with accompanying chips, bread and butter, it was quite simply sensational !!
That night, we both slept very well and woke for the early ferry departing for the Isle of Barra.
We were offered a full cooked breakfast but were still full form the previous evening meals, settled for tea, cereal and toast which were in abundant supply.

The owners born on the Island have a host of local knowledge which they are happy to share and numerous books on the Isles within the the sitting room. With three young children, I could not have wanted to give my money to a more deserving and friendly family.

Shona, as you said ... we loved the Isle of Barra it was simply amazing, we watched the aircraft land on the beach! and traveled around the many white sand beaches and even went over onto and toured Vatersay ....... if only we had more time we would have stayed longer !!

Room Tip: Book to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our arrival at Taylor Hill was a perfect welcome to the Isle of Harris. Shona served us homemade pancakes & shortbread with our tea, and had made reservations ahead, at our request, for dinner at a wonderful seafood restaurant which was a nice walk to the harbor from Taylor Hill. Our room in this lovely new home was comfortable and sparkling, and breakfast was wonderful. Shona was able to give us great ideas and directions to visit some local weavers of Harris Tweed at their studios. Wish our visit could have been longer!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

On a mixed business and pleasure visit to the Western Isles and St KIlda we stayed for 2 nights and found the accommodation very clean and comprehensive. Our hosts could not hav ebeen more pleasant and helpful and if you are visiting the area I would absolutely recommend a stay here. Oh and if you enjoy a good Scottish breakfast and would like the opportunity to purchase home made Harris Tweed socks and scarves then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Hill B&B

Address: Route A859, Leverburgh, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Taylor Hill B&B Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Hill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.