We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B
Barabhas, 2 Luskentyre, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcome to Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

That was how we were greeted by Bill and he was not wrong. Everything about the location is stunning. The accommodation is lovely too. We used the peat fired woodburner, had fresh crab, prawns and home baking cooked by Agnes. Bill looked after us whilst Agnes was away and was an informative friendly host without being intrusive. All his ideas for days out were superb and we were blessed with 5 days of sunshine in March when most of the UK was freezing. Lots to see and do around the area but the wonderful everchanging views from the well equipped comfortable appartment means its hard to tear yourself away

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebrideanparadise, Owner at Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are delighted to know that your stay here in Luskentyre was such a success even in March.!
It is always a pleasure for us to make any contribution that will help you to have fond memories of your time with us in Luskentyre.
Very pleased that you enjoyed the heat and the smell of our peat fires.

Agnes & Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to describe how wonderful this accommodation is.

It was our second visit to the Hebrides and the first time we came in 2010, they were booked up, so I was determined to book the accommodation ahead this time and everything lived up to our expectations.

We got a warm Hebridean welcome from Agnes and Bill and they showed us how everything worked in the flat. The photos on their website don't actually do the apartment justice, it's much bigger than it looks and WOW to the views out of the kitchen windows and the three windows that lead out to the decking.

By going to Harris in February, we pretty much had every beach to ourselves all the time, so got that true wonderful feeling of getting away from it all. After spending the days walking (Bill happily recommended some to us, including a daily weather report) we could come back to the apartment and cosy up for the evening.

Cosy is an understatement as the flat has central heating as well as a peat fire. There's no chance of getting cold in the winter here! It was novel for my Australian boyfriend to make a peat fire, but he soon got the hang of it.

Everything you need for your stay is in the apartment and things like salt, pepper and other condiments are already in the cupboards and enough tea bags to get you started. I don't drink coffee, but the OH was impressed with the coffee machine that came with refills.

There is a TV which is great for tuning into digital radio, but we didn't watch it much as we were too busy watching the tide wash in and wash out over the Luskentyre sands.

After a few days, my OH went home, but the accommodation was so good, I didn't want to leave, so extended my stay for a few days taking my total stay to 10 days.

Every day I woke up and saw the view out the windows, it put a smile on my face, it is simply stunning.

I am not going to knock other accommodation on Harris, but this is the only apartment available that has the view out over Luskentyre sands. Others may look onto other beaches and over to Luskentyre, but this is the one that has the million dollar view.

I loved strolling a few metres down their garden and direct onto the beach and even at high tide, you can do a lovely walk along the dunes.

Views to die for, great hospitality, a comfy bed, highland cows for neighbours and nothing but peace and quiet is why I am already planning my next trip to stay here in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebrideanparadise, Owner at Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your many compliments . It gives us a lot of joy to be part of the success of our guests experience of the Western Isles , in this case Luskentyre.
Very pleased to be assured that we have provided all the essentials for a self catering holiday.
We like to share the comforts that we ourselves enjoy,eg the heat and homeliness of a real peat fire.
Thank you for the photographs that you forwarded to us , this will be of interest to our prospective guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Luskentyre in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned home from Luskentyre having spent 5 absolutely fabulous days with Agnes & Bill. We had the pleasure of staying in the Taransay Room which was perfect in all ways and to be able to wake up with such a magical vista - wow! The welcome that we had from both Agnes and Bill was second to none, in fact it was the best ever! Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely couple. Agnes' breakfasts were exceptional and her home baking delicious. I came away with 3 recipes, what more can I say. And Bill's knowledge of places to visit and Highland life in general was invaluable to us and his peat fire was wonderful.
This was our first visit to Harris and it truly was everything that we'd hoped for. To walk along the fantastic beach and to have it all to ourselves was just marvelous.
Our thanks to Agnes and Bill for making this such a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We used the self-catering apartment; the perfect choice of venue for those seeking a peaceful break, highest quality accommodation, excellent hospitality, and stunning views. The changing tides of Luskentyre beach, overseen from every window of the apartment, painted a striking range of colours as it moved across the vast expanse of white sands. It’s our view, supported by those locals we spoke with, that the accommodation offers the best location on Harris. Away from the apartment, and keen walkers, we particularly enjoyed the opportunity to discover unspoilt locations at high and lower levels, undisturbed by the high footfall seen in other holiday spots. Never short of things to do, we were struck by the warm welcome and interest invariably shown by the locals we met across the island. Ours was a special holiday experience, enhanced by Bill and Agnes, who were the perfect hosts, freely giving of their time, advice and some yummy home-baking. The Harris experience and apartment is given a massive and unreserved recommendation. We left with fond memories and a strong appetite for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights with Agnes and Bill at Luskentyre in July. The B&B is located at an amazing place, with lovely views of the beach from the room. The Taransay room is HUGE with an attached bathroom and lovely views. Agnes was extremely sweet and made lovely breakfast and guided us to some really good places to eat. Bill showed us all the good places to go climbing and also drove back with us to Isle of Skye, showing us little hidden treats on the way. This was easily the best part of our UK trip and we just dint want to leave! We will definitely head back to Isle of Harris- which is one of the most picturesque places I have been to and stay with Agnes and Bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For us, it was a very special stay, the best holidays we ever had, and it was truly so. We fell in love with the place instantly, and it never disappointed. Ever changing views of the bay (you can enjoy every minute of them right out of your window!), rhythm of tides, waters coming in and coming out, seagulls flying aroung so close that you could catch them! Living like in a fairy-tale in some constant dizzy feeling of impossible happiness. This place really makes you feel so! The house was the most beautiful, cosiest and most comfortable, it was much more that you could expect, imagine, or find in your own house! And we thouroughly enjoyed the authentic and delicious smell of peats burning in our stove! And what could we say about Agnes (Bill was away in Fife during our stay) - anything said would be like nothing said. To us, she was like a real mother, showing kindness and love and unbelievable hospitality (such an unspoilt sense of true caring about people - something not only to be admired at, something to be learned!). She took a constant care of us - a kind fairy leaving silently all possible delicious gifts at our door - or joyfully bringing freshly baked scones, ginger bread, eggs... Her advices and tips about where to go and whom to visit, where to eat etc. etc. were abundant and priceless, we would never ever discovered so much about the island's authentic life without her help! And on top of all, as by a mere coincidence we later stayed in the same region that the hosts have a second house in, we were most kindly invited and spent a priceless day with Agnes and Bill, being shown around the region Fife. That was so kind of them to give us so much time and attention. During that day, we found out so many things about Scotland - and we love the country even more than before (thanks to Agnes and Bill's love for their own land and history)! What else could be said - a PERFECT PLACE, A PARADISE ON EARTH. LOVE AND KINDNESS YOU ARE BEING CONSTANTLY SURROUNDED. Will return in 2 or 3 years for sure, we already miss the place and the house and their kindest hosts! It is doubtlessly the best location for a house in all Luskentyre, in the entire Harris, and one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Just the highest standard possible, far more exceeding what one could ever expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Everything was perfect - great food, friendly and helpful hosts, amazing views and the room itself was wonderful. Best place we ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B

Address: Barabhas, 2 Luskentyre, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Also Known As:
Luskentyre Holidays Self Catering & B&B Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luskentyre Holidays Self catering & B&B to your Saves list