We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast

Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muir of Ord
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kilcoy, Muir of Ord IV6 7SF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

In August we headed off on our bikes around Scotland. On such a trip choosing accomodation is very limiting as it has to be the perfect distance from the previous stopover (not too close so you get some good miles in, not too far or you wont make it). I found Kilcoy House using GoogleMaps and must report that it was absolutely wonderful. Katherine was the perfect host and amazingly accomodating of our bikes and all the kit that had to be brought into the house.
We started our stay with tea, biscuits and the entertainment of Rolly the dog who was just brilliant. Katherine made us a home cooked dinner which was superb and she had called the day before to agree a menu so was perfectly to our tastes.
We slept in the twin room which I just fell in love with and had very unique breakfasts, made to Katherines own recipies.
A truely wonderful stay and an absolute highlight of our trip. We could not have been made to feel more at home.

Room Tip: Dont follow a Sat Nav, the house is on the main road before the cycle track runs out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Spent 2 nights here with wife and 2 girls. Very warm welcome, charming home and really enjoyed the food which came straight from outside (they have Chickens, Ducks, Bees etc. and grow their own tomatoes etc.)!
Some B&Bs can be a little impersonal but here we felt welcomed straight into the home. The decor isn't at all effected but rather has a genuine and unique charm.
Not bad location in that it only took us 20 minutes to drive into Inverness.
Girls took instantly to very cute pet dog and they had a fun evening on the piano in the lounge!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Handy stopover in the highlands. Made very welcome and all requests were accommodated.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My son and I found this place by accident on a rainy day and we had a very friendly and warm welcome.
Room was lovely decorated, excellent shower and sumptuous breakfast.
We loved it and we will be back. It's an excellent place when you visit Inverness and surroundings.
Ingrid and Filip Zaandam Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

B&Bs of this standard are rare indeed. I'm honoured to place the first review on Trip Advisor and I'm sure rave reviews will follow. This establishment is simply so outstanding in every way that there's little point listing everything- I'll just let you find out for yourself!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kilcoy, Muir of Ord IV6 7SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to our relaxing bed and breakfast located in beautiful countryside on the Black Isle only 8 miles north of Inverness on the main A9 North to the West Coast of Scotland. Kilcoy House offers the best of Scottish hospitality blending traditional charm with a modern first class service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilcoy House Bed And Breakfast Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcoy House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.