We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Cottage B&B
Save
You added Point Cottage B&B to your Saves list
22 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV262UR, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Vallendar, Germany
1 review
“Perfect accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This accomodation is highly recommendet. It was a great pleasure staying here. Everything was really nice - we enjoyed it very much. Especially Muffins and Brioche are excellent and homemade!
We will come back - for sure!!,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It was great to meet you both and we'll look forward to hopefully seeing you here again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
83
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was my second stay in Point Cottage and this time under new owners. I stayed in the same twin room overlooking Loch Broom and once again was impressed by the stunning view overlooking the water and mountains beyond. This must be one of the best located B&B's in Scotland. The room was tastefully decorated with new table at the window for eating the excellent breakfast which certainly filled me up as much as any cooked breakfast--and much healthier!
Cathy has worked hard to raise the standard of an already excellent B&B and added all sorts of additional touches such as fabulous photographs by a local photographer and cut flowers in the bedrooms. The fresh contemporary feel compliments the authentic character of the original fisherman's cottage and I have no hesitation in recommending Point Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you liked the changes we've made, particularly the continental breakfast taken in the room. Hope to see you up here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A fantastic stay at this lovely B&B, made very welcome by Cathy.. Great location with views of the Loch. Continental breakfast served in room, as travelling alone would have preferred to eat in a dining room with a bit of company, however still very enjoyable. Hoping to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks, John, for your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet and chat with you and we hope to see you up here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just have to add one more rave review about how wonderful the Point Cottage is. The rooms are simply lovely with touches we haven't found anywhere else in our 2 week trip through the West Highlands -- fresh flowers, lovely views, modern and fresh decor, super comfy bedding. Not to mention the superb breakfast with homemade brioche and rolls (delivered warm to your door), fresh fruit and juice, and homemade jams and muesli. It just doesn't get better than this. Kathy is helpful and welcoming and we will definitely be back again for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. It was wonderful to meet you all and hear about your trip. I'm really delighted your enjoyed your stay here at Point Cottage so much. Hope to see you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A lovely warm welcome from Cathy marked the start of this memorable stay at Point Cottage. The furnishings are superb and the home made warm rolls and brioche together with home made jams made a most memorable breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're really grateful for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We only stayed at Point Cottage for one night but REALLY loved the place! The house is located directly at the waterfront just a few feet away from shops, restaurants and a place to watch a beautiful sunset over the water. Parking right in front of the house is vey convenient.

The rooms were extremely comfy and bright, the bed super comfy. Breakfast is continental and ready in a little fridge in your room. Fresh fruit salad and still warm rolls etc. arrive in the morning (absolutely LOVED the yummie breakfast muffins!!).

Should we ever return to this part of the world we will make sure to stay a Point Cottage again. Until then we can only recommend everyone else coming to Ullapool to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We do everything we can to make sure our guests' time with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so I'm glad it worked out that way for you. Thanks for the positive feedback about the breakfasts - it's really appreciated. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Point Cottage B&B is the perfect place to stay in Ullapool. It is a first class B&B. We really enjoyed our stay. It is located in Ullapool itself, directly at the seaside of Loch Broom. The rooms are very cosy, clean and tastefully furnished. The owners are great hosts. They put their heart and soul into the B&B and represent the scottish hospitality. They give you excellent recommendations for restaurants, walks and are always there when you have a question. We had breakfast in our room overlooking Loch Broom with view to the Summer Isles. The breakfast was great quality food: freshly baked granary rolls and brioches or muffins with fruit salad, freshly homemade yoghurt, local cheese and fruit juice. We loved it. Hopefully we will be back one day soon to stay in Point Cottage B&B again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
It was really lovely to get to know you both during your stay with us back in April. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It's much appreciated. I do hope we'll see you both here again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Cottage B&B

Address: 22 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV262UR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Point Cottage we offer a warm welcome at the loch's edge, surrounded by a stunning mountain landscape. A family-owned and run establishment, our rooms are cosy and comfortable with en-suite toilet/shower, TV, WiFi and lovely views. Continental breakfast is taken at your leisure in your room, with an emphasis on home-baking and local produce. An ideal base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Cottage B&B Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.