We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Cottage B&B
Save
You added Point Cottage B&B to your Saves list
22 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here 1 night on way home from the Outer Hebrides. Chose Point Cottage because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. Really lovely B&B - clean rooms and comfortable bed. Appreciate the extra touches of nice soap and shower gel and a cafetiere and shortbread on the hospitality tray. We had a great view over the harbour and went to the Arch for tea - recommended by Hannah and that was very nice too. Plenty of other places to eat in Ullapool if staying more than 1 night. Breakfast - full scottish was absolutely lovely and very tasty and we just wished we had stayed another night to try the pancakes!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
84
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Weald, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Point Cottage. It was lovely and our hostess Hannah was great. The bedroom was immaculate and very clean.The outlook from the bedroom window was right accross the harbour and we could watch the ferries coming and going and the herons flying in of a morning. But it was the little extras that also made the stay enjoyable like the tubes of moisturiser. Breakfast was delicious.Cant say that I could fault our stay in any way. When it was wet Hannah was very helpful with places and things to do. Altogether a very good experience and I would recommend Point Cottage as the place to stay in Ullapool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent 2 very comfortable nights at Point Cottage during our recent trip to N/west Scotland. The bedroom was very clean and cosy but a little cramped. Hannah is a very pleasant and helpful host and serves up a great breakfast, and the location is great for everything that tourists go to Ullapool for.

Room Tip: All rooms have a 'sea view', either up or down the loch, but I think the front ones are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This bb is fantastic value. The location is tops with a fantastic view of the loch, convenient to all the goings on in town. Ullapool was very lively when we arrived Friday night. We had a very good seafood meal at a restaurant reccommended by Hannah. The room was immaculate, wifi excellent and breakfast fish was great. Hannah helped us in every way she could. Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved our stay in Point Cottage. The location is wonderful, we actually spotted some seals right in front of the house on the day of our arrival! The room was very clean and pretty. The host was very friendly and willing to answer all our questions during the 4 days stay. We wanted to stay even longer, because Ullapool and the region has so much to see. The only downside of the town is that in August the restaurants are so popular that you have to wait for up to 45 minutes for a table, which is not easy when you are returning from a long day of hiking... We compensated this at breakfast time and enjoyed very much the lovely blueberry pancakes at the Cottage!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This B & B is a little gem and the situation overlooking Loch Broom stunning. The welcome we received was outstanding and the helpful recommendations for entertainment and evening meal very useful. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, decorated to a very high standard and the ensuite superb. Breakfast was well cooked with wonderful local ingredients and we considered this B & B excellent value for money. This is a very small B & B so book early to avoid disappointment. I would recommend this establishment without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My Aunt and I stayed here in July. We went away saying we'd recommend it to everyone we could. Lovely place (in a fabulous setting - Ullapool is great) about as close to the sea as you can get. Great views of course and the room was really pleasant, clean and comfortable. Between us we had vegetarian and fish breakfasts and they were better than ones we'd eaten at a much more expensive hotel in the town. Hannah is a very welcoming hostess; friendly and helpful. If you're going to be in Ullapool, it's absolutely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Cottage B&B

Address: 22 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Point Cottage we offer a warm welcome at the loch's edge, surrounded by a stunning mountain landscape. A family-owned and run establishment, our rooms are cosy and comfortable with en-suite toilet/shower, TV, WiFi and lovely views. A quality continental breakfast is taken at your leisure in your room, with an emphasis on home-baking and local produce. An ideal base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Cottage B&B Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.