We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Waterside, and stayed in one of the en-suite rooms with a loch view, and were very pleased we did.
The room wasnt large, certainly not enough to leave your suitcase open and walk around, but that doesnt take anything away from the room, just means you have to be a bit tidy!
The reason for this is possibly that you have two nice sized chairs in the window so you can sit out and watch the silky water in the loch, and just admire the beautiful scenery as the world goes by.
You are near the harbour but this doesnt ruin the view, or cause much disturbance. You can hear a background murmour at times if you have the window open but nothing that affected our sleep, and is definitely a price worth paying to make up and go to sleep with such a view.
The owners were very friendly and take an interest in what you say you were going to do and then ask you how it was the next day which is nice.
Amazingly as good as the view is, the breakfast rivals it for the best thing about this place. I was very impressed for the price we paid to have such a choice of cooked items, including nice fresh rolls, but on top of that there was a fruit salad of summer fruits which is unusual to find even in a hotel and was very much to my liking!
You may have to order it the night before, but this isnt so much of a problem.
There is free Wifi here too, which is useful if you want to check the weather or do a bit of research for your next days activities.
You also dont hear any noise from the other rooms to disturb the tranquility of the place.
The only negative thing I would say about the room which prevents it being completely perfect is the shower in the room which was an electric type shower rather than a better thermostatic one. This meant you couldnt control the power very well and the temperature went from freezing to almost burning with almost nothing in between and occasionally of its own devices. Fortunately it was baking hot, so a cold shower wasnt much of a problem for me!!
There is off road parking here, which I am guessing is useful as Ullapool is actually a proper place and so has parking restrictions! We did park in residents only as the private car park was full and were told that was OK - which was a bit un-nerving as we werent given a pass or anything, but we just relied on this being North West Scotland and so the warden would probably come and ask before giving a ticket!
We would definitely come back here as it has a great feel to it, lovely views and is fairly priced.
Choose one with a view, its worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your very detailed review and the only matter which disappointed me was the fact that you did not advise me when you were here that the shower was not working properly and it was a regular guest who stayed with us shortly afterwards that pointed out that the shower was working ok sometime but not all the time.The shower was actually replaced before this review was submitted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.