We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special but nothing wrong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morefield Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Morefield Motel to your Saves list
Morefield Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   North Road, Ullapool IV26 2TQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nothing special but nothing wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for one night with my hubby, travelled on 2 motorbikes. Bikes parked up right outside your room. Room rather dated but clean. Excellent piping hot shower. Had a few drinks in the bar, almost died when we got the bill ... whiskeys at £6.50 a shot soon add up!! Very friendly staff, chatty and helpful. Breakfast was decent - help yourself to cereals and fresh fruit then served a cook breakfast/toast.tea/coffee. Bit of a drag into town ... but nice and quiet for sleeping well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybiker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stopped off there before catching ferry to Stornoway. Handy as you park your car right outside the room - easy to get luggage in and out, especially if it is raining. Had evening meal and breakfast - good choice and served promptly and efficiently. Staff very friendly - enjoyed some good banter. Quiet location as it is out of town. Rather dated decor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A bit out of town, but that means it is quiet and you get a good night's sleep. Comfy beds and clean well equipped room. Our room had a double and single beds so that reduced the floor space, but not really a problem. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Good sized bathroom with bath/shower and toilet. The wash basin is in the bedroom. Tea/coffee making facilities and free wifi. Only problem, the room was not properly cleaned on our 2nd day. Good breakfast with choice of cereals and hot food.

Room Tip: all 10 rooms are in a row, with parking at the door, so no difference really in position
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

stayed over at the Morefield for a couple of nights to be close to friends who live in the area and the rooms were as expected - nothing flash and a bit dated but clean and comfortable and we slept well. The added advantage here at the Morefield as that as it's a motel you you can park the car right up against your room, so no carrying bags long distances. The food, as always, is great - very tasty and plentiful - and we can now say that breakfast too is also good. Tony, Bev and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Have stayed in the Morefield motel a couple of times, the hosts Tony, Bev and kids are lovely. If staying in Ullapool well worth a stay in this place, if not visit just for the seafood. I had mussels for a starter and there is nowhere else you would get that amount I,ve had less for a main
elsewhere. The seafood ragout was amazing, I was there with my partner we both had a 3 course meal and four drinks the price for the amount of seafood in all fish dishes was excellent. The breakfast I would definately recommend this motel the only downside is that it's a four and a half hour drive away from us.

Room Tip: room 12, bright and parking right outside room, very quiet as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmcshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

stayed for one night in july to catch ferry to stornaway next day the motel is clean and the staff were friendly read mixed reviews about this place and still went ok the rooms are old but they were clean slept like a log the breakfast was good as well would book this motel again if i was going to ullapool

Room Tip: the room we had was round the back you can get your car to your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly, good food (dinner & cooked breakfast). Close to town, but quite a walk. Free wifi - clean rooms. Cheapest place I found at short notice on hotels dot com - OK for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.5 mi away
The Ferry Boat Inn
The Ferry Boat Inn
#41 of 50 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Motel

Address: North Road, Ullapool IV26 2TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morefield Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Morefield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morefield Hotel Ullapool
Morefield Motel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing