We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Guest House
Save
You added Riverside Guest House to your Saves list
Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week and had a great time. Whole place very comfy and well appointed, with a great communal area as well as lovely rooms. Location very handy for all of Ullapool, very easy to find and everyone extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Delicious cooked and cold breakfast, I would recommend the bacon and sausages. All in all I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
77
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our room was great, the location perfect, and the breakfasts delicious. Our host was most hospitable and helpful, steered us to a lovely restaurant for dinner. The location made it easy to walk everywhere in Ullapool. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice place to stay nearby the harbour.
We had a great room with all the facillities and in the morning a good full scottish breakfast. That is wht bikes need on a long trip.
More than friendly staff.

Eveline (The Netherlands)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although we only stayed one night in this hotel we experienced that they write hospitality with a capital "H" there. Great tips what to do in Ullapool. We even had to park our motorcycle on the private parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Riverside is a good place to stay in Ullapool. We spent four nights and our stay was pleasent. the breakfast is good, the rooms clean and the structure is tidy and confortable.the wifi is not always working properly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Telephoned on day of arrival and got the last room! Are we glad we did! Room was great, spotless with a fully sticked hospitality tray (yummy shortbread!) Shower was great, plenty of hot water. Breakfast was 1st class with plenty of choice for every palette. We were catching the early ferry to Stornoway, and had plenty time. If staying in the Ullapool area again, this place would be 1st choice. Thanks again :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,Notts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On a tour of the Highlands with friends from USA and we stayed for 1 night only. If we had planned it better I would have loved to stay longer. This guest house is spotlessly clean and very inviting. A very warm wecome was afforded us on arrival and straight in to the communal Lounge where tea and coffee awaits at any time. Our room was very modern and had recently been decorated along with all the other rooms I believe. Breakfast in the morning was indeed hearty and served promptly in the breakfast room. The owner couldn't be more helpful giving us advice on where to eat in the evening etc and even giving us sample menus of the various eateries in the town , a 3 minute walk away. All in all a 5 star visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Guest House

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is of a high standard, ensuring many regular visitors frequently return for business or pleasure.Only 300m from the harbour, Riverside has a central, yet quiet village location and is an ideal base for those touring the highlands or travelling on the ferry to Stornoway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ullapool
Riverside Guest House Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.