We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leckmelm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leckmelm Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Leckmelm Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Leckmelm Estate | Loch Broom, Ullapool, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in leckmelm house. Large space, nestled above the rest of the cottages, sitting amongst the pine forest. Quiet and secluded. Good birdwatching from the large windows in the huge lounge. The biggest square fireplace I have ever seen, wish I'd had more time to enjoy it. Suprisingly only two bedrooms for such a large house, but comfortable beds and well set up kitchen, if rather retro in design.
Warm when we arrived. Logs for the fire waiting for us.
Piano ! Wifi. Two bathrooms.
Didnt get to make use of the spabath, but a cupa in the large engulfing sofas in the lounge was relaxing enough.
Great spot. Great find. Wish had stayed longer.
Only few minutes drive from ullapool, but you would need a car to stay here if you wanted to go into town.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in the week before Easter in 2012. The lochside 1 cottage was spacious, warm and well equipped. We've been to the Highlands 4 or 5 times in the last few years and stayed in various cottages - this was one of the best.The location was truly stunning with seals swimming in the loch just outside the cottage. Ullapool is just five miles way and is a lovely small Highland town/village with plenty to offer. Couldn't recommend this cottage and the area more...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCloud, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

I was blessed to take a working holiday at Leckmelm Farms
near Ullapool, Scotland this past October for 2 weeks! The Cottages at Leckmelm vary as to the star rating, though #2 Campbeltown where I stayed for 2 weeks was homey, and the veiws of Loch Broom absolutely breathtaking!

A great value for your money if you're paying, an even better one
if you decide to work for your room and board to help Lucy out at
Leckmelm Farms. Lucy is a great lady, wonderful mother of 2 young sons and has become a fast friend....go to Leckmelm to work or play, you won't be disappointed!

Dina T.
McCloud, CA
USA

  • Liked — The scenic views are stunning
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

A friend of mine was to be married in Ullapool and my partner and I decided to make a holiday of it. Ullapool has a good selection of hotels, B&Bs and guest houses, but we wanted to rent a self-catering cottage, and chose the Leckmelm Holiday Cottages because of their commitment to Green Tourism, and because they offered a very reasonable rate. The cottages are situated a couple of miles outside Ullapool (we ventured into the village on foot and found it to be somewhat further than the suggested three miles, up a main road with no footpath, and with a few alarming moments thanks to drivers putting their collective foot down). Accessing these cottages is easier if you have a car, though the village does have a very good taxi service.

There are several cottages to choose from, and we booked a 2-star cottage, Campbeltown number 2, advertised with views of Loch Broom. And what views! Standing on the doorstep on a crisp, quiet October morning, with nothing but the loch and the mountains around us, was a humbling experience. The cottage itself was better than we could ever have expected – and bigger than our flat in Dublin! There was a good-sized living room with a proper fireplace (they supplied us with a piece of wood to start us off, but we did some foraging in the nearby forest and found plenty more, and you can buy logs from the farm shop). The kitchen was small but perfectly formed, with everything you could possibly need, from the kettle and toaster to the butter dish and bread bin, and of course, the all-important corkscrew. No microwave, but they warn you of that in the brochure.

The main bedroom was roomy and had plenty of storage space, and there was a second small room with bunk beds – perfect for a family. The bathroom had both a bath and an electric shower, and all towels and linen were provided. We were expected to recycle paper, glass and tins, and boxes were provided for stowing them. There was also a small composting bin in the kitchen, Ecover cleaning products for the kitchen and bathroom, and extra blankets for those cold Highland evenings (the heating was set to come on in the morning and evening, but with a roaring fire, we were never cold). The place was very clean and everything had its place.

The decor was dated, but it was all very comfortable and after a while, we didn’t notice the orange walls and frilly lampshades at all! One thing I'd recommend is to be sure you bring enough food supplies because there are no shops nearby – you'll need to drive into Ullapool, where there's a CostCutters and a Somerfield's.

A great experience, and highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, roomy, well-stocked, lovely views
  • Disliked — The distance from the village
  • Tips/Secrets — The cottage stairs were steep could limit those with disabilities. Make sure you bring plenty of food with you!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Owner at Leckmelm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Keeley

Thank you so much for lovely review, since 2008 the cottages have been extensively renovated and interiors changed, would it be ok if I put a more recent picture of the Campbeltown Cottages up in my review to show a more up to date picture. I have only just learned how to reply to my reviews. Many thanks
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leckmelm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leckmelm Holiday Cottages

Address: Leckmelm Estate | Loch Broom, Ullapool, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six individual cottages on Traditionally run Highland farm. We welcome kids, pets, singles and groups. We have been doing holiday cottages for over 50 years in Ullapool. Three cottages on shore of Lochbroom, Campbeltown Cottages suitable for those on a budget and the beautiful Leckmelm House for a really special break. We are eco-conscious, Green Tourism GOLD award and STB registered and QA checked. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leckmelm Holiday Cottages Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leckmelm Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.