We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day - full of interest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Queen Cruises Day Tours

Summer Queen Cruises Day Tours
1 Royal Park, Ullapool, Scotland
44 1854 612472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Summer Queen operates out of Ullapool Harbour during the summer. We sail through Lochbroom, Annat Bay and the Summer Islands, taking in the Scoraig and Coigach peninsulas and some of the most beautiful scenery and wildlife in the world!We offer 4 hour morning cruises to the Summer Isles, landing on Tanera Mor (the last inhabited island in the group and home to the last independent Post Office in the UK!).In the afternoon we have a 2 hour cruise in Lochbroom and Annat Bay, that takes in either Isle Martin, or the inner Summer Isles, depending on weather and wildlife conditions/sightings.We encounter all types of wildlife from sea birds and Eagles to porpoise, dolphin and even whales. Sightings change from day to day but the views and scenery are always spectacular.We have a bar/saloon aboard offering snacks and drinks, toilets, and we have experienced crew who will share their knowledge and love of the area and wildlife encountered.Please note we do not sail if the weather turns poor, and do not currently sail on Sundays. Please contact us to discuss bookings - groups and family bookings welcome.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great day - full of interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a great day on the Summer Queen. Highly professional crew. Very informative and amusing commentary. Impressed by the commitment of the crew to conservation. A little disappointed the post office on the summer isles was closed, so we missed our opportunity to buy the famous stamps. Dramatic end to the day when we detoured to rescue a marooned kayaker. Reminded everyone of the perils of the sea. Thanks for a great day

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No sign of things with fins but still had a whale of a time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After stalking them by text, to ensure the Scottish weather would allow us to sail - our experience with the Summer Cruise team was brilliant.

Spacious boat, knowledgeable captain with a wicked sense of humour and a friendly face in the bar ensured the rain didn't dampen our spirits (or my whisky).

We left Ullapool harbour at 10.00 - in the rain. Some brave soul went out front and back which were not covered - but most of us stayed under cover. The captain did a great commentary, telling us about local history, local fishermen in their boats, geology, wildlife - everything you could ask for. We were not lucky enough to see anything other than the expected sea birds and a few seals - but the trip was worth it for the view - and tranquility of the Summer Isles. A short stop and all too soon we were back aboard for some slightly better weather, and the journey back.

Take binoculars, cameras, coats and a waterproof - just in case. You can move around so you get different views, and there are toilet facilities onboard if required. Highly recomended - we will definitely go again next year

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“super boat trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we had such a wonderful trip i just had to pass it on,we were lucky even with the weather!! the crew were top notch so knowledgeable and informative about everything we saw with real feeling about the land,the animals,the people and the history in fact just about everything around us they even found us a pod or two of dolphins,I would reccomend this trip to anyone and will do it again next year,ps they even allow dogs on the trip
Phil Pearson

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“did not see a lot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was a £30 4-hour cruise to the Summer Isles stopping at one of the peaceful islands for about half an hour. The commentator made a lot of little jokes. It was a cloudy turned rainy day so we didn't see much except for some sea birds. There's a covered area but it's still a bit chilly so bring a jacket if you're going not in ideal weather. The highlight was seeing a lot of seals pretty up close! If you tend to get seasick, it might be a good idea to pop a seasickness pill beforehand. The cruise was alright but I didn't find it very interesting. I imagine it would be much better on a nicer day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klondyker, Joker at Summer Queen Cruises Day Tours, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Sorry the weather wasn't great. That's one slightly beyond my control but am practicing. :) Glad the seals were ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great afternoon trip. Great commentary from skipper kept our attention and kept us entertained. Saw lots of seals, a few distant dolphins and a sea eagle. Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Queen Cruises Day Tours also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Summer Queen Cruises Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Queen Cruises Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.