We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
Caledonian Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quay St., Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's already get dark when the ferry arrived Ullapool, and the rain is coming. The hotel's location is easy to find. Parking, Check in, everything is allright, like most hotel in UK, the room is small, and I think this hotel should have a decoration, since my room's door is not easy to close, and the carpet should be cleaned as well. The sleep is good, the room is quiet. The breakfast is simple, but it's OK for us. Overall the stay is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    63
    66
    44
    32
See reviews for
21
101
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for 6 nights due to work commitments hotel is very dated in need of updating rooms are very basic shower pressure is very poor although to be fair rooms are clean , restaurant is very poor choice of 3 starters 4 mains and 3 desserts work colleague ordered soup all 6 nights and on each night soup was named either lentil , yellow spilt pea or vegetable but every night it was exact same soup ! Ate in the bar area every night foreign barman very unpleasant and unhelpful overall I would never come back to this hotel again

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel has been grand once but is showing her age and a possible lack of care. We had a first floor room with a waterview which was adequate but there was not remote available for the TV. Could have done with a second person at evening check-in as there was a queue when we arrived. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The main purpose of this trip was to see how our dog would deal with a 'Holiday' away from home so a dog friendly Hotel was the priority. This was most definately a Dog friendly Hotel the only restriction being the restaurant and bar though welcome to sit in reception area. It rained the 2 days we were here so we sat a lot chilling in front of the coal fire in reception as did our dog. We had an excellent VFM DDB package, meals were better than excellent, room overlooked the Pier so a lovely view between showers. Central location in village but noise not a problem. Plenty parking. Enough space in room for dogs travel kennel where she stayed happily at meal times. Staff all very friendly and enjoyed having dogs even encouraging an extra sausage at breakfast for those not allowed at the table.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNFERMLINE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

we had a lovely stay here very nice staff very helpful the food was the
best we have had at any easybreak hotel enjoyed everything we were
given compliments to the chefs..took a trip to gaerloch the scenery was
lovely worth the trip.

Room Tip: we were in room 20 not much noise from outside but had inconsiderate people next door tv on as soon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Firstly I must point out that my favourable review takes account of the fact that we booked using vouchers. The price we paid for what we got was rediculously good value for money.

We booked a twin and a double room for a 2 night DBB break. The double room (37) was in the older part of the hotel and although it had a clear view of the harbour area it was quite small. The twin room (21) was in the extension and of a more traditional layout. Both rooms had adaquate wardrobes, drawers, dressers. Tea/coffee making equipment and toiletries were in abundance. The bedding and towels were very good and overall the rooms were cleaned to a good standard. It is a very old hotel that must have buzzed in its hayday. Yes rooms carpets and furnishings need TLC or replacement but this is made up for with the flexible and friendly staff and the good old fashioned hospitality.

Dinner was from a set menu which changed both nights we were there. Although obviously prepared in advance it was well cooked and tasty. Tea and coffee was available at no extra charge. Breakfasts easly rivalled those of four star establishments. Fruit, cerial, porrige, juice (fresh) and a hot buffet including haggis, eggs, grilled tomatios, potato scones, sausage, bacon etc.

There was also entertainment both nights. A plesent surprise. A chap playing accoustic guitar in the bar one night and a very entertaining accordianist in the lounge the second night who managed to keep a wide range of guests entertained with his anecdotal recollections.

Finally the hotel offers an ideal base for exploring the very scenic area. If you can try Achmelvich Beach and take in the views of Stack Polly and Suilven. There is a lovely bistro in Lochinver overlooking the head of the water and they do fabulous tapas sized scottish fare during the day. There is also a very nice bistro bar in Ullapool which doubles as a book shop if you are looking for somewhere different to go in the evening.

Room Tip: Wifi only in reception areas. We were not aware of the noise from the ferry traffic despite overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night DBB break at the Caledonian. We had a lovely twin room on the 1st floor- room 219 which was clean, nicely decorated with comfy beds. Noise wasn't a problem as mentioned in previous reviews.

The breakfasts and dinners were tasty with big portions served.
Staff were first class- very friendly, welcoming and hard working.

The location was lovely and the trips to the Bone Caves and Achiltbuie were stunning and highly recommended.

We will definitely return to the Caledonian and would like to thank Andrew, the manager, and his fabulous staff for a wonderful stay. You're doing a grand job!!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay St., Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.