We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
Caledonian Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quay St., Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband had a one night stay. Very slow check in but staff were lovely and friendly.
The room we were allocated was clean and ample. We were too late to eat in the restaurant on arrival but breakfast was fine.
I don't think we would stay again but on the whole ever thing was ok

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    70
    71
    49
    33
See reviews for
23
113
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very tired looking from threadbare hallway carpets to walls in the bedroom in dire need of a repaint.
Don't get me wrong the room was clean and the bed comfy but the cheap white kitchen looking worktop set as a table/dresser and thin curtains without a lining were a put off (doesn't get very dark in this part of the world in the summer). The bathroom was clean but again in desperate need of modernising, we had to laugh as my boyfriend needed to cup his hands to get some decent flow of water over him from the dribble from the shower! No hairdryer which is unusual, so ladies be warned!!
The tv even in this day and age only had 5 channels, glad we spent the majority of time out of the hotel.
On saying that the breakfast was standard fare from a hot buffet and the staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room overlooking Costcutter so could see the water and boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments we have now replaced the majority of carpets in the bedrooms and corridors where you were staying. We have also replaced the "kitchen top style " furniture. We are also in the proccess of adding a pump to ensure that the water pressure is up to a better standard. Once again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the second 'Bespoke' hotel I have stayed in after the Regent in Oban. Not as charming as its Oban's sister but it does the job though be warned there is no lift. Seaforth Restaurant directly across the streer does good sea food till 9.30pm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your response it is greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for the night before catching the ferry. There was ample free off street parking, and although the room was in the old part of the building, it was light, clean, and had everything we needed. The en-suite was a bit tired , but worked fine. Breakfast was really good with a huge choice and a tasty hot selection. For the price this was great value for a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor they are very much welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Been here a couple of times before on Easy Break. Excellent value and rooms are available when coach parties are not using the hotel however the hotel can accommodate up to 3 busses each night. The dining room is large and breakfast is buffet style and dinner is table service with limited, but adequate, menus. Rooms vary but new owner about a year ago(?) has been upgrading bedrooms and public areas.
Ample car parking behind the hotel and across from entrance; hotel is in centre of Ullapool and about 50 metres from the Caledonian Macbrayne ferry to Stornoway. Free wi-fi in public areas.
Our bedroom on the first floor was small with a wash basin in the room as the bathroom also was small with bath (and shower) and wc only.

Room Tip: No lift and few rooms at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, our refurbishment is ongoing at this moment in time.
With regards to menus choices we have our TDH menu which changes daily which has 3 starters , 5 main courses, 3 x desserts we also have an additional menu which if you have booked direct with us a dinner bed and breakfast package is included has another 5 x starters, 10 x main courses and 6 x sweets we do feel that this offers enough choice. Once again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent two lovely nights at this hotel. The room was spotless and comfortable. Plenty tea, coffee and biscuits in room. We had a three course dinner on both nights and to be honest there was a fantastic choice both nights. Great portion size and no complaints at all. The staff were very kind and worked very hard considering there was two coach loads in at same time as us. Breakfast was buffet so could eat as much as you wanted, a pot of tea and coffee wonderful. We enjoyed it so much we booked again for October. There are a couple of areas that are a little tired but was not a put of for us. Beautiful area and a very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: I believe the hotel is getting a facelift and some rooms are already done. I think they are in the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for posting them on trip advisor. We look forward to seeing you in October for your next short break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking forward to a nice overnight stay in Ullapool but were quite taken aback by the room that we were put in at the Caledonian Hotel. The walls and the floor were all out of alignment with the door sitting on a angle. Being too tired to find an alternative we simply laughed at the state of the room and the flickering lights that would come on and off throughout the night. The breakfast was reasonable but the coffee was terrible. Wouldn't stay here again unless as part of a 'ghost adventures' event! Very spooky.

Room Tip: Avoid this one - it's nothing like the ads on the web.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, our maitenance & housekeeping team pass on there sincere apologies to you. Once again thank you for posting your comment as with out them we would not know where we still need to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay St., Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.