We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ceilidh Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ceilidh Place
Save
You added The Ceilidh Place to your Saves list
18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Fort William
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just came back from my last stay at the Ceilidh Place; have been twice before, I think. I've never been in the summer season, so don't know how busy it would be then. Now it was relatively quiet, which I rather appreciate. I love the set up of the hotel; the fact that there is a wonderful lounge upstairs for the hotel guests, then there is the kitchen where you can make your tea and coffee, and then enjoy in the lounge or take back to your room. Rooms and bathrooms are of a good standard, but there is no phone or television (and that suits me absolutely); there's a radio, and more importantly, there's a shelf of books in each room. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, cakes, all of a really good standard and the food is just that wee bit different and rather healthy too! Laundry services being offered, as well as the option of ordering a packed lunch. There's also a good selection of newspapers on hand.
There are regular concerts at the Ceilidh Place (missed one this time), and they have a bookshop on the premises. A good bar, and a bar for hotel guests if they don't want to be in the public bar. Obviously this all can be found on their website, but still; it is why I like the place so much.
Very friendly and accommodating atmosphere; I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    12
    17
    20
See reviews for
21
80
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a truly amazing place to stay! What a location, and what a gorgeous hotel. The rooms are lovely, with big comfy bed and classy decor, and the lounge with honesty bar is a super place to relax. We were lucky with the weather, so enjoyed sitting out on the balcony overlooking Ullapool.

The quirky and friendly staff made us feel welcome and entertained us with their chat. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and were v impressed both evenings, especially with the lobster. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, België
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I stayed last minute at the bunkhouse of Ceilidh Place. Although staff was really friendly and I heard amazing things about the hotel and restaurant, the bunkhouse was another category. It was old, dirty, my curtain fell off and the beds were not comfortable. I don't mind these things if they offer it on budget price. They asked way too much money for a room in this state.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Thought this place was really great - quirky, nice friendly staff, good varied menu which staff could cater to my dietary requirements, and nice, fresh food. They managed to seat us without reservation when they were busy, so we didn't have to wait!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We were on our way back from a glorious cottage stay on Tanera Mor & decided to finish our holiday with a night at the Ceilidh Place. We have been there before & so know what to expect; what it is & what it is not. What it is, is like staying in a mix of a gallery & the library of a big house; lots of lovely contemporary paintings & prints, quiet-making rugs and curtains; a comfortable lounge full of wee places to sit and read & where you can help yourself to tea and coffee or a dram from the honesty kitchen. Our room was very nicely decorated with good quality vintage/antique furniture including super high (princess & the pea high) twin beds (no double available :(), a nice wee bathroom with large bottles of shampoo & bubble bath (for you to use but not really take way with you) & thick white towelling robes. In the bedrooms were a careful selection of books...not just ones that other guests have left behind! We had been late arriving and the receptionist thoughtfully suggested putting our dinner booking back to give us time to get ready. We had a latish meal in the restaurant, near the wood burner stove. Between courses my partner went to the bookshop and found a few books which he paid for at the bar...YES YOU CAN BUY BOOKS AT THE BAR! HOW COOL IS THAT! (sorry...having a restaurant with a bookshop attached is pretty much my dream place). The food was good, nice advice from staff...a miscommunication resulted in my being served a white wine rather than a red I thought I was getting and the waitress couldn’t have been nicer about swapping it for a Cabernet.
Don’t get me wrong…I love a motel stop watching trashy TV and eating a pizza in a reliably predictable room & wee toiletry freebies to take way (tho come on that is pretty wasteful) but that is not what you will get here; there are no corporate clones working at the Ceilidh place, folk there are real, warm people who do have opinions sometimes. I was pretty offended by some of the other reviews who seem to think the model for working in a hotel is based on Downton Abbey…that the staff should be seen and not heard! There wasn't a TV in the room, and if you would like tea & coffee you just skip along to the residents lounge and help yourself. The lovely, atmospheric restaurant is prone to spring a few leaks in heavy rain but so what. There was no shower in our room but there was a big bath with lots of hot water. The other thing the Ceilidh Place is not is cheap though. It’s more of a treat than an economy base for a holiday. But there…go on and treat yourself anyway!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I love the Ceilidh Place, and over the years have stayed, eaten and had drinks here many times. The food is consistently excellent, there is always a great selection of beer and I love the quirkiness of the staff and surroundings.
Having stayed (in the bunkhouse on this occasion) recently, however, I have picked up on a few negatives.
Firstly, the restaurant area is becoming quite tired and dated. The wooden panelling and glass extension to the rear have seen better days. The restaurant is by no means cheap, so one would expect surroundings to match this premium.
The staff seem to be accommodated in the bunkhouse. On a few occasions over our stay, off-duty staff were gathered at the front of the bunkhouse, singing and playing instruments. On one occasion, there also seemed to be smoking of illicit materials going on. It looks bad to guests - maybe staff should be urged to congregate at the back of the building, out of guests' sight?
Lastly, we visited just before the recent Independence Referendum. We took a break in this week specifically to get away from the politics, however, on arrival at The Ceilidh Place the receptionist was wearing a badge and talking at length to other guests about the benefits of his opinion. Over the course of our stay, another badged mamber of staff tried to engage us in conversation on the topic. I don't feel that this was very professional - we were ON HOLIDAY! I also don't understand why a business such as this would want to alienate 50-odd percent of their custom by expressing an opinion. If this were my business, the subject would have been banned.
It's a shame that these points have tarnished my opinion of The Ceilidh Place, but you really do expect better of somewhere that charges a premium for a hotel room. I might go back for a drink in the future, but I doubt I'll be staying there.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Very good meal, as good as anything we'd expect to get in an good city restaurant. Nice and fresh ingredients, and really very good service delivered by an enthusiastic young waiting team, who wwerer attentive and had a good knowledge of the menu and indeed the wide range of malts on offer with out coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ceilidh Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.