We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ceilidh Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ceilidh Place
Save
You added The Ceilidh Place to your Saves list
18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The atmosphere of this place is fantastic. If you like books, this place is the one for you to stay. If you prefer to sit in front of the telly, avoid it. For those wifi addicted there is a good connection throughout the hotel.
The staff was very welcoming and helpful, food was excellent, room was clean, nothing to fault, I only wish I could stay longer.
Hopefully next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    50
    12
    17
    20
See reviews for
23
82
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The food was so lovely! The menu had great variety of different dishes. The part i loved most about the ceilidh place was the atmosphere! So relaxed, comfortable and welcoming. Spent many happy hours here :) Would go back to ullapool just to go here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

we Kiwis drove into town, unannounced, loved the look of The Ceilidh Place, wandered in, took a room on the second floor - most comfortable - especially for the considerable age of the hotel. Lounge was large & fabulous with own personal bar, food in restaurant great & very good service. Too bad we could stay for only one night in April 2014.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view - they let you choose if not all occupied
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

First time we have stayed here. Rooms are clean and warm. Shower facilities and toilets are as well. Great place to stay. Tea making facilities and a TV room would make the place perfect. Thought there is plenty to do around Ullapool. WiFi is very good as well. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick a room to match your group size if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Ullapool is lovely and so is the North West Coast, stunning and highly recommended. Lovely folk, bars and restaurants. However, don't be sucked in with the thought of the Ceilidh Place in Ullapool matching this....it doesn't. My husband and I were charmed by the website which promised a retreat and described as a quality hotel. It's CERTAINLY not. We stayed on Easter Sunday 2014 and were excited about the thought of our 'premium double room' charged at £164 for one night (bed and breakfast) being something special, bit like the Honeymoon suite!! The reality was our room was shabby, the carpets were frayed and patches missing, the shower was a trickle and the temperature gauge didn't work, the carpets were frayed with bits patches missing, the furniture antiquated, the taps spun in their sockets in the sink, we were given 2 bars of soap from the previous guests that had accommodated the room, one in the sink, 1 in the shower, wifi was ridiculously slow - a TV would have been nice....not an option, no Telly! This is generally fine with us but we at least expected the vintage radio to work, nope! Crackled with no signal where it was placed. Moving it to the window and just about hanging it outside did the trick! The cobwebs could have done with being cleaned from the wood v-lined panelling on the walls and roof and the damp patches were obvious. Breakfast is advertised till 1000hrs but don't leave it till 0940hrs or you will experience the staff aggrieved you're there... tables being shifted around, the basic juice and cereal being removed and a request to grab more quickly before its taken away. There was a feeling of us being a burden. Bedroom 3 is in pole position ....right above the bar patio!! We heard everyone's conversation and it wasn't peaceful to say the least. There were buckets in reception catching water drips from the roof!

I'm not sure the Management realise that some very good hotels with top rate star awards are not far off their asking tariff. Time to reduce prices to match the lack of quality, certainly when you're offered 'the only room left but it's our best '. The Management should benchmark themselves with what's already out there, regardless of the location. I did speak to the receptionist on departure but have heard nothing since, but I didn't expect I would. Thank you! Take your cash and goodbye.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Ullapool and Inverpolly are the most beautiful parts of Scotland. A must. The Ceilidh place was excellent 7 night stay for doing landscape photography. Their dinners for our group was par excellence and the staff very accommodating. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable stay.
There is no TV in the room, but more than adequate wifi. This is the perfect place to get away from the dreadful 24 hour news cycle. A perfect place to stay - highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting the Ceilidh Place for forty years and it has always a place in my heart. It is not like usual hotels where it just a box room with a TV stuck in the corner. This is more like a retreat with comfortable beds and amazing breakfasts. There is no TV,s in the rooms (nice to relax without distraction) but there is a huge lounge (for guests use only) where you can have a drink, tea/coffee or just read a book. When the sun shines you can sit out on the small balcony. Nice coffee / bar area and restaurant on the ground floor open also to non residents. A special place to visit and stay...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ceilidh Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.