We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Be!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We traveled as a part of a CIE tour to the highlands of Scotland and spent one night at the Royal. Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this friendly and accomodating hotel My husband and I loved our room with its balcony overlooking the back - what a great view! Our beds were quite comfortable. Many of our group commented that another night or two here would have been a good thing. Food was good, room was well kept and very comfortable. The only recommendation that I would make to the staff would be to put a shelf in the bathroom to allow the placement of toiletries for convenience.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    81
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
28
103
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Hotel while on a CIE tour of the Scottish Highlands. This hotel was fabulous! It has a superb location overlooking the Ullapool harbor. It has a 45 minute hill climb departing from the back of the car park. The views of highland scenery from the hilltop are breathtaking. The facility is modern and well maintained. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our room had a verandah providing a superb view of the harbor. The hotel even offered an Internet computer which is a rarity in the Highlands. The restaurant provided outstanding food, in quality, flavor and selection for dinner and breakfast. The best part of the Royal is the friendly staff. They provide prompt, courteous and perfect service. We would go back in a heartbeat. :-)

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I was very impressed with the Royal Hotel and its staff. The management and staff were very quick to answer questions and always greeted me with a smile. The room was one of the nicest that I've stayed in on my trip...clean, roomy, and with a shared balcony. The food was excellent every day with many options for breakfast and generous portions at all meals. The hotel is very close to pubs and other restaurants and only a 5 minute walk to the bank and post office. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

If you are looking for a friendly hotel, with exceptional food and a large selection of malts then this is the place for you. I was so pleased that I have booked again for the early part of 2010 but had problems finding a date for the later part of the year because they are fully booked (that tells you something).

The food was out of this world, the breakfast (what a breakfast) included everything you could want. The restaurant meals had plenty of choice and complimented with the house wine. The staff working in the restaurant could be quite (shy) but were always very pleasant.

The bar could be quite early in the evening but when visitors returned from there evening constitution the atmosphere changed. I am a single person but found no problems meeting and drinking with all sorts of people, American, German and of course the good old Scots. It was nice to meet some of the staff in the bar for a drink and a chat after their long day working.

I can only say thank you to them all including Marie, Margaret, Neil, John and Brenda who was always laughing behind the bar (even when I kept her up until 1 in the morning - sorry again). Can I also thank those staff who I didn’t meet for what ever reason as the team make the holiday for me.

If you want a really friendly hotel with excellent food and service you won’t do much better the Royal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

From the miniut we arrived at the hotel till the time we left we had nothing but the best service. The staff at the reception were extremely friendly, always asking if everything was ok, were there anything else that we needed and always very inviting with a smile. The room we were in was absolutly gorgeous, four poster bed (which was extremely comfortable), very plush carpet, flat screen t.v., the room on a whole was done to a very high standard and on top of that we had a view to die for.
The resturant was wonderful, all the staff were very friendly which gave it a great atmosphere and the meals were absolutly gorgeous infact the whole service was out standing.
The bar was the same as the rest of the hotel, great atmosphere, very inviting which really was made by the lady who worked the bar (Brenda), always smiling, laughing, chatting making you feel right at home. Over all this was a fantastic place to stay and we would highly recommend it.. A big thank you to the manager (Marie) who was there every morning at reception or the resturant, involving herself with the staff and guests to make sure everything was running smoothly, what a special touch.
We so look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had a lovely room looking out over the bay with a nice big window opening out on to the balcony. Unfortunately the balcony is communal and became the smoking/peering in place for the tour bus arrivals. The room was decorated well and all very pleasant and clean - just a pity the bed was lumpy soft and uncomfortable. We'd considered eating in the bar but found it a bit dated and lifeless so we ventured elsewhere (the Frigate Cafe). For an overnight stay it was fine but I wouldn't have wanted any longer there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The staff is very unpleasant. The woman at the reception desk seemed to be very inconvenienced when asked questions. It seemed like any task was a hassle. At breakfast, the waitress presented to our table without a greeting or a smile. She looked at us with a grim expression and asked what we would like. That is not very pleasant first thing in the morning. The atmosphere of the hotel is very serious and unwelcoming.
Aside from the staff, the rooms are average. They are overpriced for what they are. The bathroom and shower are cramped. The rooms feel a little old and musty.
I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier luxury hotels in the Scottish Highlands, the Royal will delight the most discerning of guests and offers 55 en-suite rooms, many with breathtaking views over Loch Broom and the others over rugged mountain landscapes. The privately owned Royal Hotel is a matchless and precious jewel of the Highlands, uniquely situated to offer the perfect combination of comfort and a stunning seaside loch location with a minute walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.