We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore tourist office recommendations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ignore tourist office recommendations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Don't be put off by the local politics that prevent the tourist information office recommending this place! The Royal comfortably lives up to its Tripadvisor ranking. Clean and well appointed, and worth asking for a midweek deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    81
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
28
103
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is very close to the town centre of Ullapool, directly on the coast and hence close to the ferry terminal. The food is good, the staff friendly, the rooms are very nice and clean and the bar invites for a relaxed pint after a long day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place was ok, not great and not bad. Stayed 2 nights, which was fine. We just used it for a base to explore. Clean and tidy, with nice staff. Lovely area and close to all amenities. Liked Ullapool and would probably choose a b&b next time

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I treated his Mum to a few days at the Royal Hotel and found it very good. Our rooms, two large double ensuites were next door to each other and both had a little table and chairs out on the balcony. The view was really lovely. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and we all found the kingsize beds great and slept very well.
My mum-in-law is quite elderly and we were concerned about the lack of a showermat in case she slipped so asked Margaret in reception if the hotel would provide one for her. This was done pretty much straight away and was a brand new one, still in its packaging.
We ate in the restaurant and both breakfasts and evening meals were very good, the service excellent and the staff very polite, helpful and friendly. We did have one meal in the bar which was also good and the lady working in there was very nice too. All the staff that we met, including the housekeeping people were all very pleasant and obliging.
I'd like to make a special mention of Margaret who was absolutely lovely to Mum and it was definitely apppreciated. She also spent time suggesting routes for trips out etc. After we got home we emailed her and asked if there were any postcards of the hotel we could buy for Mum. Margaret kindly sent us a few through the post and refused to let us pay her for them or the postage saying it was her pleasure to give them to Mum. A lovely lady!
Only one tiny criticism and that was a slight lack of toiletries in the bathroom, only handwash at the basin, no soap, and a bottle of hair/bodywash in the shower, no conditioner. In fact none of the usual little sachets we tend to expect. Plenty of those for tea and coffe etc though, along with biscuits. We all enjoyed our stay very much though and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch as the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night while on a coach tour. Really nice hotel in a great location; the view from the hotel's restaurant window is fantastic - it overlooks the loch and the marina. The hotel is like the Tardis - it doesn't look very big from the outside, but inside there's lots of space. The passages and stairs are really wide, and my twin-bed room was huge. The furniture in my room looked a bit dated, but I did read the owner's note in the Welcome folder in which he says they're updating everything in the hotel in stages. I was happy anyway - there was a small TV, tea/coffee facilities and a big en suite.

My only real gripe is the shower - the shower's floor is very slippery, and the shower spray is the weakest I've ever come across. What was meant to be a blitz shower turned into very long water-wasting effort just to get shampoo out of my hair!

I overslept and didn't have breakfast, but dinner at the restaurant was amazing. It's an Italian menu and I had the beef stew and sorbet. Lovely lovely lovely!!

Anyway, otherwise I was very happy at the Royal and would stay again (but not wash my hair if the showers stay the same!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

While the outside gardens are beautiful, we found this hotel to be just OK. Except for the cobwebs, the room was basically clean, but the floor creaked and we viewed the back parking lot. Bathroom had a glass cubicle for the shower -- quite small and very slippery. No rubber matting was provided. There is a beautiful water view from the lounge. Dinner was good, breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor as the floor creaks --
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly, helpful and pleasant staff. Excellent breakfast - From Continental to Full Scottish, including whisky and cream with your porridge. Situated with a beautiful view of the loch and the mountains beyond. Idyllic!

Room Tip: Watch out for squeaky floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier luxury hotels in the Scottish Highlands, the Royal will delight the most discerning of guests and offers 55 en-suite rooms, many with breathtaking views over Loch Broom and the others over rugged mountain landscapes. The privately owned Royal Hotel is a matchless and precious jewel of the Highlands, uniquely situated to offer the perfect combination of comfort and a stunning seaside loch location with a minute walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.