We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best waking up view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Hotel
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
inverness
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best waking up view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We arrived as a last minute booking as it had started to snow and we didn't want to continue driving in the dark with loads of stags on the roads. Very welcoming and we were given a lovely large room with amazing views over Loch Broom, with a door from the room to the balcony which was wonderful. Breakfast was substantial, with a great choice and prepared us well for our hike up the hills. We only saw one member of staff but she was really very friendly and helpful. My only criticism was the price which seemed a bit excessive given that there were no facilities such as a gym/pool etc.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a front room with a balcony, the views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    87
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
30
108
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just can't help returning to this lovely and extremely friendly hotel. Rooms are well decorated, spacious and very clean. The tea and coffee tray has classy coffee and a selection of teas and posh hot chocolate, not your bog standard nescafe and tetley that you see everywhere. Management and staff do there utmost to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible where nothing is too much trouble...If you are in the area this is the place to stay with great views over the loch from your room and the dining room...

Room Tip: Just ask for a front room and they have a couple of rooms with top quality four poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at the Royal for a weekend hill walking trip. I found the staff very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable and the rates very competitive. My room had a flat screen telly with 50 channels of rubbish to send me off into the hills and a large modern shower to welcome me back. The bed was more than big enough for a 6' 2" walker like myself and the sheets were clean. There was a radiator with a boost function that I found on the second night to take the ice off the inside of the windows (only joking). It was mild weather for the time of year! The breakfast was a fried up feast of choices, ideal when your stomping up the mountains in winter. Don't expect a luxury palace to lounge in with your laptops and lapdogs. Its a functional hotel with great staff and an essential wide range of malt whisky.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The website refers to this as a "Luxury" hotel. I have travelled the world and lived in all forms of accommodation and find that if you are honest many flaws can be overlooked, however the Royal sets it's aspirations high and then not only fails to deliver but in fact mocks the guest for their foolish belief in the hotel's honesty.

Luxury hotels in my experience have bedding made of, at the very least, cotton, the Royal's poly cotton bedding is not luxury. Luxury hotel bathrooms are tiled in high quality ceramics or marbles, the Royal's bathrooms are tiled in the sort of tile that is most commonly found in municipal swimming pools. Luxury hotels have antique or at least solid wood furnishings, the Royal's bedroom furniture seems to be of the cheapest composite laminate furniture from a DIY store. Moreover the toilets in luxury hotels work and do not overflow all night (and luxury hotels don't tell a customer to "just wait half an hour" for the toilet cistern to refill)

The whole hotel smells of poor quality fried food and has an air of a university halls of residence. Reception is more reminiscent as a poster below mentions, a 1960's hospital reception.

At a rate of £95 bed and breakfast this is the poorest value of all the hotels we stayed in over a one week tour of the highlands. This hotel seriously undermines the work of all the hard working individuals in the Scottish tourism industry.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed at the Royal for a couple of nights on a recent business trip. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. My twin bedded room was large, clean and fresh with great views. Large ensuite barthroom with good shower. Breakfast choice was amazing and would make some grander hotels think again about their own offerings. Have the full Scottish and you won't eat again until evening. Staff were welcoming and helpful and go the extra mile. I won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Hotel for two nights. The lobby and public areas are a bit tired and look more like a 1960s hospital reception than a warm and welcoming hotel. Our room was well enough appointed but the walls were very thin, and we could have quite easily joined in the discussion in the next room that was keeping us awake. Breakfast was plentiful without being particularly inspiring. The evening menu looked nice enough but we didn't feel inclined to spend our time in the restaurant which could, at best, be described as functional with absolutely no atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good ole Scottish weather, meant my partner and I were totally stranded in Ullapool, with no boats, feeling rather miserable as couldnt get to family across the water!! Thought it was just going to go from bad to worse but we were wrong about that when we walked through the doors of the Royal........
Staff at reception were so welcoming and considerate, trying their best to accomodate us at short notice, calling people to help find out about boats the next day, very warm atmosphere, rooms lovely and comfy!, well stocked bar too!
The food was just what we needed, good portions, good prices, great chef!
thanks to the girl who gave us some crisps in the morning to eat away on the boat a lovely wee touch to set us on our way!
Absolutely great hotel, wouldnt think twice about staying at the Royal, if the boats go off again I wont be panicking next time!!! Thanks Royal!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier luxury hotels in the Scottish Highlands, the Royal will delight the most discerning of guests and offers 55 en-suite rooms, many with breathtaking views over Loch Broom and the others over rugged mountain landscapes. The privately owned Royal Hotel is a matchless and precious jewel of the Highlands, uniquely situated to offer the perfect combination of comfort and a stunning seaside loch location with a minute walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.