We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Ullapool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creagan Guest House Ullapool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Creagan Guest House Ullapool to your Saves list
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Pulteney Street, Ullapool IV26 2UP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 48 Ullapool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay in Ullapool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

No complaints at all about our one night stay at Creagan Guest House. A very comfortable twin bedded room, beautifully decorated, and a good sized en suite shower room. Very good breakfast. Charming hostell. Close to shops/places to eat and also the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

First impression, charming presentation and pleasant greeting from our hostess.

Storage limited to a chest of drawers and no hanging space. The bathroom appeared quite state of the art until you attempt to have a shower in the modern claw foot bath holding a handset hose and wishing that we had been trained in acrobatics!
To our disappointment we found the double bed most uncomfortable to the point of getting little sleep.

The next morning after a good breakfast and complimenting our hostess on her charming guesthouse we advised her about the uncomfortable bed upon which she strongly disagreed in a rather terse manner.

We recorded similar comments in her guest book only to find that she tore the page and returned it to us shredded under our bedroom door minutes before our departure.

Room Tip: Be wary of first impressions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creaganhouse, Owner at Creagan Guest House Ullapool, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Upon receiving our first negative comment in over 12 years, we have installed a new mattress in 4-poster bedroom, which hopefully will satisfy all our future customers. There is hanging space available in the room. Our bathroom was designed to complement our victorian property, with the claw foot rool-top bath, 4 poster bed, and antique furniture. Unfortunately this may not be to everyone's taste but then these guests were happy with the room when they checked in, if they had let this be known to me at the time I would have happily offered them an alternative room with walk in shower.
As far as guest reviews go, we welcome them all, that is how we hope to improve our service to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algodonales, Spain
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

After a dire experience on Skye at the Stein Inn (see my review)this place restored my faith in Scottish hospitality.
As on Skye,we arrived wet through and frozen on our motorcycle.When we pulled up outside Creagan House the owner heard our bike and greeted us with a smile at the front door before we dismounted. We were given a choice of rooms and settled on a truly gorgeous ground floor front with 4 poster bed,en-suite with spotless bathroom.A lovely guest sitting room with wood burner lit,t.v. books and games.Breakfast was superb too.
I have stayed here several times in the last 8 years and it just gets better and better.If you stay in Ullapool,and you should,it's great,try and book this place.Truly AMAZING value,hospitalit,accommodation,food etc.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter,all rooms are A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were given a warm welcome from Kathleen. Our room was to the back of the house, which was very comfortable and clean with an en-suite shower room. The room was tastefully decorated with tea/coffee making facilities available. In the morning breakfast was served in a bright airy room, we were offered fruit juice, an array of breakfast cereals were on offer, followed by a full Scottish breakfast, with the freshest of free range eggs....chicken running in the back garden!! tea/coffee and toast.
A very laid back and relaxing time. I would have no hesitation in recommending Creagan Guest house to anyone who was looking for accommodation in Ullapool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

... as we did, following our previously planned itinerary. Wonderful room, tasteful and cozy lounge, marvellous breakfast -with possibly the best black pudding we've taste in our trip- , and a kind welcome and treatment. Add to all these pros the excellent price for such a standard of accomodation, and a bright sunny day in magic Ullapool , and you'll understand why we've chosen this title.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were booked into this B&B by the tour company we were travelling with and it was lovely. The room we had was a double near the front door. It had a gorgeous looking 4 poster bed, wooden floors, and pretty bathroom with huge bath.
Our host was very friendly and checked everything was to our liking.
The breakfast was also very nice and she provided a nice vegetarian option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed here overnight waiting for the ferry to Lewis. Room was fine - comfortable bed, hot shower and excellent cooked breakfast. Stayed alone in the twin room. Cost £35.

Played the Ullapool Golf Course before the ferry. 9 hole course but 2 sets of tees for each hole. Excellent short links course just north of the town. Honesty box. £20.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creagan Guest House Ullapool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creagan Guest House Ullapool

Address: 18 Pulteney Street, Ullapool IV26 2UP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Creagan Guest House Ullapool 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Creagan Guest House Ullapool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creagan Guest House Ullapool Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creagan Guest House Ullapool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.