We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was fine,bathrooms horrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Argyll Hotel

Argyll Hotel
18 Argyle Street, Ullapool IV262UB, Scotland
01854612422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Ullapool
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Argyll is a popular hotel with a restaurant and sociable bar. We offer a good quality, locally sourced menu of local Highland steaks, seafood, weekly specials and vegetarian options. The Argyll is a relaxed and friendly place with a well stocked bar, real ales and draught ciders, cocktail menu, good range of malt whisky and wines. We have a real log fire most of the year round and offer regular live music and entertainment.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food was fine,bathrooms horrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Poor heating and very oldfashion shower,more like motel than a hotel. However reception is very friendly and helpful, only the girl at checkout had no idea what to do.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    34
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a scrumptious Sunday lunch with the family in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Nothing too much trouble.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Mrs is too bossy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a fantastic week in Ullapool in October 2012. We stayed at Ardmair, just north of the town and ate in Ullapool a few times, one of which was at the Argyll Hotel. We went for a drink there one evening and chatted to a local chap about the area who was really friendly. he recomended Stack Polly (a local hill) to us and we walked it later in the week. I enjoy real beer and the bar had one called An Teallach (no spell check for that, so forgive any error). It was loveley beer and was enought to get me back. We had a great Scottish breakfast here one morning in the bar and then came for dinner one evening. Having had Fish and Chips 3 times in a week, my Mrs told me I had to have something else. I had a burger!! It was absoluteley excellent (I am a bit simple, as you can see). The restaurant was not that busy when we got there as we were early and the waitress was very friendly and chatty. All in all, very very good - like everyhting else we sampled in Ullapool. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for seven days last week while hiking around Ullapool and can't say enough good things. The room was basic, clean, comfy (especially the bed and pillows) and a good bargain. Breakfasts and dinners were fabulous. The best part is the cozy pub downstairs - always a fire going and quiet spots to read. It is also quite the local hub - with music, quiz night and people to chat with. The staff and owner are all very friendly and make the Argyle a lovely place to stay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant, friendly and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a lovely wee bar this is. We went here twice while on holiday to take advantage of the free wifi and were so glad we popped in. The drinks were great and it had a lovely atmosphere. As we had a 2yo with us we were there in the afternoon but wished we could have gone back to sample the evening entertainment. They even do REAL tea!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argyll Hotel also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.