We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast
2 Kanachrine Court, Ullapool IV26 2TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I can only echo all the other great reviews. This is an exemplary B&B with everything you could ask for...and more !!
Donna has time for everyone and ensures you really enjoy your stay.
Will certainly recommend to friends and use again when visiting Ullapool.

Room Tip: They are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it! We received a very warm welcome from Donna who took time to tell us about the accommodation, also recommending places to eat in Ullapool. Our room was lovely and contained all sorts of extras - iron,ironing board, first aid kit, playing cards, hair dryer, fresh fruit, variety of hot drinks, biscuits and whisky...and more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We highly recommend Donna's Bed and Breakfast in Ullapool, the best of many that we've stayed in throughout the UK.

Superb breakfast with a choice of just about anything you would want,

Even a bedside decanter of Scotch for that drink before going to bed.

A handy location close to the Morefield Hotel and the Park.

Every need is catered for.

That is why we stay there every year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Birchgrove B&B is run by the most delightful couple who could not have been more accommodating. Our room, while small, contained everything we could possibly need for our stay, and amenities were replaced daily. We were given directions for a short cut into town through bushland on arrival and suggestions for places to eat and areas to visit. Breakfast was freshly prepared and absolutely delicious. Can't fault this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Birchgrove B&B and have a tip for those trying to locate this B&B. For some reason Kanachrine Street shows up on maps but at the actual intersection on the A835 outside Ullapool another street name is shown. Driving out the A835, just follow signs and turn for the Morefield Motel, then turn left just after passing this motel into the small lane Morefield Place (without a street sign) and in a few hundred feet you will find Kanachrine Court and locate this lovely home and parking lot.
Our friendly host greeted us promptly upon arrival, helped with luggage and made sure we had all we needed to find dinner in town. The next morning, after we had a lovely breakfast with a charming view of their back patio, Donna was very helpful with Highland tourism information such as info on finding the Corrieshalloch Gorge--a not-to-be missed gorge with waterfall and viewing platform just outside Ullapool. Our room and bath were small but modern and comfortable, with free internet access. The price was excellent. We recommend for a comfortable stay at a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We would like to highly recommend Birchgrove B&B. Donna and Mike were wonderfull and bent over backwards to be helpfull. We had a lot of gear as well as an exercise machine and they let us use a spare room for both. The breakfast was great and they provided any and all info on local restaurants. They personally made reservations for us. It was the best accomodation we had while in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This B&B is perfect at all levels!!!! It is highly commendable!!!!
We've got an extremely nice welcome, and enjoyed a more than copious breakfast, served by the very nice (and humorous) owner.
The house, which is globally very pleasant, has a complete equipment and is in addition very quiet and located in a very quite area.
An unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Kanachrine Court, Ullapool IV26 2TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchgrove Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.