We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West House Bed and Breakfast
West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Ullapool B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bernisdale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ullapool was the last village of our traveling through Scotland and the West House topped every other B&B we stayed. Somehow it was like coming home. Thanks to Colleen and Richard for their warm welcome and the overall service. The room was very spacious and we enjoyed having a superb breakfast in this comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
152
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived at West House to a warm welcome, lovely homemade cake and a cup of tea. We had a good size room with en suite. We stayed two night, here in central Ullapool. Colleen gave us advice on places to visit and restaurants, even ringing to book a table for us. The breakfasts were great....lots to choose from, all provided in a fridge in our room. We particularly liked the fresh fruit salads, the yoghurts and eggs. Hopefully we'll be back one day, as there is more to see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is really a great place to stay. Richard and Colleen gave us a warm welcome and made our stay very enjoyable. They also helped us with good ideas to plan our stay and the rest of our trip. The rooms are great, spacious, clean and nicely decorated, even with plugs for non-UK guests, iphone dock etc... And the breakfast in the room is fantastic! There is a very large choice of whatever you want for breakfast, eggs, yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit and last but not least: freshly baked cake or muffins! They were really delicious! For dinner there is a very nice restaurant just across the street, so you don't have to walk far. But most of all we appreciated the warm welcome, we definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome from the hostess with lovely fresh baked muffins and a pot of tea....welcome on that cold, windy day. Very modern, comfy bedrooms with sky tv, ipod dock and everything we could wish for breakfast wise. What a gem

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first experience in a B&B and what really convinced me to book was the breakfast in bedroom. It overcame my expectations.
Me and my husband only stayed for one night and Collen gave us a warm welcome after a day of road trip. The room has everything, even universal plugs for non-uk guests, like us.
The dinner recommendation was amazing!
In the morning the breakfast tasted wonderfully (lots and lots of yummy food) and the view from the bedroom window was lovely. We even had the opportunity to chat with Richard and then say goodbye. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We'll be back.. fab place, loved the in room breakfast.
Recommend to anyone travelling.. especially photographers.
Great clean room with a view, all the latest gadgets, warm.
All the above was only beaten by the fantastic friendly welcome.. made us feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our first time in Ullapool and we would definitely come back.
The accommodation west house bed and breakfast was a truly wonderful experience. We were made to feel so welcome the second we walked thorough the door.
The breakfast experience is fantastic eating your breakfast in your room while relaxing at the breakfast table by the window taking in the stunning views. Not forgetting the homemade bread, jam, marmalade and cakes.... Yum.
Richard and Collen are such lovely people and they cannot do enough to ensure you have a great stay with them.
We would come back :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West House Bed and Breakfast

Address: West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at West House Bed & Breakfast from proprietors Colleen and Richard Lindsay in the scenic West Highland fishing village of Ullapool.West House is a traditional stone built former Manse, providing three comfortable en suite rooms with stunning views of Loch Broom and the surrounding mountains.We specialise in providing our guests with a substantial continental style breakfast taken in the relaxing privacy of their room. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit salad, cheese selection, yogurt, juice, milk, choice of cereals, muesli, instant porridge, oat cakes and Colleen's homemade bread and cakes or muffins and boiled eggs. Facilities include free WiFi, TV, hairdryer, fridge, toaster, kettle, I Pod, I Phone dock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West House Hotel Ullapool
West House Bed And Breakfast Ullapool, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list