We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect setting,for a Birthday Lunch- warm & welcoming on a cold January Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux to your Saves list
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Edinburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most perfect setting,for a Birthday Lunch- warm & welcoming on a cold January Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I organised a Special Birthday Lunch for my Husbands 60th.
The House and Gardens are very beautiful...as you arrive the staff were very attentive..and immediatly we were put at ease...they were most welcoming.
The Food is utterly divine....the double cooked cheese souffle so light & yummy as was the venison...cooked to perfection, as expected.. we were all spoilt for choice.
I had asked them to make a Special Birthday Cake for my Husband ..this was chocolate and berry mousse covered in chocolate ganache with spun sugar & gold flakes.. Followed by Coffee & petti fours; served in the sitting room.
All in all a pefect day...Thank you

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments, we are delighted you choose to celebrate your husbands 60th with us, and hope that we can welcome you back to Greywalls again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    47
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
141
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I visited Chez Roux at Greywalls for my grandmother's 80th birthday. While I can't comment on the hotel itself, the service and food truly were excellent.

From the moment we arrived, staff were helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. The surroundings are comfortable and luxurious, without being ostentatious, and the general ambiance is classy without being overly exclusive.


It was the food we were here for, and it didn't disappoint. The Souffle Suissesse truly was to die for and similar compliments were to be heard from the rest of our party. Throughout the meal, service was unintrusive, professional and knowledgeable. The touch of the chef coming to meet the "birthday girl" at the end of the meal was a truly wonderful touch and really added a special element to what was already a special meal.

Really lovely restaurant in beautiful surroundings, would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for your post and your very kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your special occasion with us.
Our staff are consistently working hard, aiming to achieve the standards which you have noted in your comments and I will make sure and share this with them.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to Greywalls again in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee,scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Really enjoyed our memorable visit to Greywalls. We had an excellent lunch in Chez Rouz, great food,wine and value for money. The hotel and it's setting are wonderful, I enjoyed the beautiful garden (even in late November in heavy rain).

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Greywalls Hotel and Chez Rouz.
We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and that you found us to be of good value for money, as we are aiming to provide a good quailty of service at a reasonable price.
We are also delighted that you were able to appreciate the wonderful setting which we are so fortunate to be in.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Entrance to the Hotel alone makes you want to look inside and then you will find a warm and friendly welcome. Hotel has a real edge on many of the Hotels I have experienced over the years with no compromises in the lounge, dining and accommodation areas - credit to the owners. Exceptional Service throughout our stay with excellent food on the evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to you recent stay at Greywalls Hotel and Chez Roux. As a team we try exceptionally hard everyday to ensure that all our guests enjoy their time with us and it is great to hear that this was the case with your stay, even if it was for business! I have passed your comments on to the team and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Directly adjacent to the world-famous Muirfield links (home of the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers), it would be difficult to fault this hotel's location. Indeed, if you wanted a hotel within 30 mins of central Edinburgh, I don't know why anyone would consider staying anywhere else. The decor is that of a grand family house - warm, elegant and welcoming, and almost like visiting someone's home. The staff are delightful, the rooms extremely comfortable and the food excellent. Above all, the price was astonishingly good value. I challenge anyone to find fault with Greywalls - it is close to perfection ... and, if you're a golfer, it probably is perfection! I can't contemplate staying anywhere else on future trips to Edinburgh and The Lothians.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Firstly, thank you for your review and taking the time to write it. It is also great to know that you will be staying with us for your future trips to Edinburgh, as you rightly pointed out we are so close to Edinburgh but you feel a hundred miles away thanks to the coast and beach being so close, and of course all the excellent golf clubs within the area! I will be passing on this review to all the staff. Thank you kindly, and hopefully we can welcome you to Greywalls and Chez Roux again soon. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The car engine had barely stopped when a manager was out to help us with luggage and this set the tone for the rest of our stay. A member of staff available on every corner we turned, warm and friendly and keen to help in any way. It was like staying with family friends as our every need was anticipated and attended to. While at dinner, the rooms were prepared for the evening, right down to the triangle fold being returned to the toilet roll ! Throughout dinner and breakfast the same exceptionally high standards of service were given. Plates of food were presented like works of art. Lovely, quiet and comfortable surroundings presented a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and for that one evening it was like time stood still. We'd chosen the venue for some quiet relaxation and we were not disappointed in any way. Cost of accommodation was particularly reasonable given the hugely impressive standards of service. Cost of dinner and drinks wasn't cheap but you get what you pay for and this was quality and standard at an exceptionally high level.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words on both this page and our restaurant page. It is great to see people take the time to let us know their thoughts and experiences at Greywalls and Chez Roux. As a team we aim to get the little things right, and it is great that you picked up on some of them, the toilet roll, the greeting in the carpark, good service being continued at breakfast (this is often forgotten) and of course the food. We aim to give Greywalls the same homely feel it has always had and I will certainly pass your comments onto the staff. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Greeting was fine, Piano guy was excellent, the food was, ok, a bit cold and hours to wait between courses,the wine was great, the loud American and his wife who kept flashing her "Sharon Stone " during a loud debate about nothing, reminicent of the "American" in that famous "Fawlty Towers "episode with the "Ceaser salad" made us leave early without dessert or coffee.(For me)
The most disconcerting thing was a couple of overtly classist cartoons berrating the miners of the miners strike for not appreciating French cuisine,all very well if you are Eton educated as all the photos in the Gents would suggest you should be to dine there, but unfortunatley I am not and I knew people , honorable people, who suffered greatly under the Thatcher-Scargill tiff and to to see this as a joke cartoon on a posh restaurants wall really upset me.

Food OK

Service OK

Wall hanging,s really not OK

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
It is very important for us at Greywalls and Chez Roux to receive comments and reviews whether they are good or bad in order for us to advance as a team. I apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us and I have discussed the issues with the food and service with all the staff. With regards to the pictures on our wall, we certainly mean for them to be laughed at and enjoyed and in no way are they intended to offend anyone.
Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.