We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux to your Saves list
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We came here for dinner & overnight as we were meeting friends for Sunday lunch. We really enjoyed our stay. The bedroom was huge & so comfortable & all the food we had was amazing!
Lovely staff!
One night felt like the whole weekend. We hope to return!

Room Tip: We had a garden room where you walk about 200 yards to hotel! Maybe not good if awful weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with and as you say, I hope you return soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    54
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
49
168
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went to Greywalls for dinner and stayed overnight. It was an amazing stay. Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble and great not having to constantly sign for things like other hotels. The meal was delicious. We both loved everything we ordered. The North Sea fish and cheese soufflé were the best. We didn't take the set menu, but looked great and good value. All topped off with a few sightings of Albert Roux who was in the dinning room for dinner & breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Mr Roux was with us for a week to ensure all is as it should be. So glad so enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a lovely dinner at Greywalls on a Saturday night. We had the three course set dinner menu which really is excellent value. The food is a really high standard and the staff were professional, attentive but relaxed. The whole ambiance was just right - the setting is grand but comfy, and not stuffy. We had drinks before dinner and coffee after in the library/drawing room, which a lovely setting. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and so happy to read that you enjoyed your evening meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Took my husband for a birthday treat & it was so special. A seemingly effortless atmosphere of calm, quiet luxury envelops you from the moment you arrive. Lots of open fires & squashy comfy chairs, tea in the library, beautiful gardens, attentive staff. Our room was lovely, decorated with a Japanese theme & looking right out onto Muirfield. Apparently it was the room Nick Faldo stayed in on the two occasions that he won the Open.
Our evening meal was superb, and for the standard & location, I thought it was well priced. Breakfast was of a good standard too, with cooked breakfasts to order

Room Tip: Room 18 if you want to sleep in the room Nick Faldo used! Great view over Muirfield. I doubt there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Yes indeed room 18 has been a good luck charm to Mr Faldo and Ernie Els won in 2002 when he stayed here as well. Unfortunately sleeping in our bedrooms is no guarantee to reduce your handicap. Great to read such a review and thank you for taking the time to post it.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Dined at Greywalls last Saturday with my girlfriend and her parents for her birthday. Always a pleasure to come and dine at Greywalls, the location and building is stunning and the food is very good indeed and also very reasonable for the quality you get. The main dining room is always nice to sit in with the pieces of memorabilia on the wall and quirky cartoons! Were sat at a window seat and had a great view of the fife coast at night. Sat in the other room for coffees and it is very relaxing sitting back listening to the brilliant piano player. Always delivers when we have been before and is definitely a must to try it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Having just returned from holiday I am delighted to read your review and have taken great pleasure in passing your comments on to all those involved. Thank you for joining us and I would agree that Tony our pianist is brilliant and does requests too!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just spent a couple of nights over Hogmanay in one of the cottage rooms. Room was very well appointed with all the amenities one would expect from this calibre of hotel. Extremely comfortable bed and super powerful shower.

The restaurant served very good food on both nights and the breakfasts were plentiful and cooked perfectly. Hogmanay night was I felt a little disorganised but certainly did not distract from the hard work of the staff or the finale of the firework display.

Gardens are well kept and certainly worth a stroll.

I will certainly be making a return in the near future.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are very big and allow you to take a well behaved dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest

I always enjoy working Hogmanay, if only for the fireworks. Our team do work hard to look after our guests and thank you for recognising this. Happy New Year again and thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went for the New Year's Day fixed price lunch.
The building by Edwin Lutyens is beautiful with stacks of history.
We had attentive thoughtful service, beautifully cooked and presented food, and all in a lovely calm gracious setting.
Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest

So much of Greywalls is made it by its history and the fact it is still owned by the Wevaer Family. Something we are happy to share with our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.