We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmory

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gullane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmory
Save
You added Kilmory to your Saves list
Marine Terrace, Gullane EH31 2AZ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Gullane B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

As our accommodation for the Gullane Triathlon 2012, Kilmory was just the ideal venue, situated 75 metres from the event. But it is people that make things special, not venues, and our hosts, Margaret and Peter, did an outstanding job to ensure our every need was met during our stay. Comfortable and spacious front room with a view to die for, dead quiet at night other than the lapping of the sea not far away and a cooked breakfast I was barely able to finish. Who could ask for anything more? I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone planning a trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here as we were attending a party in a local hotel. Booked on line and from the beginning I knew that Margaret was going to be the perfect host. We had a super welcome and given a front door key in case the party finished late.We stayed in the downstairs room which had a very good shower and an amazing selection of toiletries. Breakfast was the perfect start to the day with a good variety of fruit, cereals etc followed by a huge full cooked breakfast. We'd definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

3 of us stayed at Kilmory B&B Aug. 11-12, 2011. Very fine home, rooms and amenities. Proprietors Margaret and Peter are wonderful hosts who love Gullane and are most happy to help you have a great visit. Rooms were exceptional. Our daughter and husband stayed upstairs in family suite; I stayed in double downstairs. Family suite upstairs has gorgeous views overlooking the Firth of Forth. Full Scottish breakfast was terrific. Neighbors very warm and friendly. 5 minutes from Gullane #1, 2 and 3 and Muirfield. 15 minute drive to courses in North Berwick. Many other great courses nearby. Can walk to a great pub (food & drink), The Old Clubhouse. Wonderful B&B in a scenic and historic town. Will stay at Kilmory again.

Room Tip: Double on main floor with bath en suite; Family bedroom upstairs probably best room in house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Located rigth on the coastline with a wonderful garden

Excellent service, everything is very clean.

Large breakfast choice, anything you wanted - prepared and delivered with loving care.

Margaret and Peter are incredible, actualy amazing hosts. Pointed us in the rigth direction for lunch and dinner. Went out of their way to returm things we accidentaly left behind.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a B&B you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The accommodation is attractively decorated with an amazing view through the living room to the coast.

The room was very pleasant with a lovely ensuite bathroom. Excellent service, everything is very clean.

Large breakfast choice, ranging from grapefruit, melon, prunes, yoghurt, cereals followed by a cooked breakfast. Marmalade is is proper pots not plastic containers. Care and attention to detail make this an ideal place to stay.

Margaret and Peter are lovely, friendly hosts and make the stay very welcoming and agreeable. The location is quiet within easy access to the village which is only a short walking distance away with a choice of different restaurants with a variety of price ranges. Particularly enjoyable for those who like Geology and Natural History. Oh yes, there is a golf course if you like that sort of thing!
I like least the amount of weight I put on with all those generous Scottish helpings!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilmory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmory

Address: Marine Terrace, Gullane EH31 2AZ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gullane
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kilmory Gullane, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.