We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love staying here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Islander Club La Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Islander Club La Plage
Save
You added Royal Islander Club La Plage to your Saves list
Rhine Road #1, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maho
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love staying here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here the first time I visited St. Maarten over 15 years ago and finally got to stay here again in September 2012. This resort is on Maho Beach at the end of the airport runway (the opposite side from Sunset Bar). I never get tired of watching the large planes come in. The rooms at Royal Islander are huge (1 BR is approximately 1100 square feet and 2 BR is 1700). All of the rooms face the pool and beach (higher is better). The best restaurants on St Maarten are in Grand Caseon the French side, but there are plenty of decent places to eat in the Maho area. Sunset Bar is a must. The resort has a restaurant on site, although I've never eaten there. The pool is huge with a very large deep end. The beach is small but nice. The rooms are great with a full kitchen. The only thing that keeps me from giving this resort a 5 star review is the bed -- it was hard as a rock! We pulled the queen mattress off of the pullout sofa and put it on top of our king size bed to make it soft enough to sleep on. Next time I'll bring a mattress pad!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you can. Don't pay for Internet -- go across the street to Fashion Cafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    77
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
43
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice, clean; a timeshare; convient to casino, resturants, local market, nice pool, bars, beautiful view of ocean. But right at airport and it can be noisy. Don't stay on the street side because of the noise almost 24/7, but all rooms face the ocean.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I agree with others who gave this resort an excellent rating. The Royal Islander Club La Plage is older but spacious, beautifully landscaped, well soundproofed, and very clean. We were in unit 2108, a second floor, a one bedroom unit. All units had outside entrances and they all faced the pool and ocean. The balcony had a table, two chairs, and a chaise lounge. The airconditioning was refreshing and the shower had hot water and a good flow. There was a kitchen against the inside wall of the living/dining room. It was complete with dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, and cook top. We had HBO, STARZ, Cinemax, Encore, and bunch of other channels on the two flat screen TVs. Our balcony overlooked a huge pool and we could see Maho Bay right beyond the pool. I went to the pool and beach every afternoon before dinner and met many others there. The other guests were very sociable. Many come back every year. We enjoyed the buffet at the Tortuga Beach Club. Housekeeping came on Wednesday to clean and replace towels. Morning walks, water aerobics, bingo, and a few other activities were offered. You could also sign up for an island tour, a round trip van to Philipsburg, a roundtrip van to Orient Beach, and a free bus trip sponsored by Diamonds International to Philipsburg. We took the roundtrip van to Orient Beach for $20 pp and had a wonderful day at the Kakao Restaurant and Bar. We also took the free bus trip to Philipsburg. We had a rental car and drove to restaurants in the Simpson Bay area as well as to Philipsburg and Marigot. It is not necessary to rent a car if you stay at Royal Islander since there are $2 busses to the restaurants and the trips offered by the resort.

Room Tip: Second floor was fine. The view was great. Do not fear about airplane noise. DH is a very light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July 2012 for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We had a 1 bedroom condo facing the beach. It was a wonderful visit. The front desk and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The condo was well equipped and spacious. We truly enjoyed watching the planes land at the airport. We were fortunate to have a condo on the far side of the property – so we were not directly impacted by the airport noise. Even as we were lying on the beach enjoying the wonderful weather, the airport noise was not a disturbance. Rather, it was fun to watch the planes come in and land. We will defiantly go back to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a condo on the far side of the airport - the noise will be more limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The. People are. Great the. La plage is. The. Only place to. Stay on the island see. Nina tell. Her Paul. Sent you she. Runs the place. Next. To. Maho beach hotel I gave this place. 5. Stars and all around the. Royel. Island u can. Walk to. Cherries. For. Food. &. Sopranos

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at La Terrasse for a week and finished with a few days at my home resort La Plage. Love it. Shirlee at the front desk could not have been nicer and very helpful as well. My favorite part of this trip is as always Calvin at the Tortuga Bar with the 1/2 baked chicken lunch.. Don't miss it. Nice pool and the beach was nice this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We started coming here 25 years ago and still love it. Ocean view rooms close to airport. It is fascinating to watch the planes fly over.
Excellent beach and wonderful ocean swimming.
Great pool.
Reservations & front desk staff very good.
Right across street from Casino Royale.
Lovely area: Maho Bay. Nice shopping & good restaurants.

Room Tip: This is a timeshare property with RCI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Islander Club La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander Club La Plage

Address: Rhine Road #1, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#2 Spa Hotel in Maho
#2 Casino Hotel in Maho
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Club La Plage Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Royal Islander Hotel La Plage
Royal Islander Resort La Plage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Islander Club La Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.