We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay.. Awesome View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Islander Club La Plage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Islander Club La Plage
Save
You added Royal Islander Club La Plage to your Saves list
Rhine Road #1, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maho
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay.. Awesome View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at Royal Islander in April of 2011.. It was great..

Central location on Maho Bay & in Maho Village - perfect spot for watching the planes come in! Near the Sunset..which is a great place for some cheeseburgers, music and caribs.. Also in the middle of the shopping district and nightlife.

The front desk was helpful and knowledgable in car rentals, directions and the best locations. **I highly recommend renting a car and driving around the island, and a chartered tour to Anguilla!**

Our room was clean and spacious with a private balcony, facing Maho Bay. Not noisy at all with planes coming in (they stop between 7-9pm)

Room Tip: Choose a high floor (4 & up) that faces Maho Bay, with a good view of the planes landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    77
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
43
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

OK, there are folks out there like AdeeDoo who will rave about Royal Islander precisely because it sits just off the main runway of the airport. For everyone else, unless you are given this week, stay far away! We were let down by the Registry Collection (on an exchange) and chose to ignore the 'fair warning' re: noise for a 3rd floor/1-bedroom 'La Plage' unit. On the plus side, the units are well-furnished, the pool and deck/faux beach area are great (warning: tiles are dangerously slippery when wet) and access to the beaches north and the French part (via car) is good. The on-site Tortuga Bar is good fun and the resort does offer some activities like Aquafitness. Cons: the noise, the noise, the noise. Saturday is especially bad (Hey, kids would probably love the place!) The Corelle dinnerware is prison issue and the pink bathroom is right out of the 70's but generally the kitchen is well-appointed. Superb sunsets off the balcony, too. Parking was an unadvertised $30/wk 'extra' in a dusty parking garage that's being repaired but a rental car is a must! We were very happy with Avis at $454/2 weeks for a Hyundai economy 4-door. Nearby retail/restaurants are limited (or closed) but Cheri's was great for dinner, music and comedy. Sunset Grill (on the opposite side of Mullett Bay) is where sensible people grab a burger, a few beers, watch the planes then go home to a quite rest (somewhere else). Bring your own wireless device - no Internet cafe nearby but WiFi available for a fee. 'Must-go' beaches up the French coast (west side) inlcude Plum Bay, Friar's Bay/Happy Bay and a wonderful one-day excursion to Ilet Pinel, including lunch and snorkelling is highly recommended. Best nearby coffee shop is at 'Porto Cupecoy' right at the Dutch/French border (10 min drive). See also my review of La Vista for more ideas and recommendations.

Room Tip: Ground floor has limited view of beach but may be slightly quieter. Units with lower numbers may al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I've rated this Very Good because of its location and the factthat all rooms face the sea. The rooms are a bit dated and make sure you get a room on the Sonesta side or you will be up all night because of the street noise.
Mullett Bay beach is a short walk away and there is a nice little grocery store across the street from the hotel. We like the location so much that we are considering buying a timeshare here.

Room Tip: The Sonesta side, for sure. Also, get a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

So I am a little late on this review. We were not sure about going here after reading some of the reviews. Glad we did. We took another couple for the first time on vacation and we all had a blast here.
*Pros:
- Location,location,location. Yes it is right by the airport, but THAT is an expierience you
HAVE to have! It has even been on Travel channels "things to expierience" list. It's
true, you really don't notice the plane noise after the first day.....
- Views are terrific!
-Rooms were spacious, with 2 balconies.
-Can literally "step" across to the neighboring pool to change it up, and they have a
waterfall and swim up bar.
*Cons:
-Customer service. Except for the ladies that checked us in and "spiked" our welcome
punch......the other requests were bad. Like when the smoke detector went all
crazy on us @ 2 am so we took the battery out and the next morning asked to have
it fixed. It went off again in the middle of the next night (they never fixed it...) After 3
more request and a total off 3 interupted nights sleep....it got fixed. I am sure this is
an isolated incodent, but annoying just the same.
-Not the friendliest staff. Staff changes all the time, so I wouldn't base your stay on
this, but it needs to be said that every time we asked for tips, or directions, we seem
to get a smart alec response.

All in all we had a blast, and many fun memories!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here last winter, and the one before, and the one before that x22. That is because we have a timeshare here, so we are quite experienced with this hotel. There are positives and negatives to staying here, but overall, it is a solid place to stay.

Positive: the rooms are spacious, clean, and well-equipped with everything you'd need for a week, whether you hardly spend any time in the room or you stay all the time. And the furniture is reupholstered every few years. Second, the pool is large enough to accommodate all guests, even during high season. Third, if you like being "in the middle of it all," this Maho Beach location is quite literally in the middle of what the Dutch side has to offer. Over the years, this hotel has had the good fortune of the Maho Strip with its Casino Royale and many good restaurants growing up around it. For this reason, it's a great hotel to go to with family.

Negative: if you don't like being "in the middle of it all," then this is not the place for you. The noise, the traffic, and the constant action can be a bit too much for those looking for a relaxing beach vacation. Speakingif relaxing beach vacations, 20 years ago, this hotel actually had a beach! Sadly, this is no more. Erosion has gotten the better of the swimming section of Maho Beach. All that is left is a strip that lies under the path of the jumbo jet takeoff spot. And the waves are usually very rough.

So my recommendation would be that if you would like to stay in an "urban" area but still want a beach vacation, stay here, but rent a car. But if you go during high season, don't stay out too late with your car, because you will have trouble finding a parking spot in the inadequate garage space.

Room Tip: The second floor is "ground level, but since the property is split level, you will have a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIchmond, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have been timeshare owners here for the past 17 years. I am writing this review as part of a reaction to the Palm Beach person who stayed in Sept. 2011 and complained about everything there was to complain about and I'm sure it's a normal occurance anywhere they stay.
First of all, please believe that this place is not a 5 star resort, it's a very decent, clean middle of the road place to stay in a great location. It is next to the airport but the runway is laid out in a way that the noise really isn't a problem. The planes are usually done landing and taking off by 9pm with most of the activity in the early afternoon through 7pm. They are entertaining to watch, especially the big jets.
The grounds have always been well maintained and the beach can go from average size to very small depending on the sand levels at different times of the year. Usually there is enough to sit out, spread out and enjoy the beach. The water is pleasant to swim in and I have not heard of anyone drowning, it's always a possibility as in any beach but I haven't heard anything so far.
The rooms are kept clean, they do vary between being already updated and really nice to "needing" an update but still looking pretty good but a little "tired". We have a one bedroom unit which is very large and comfortable for a family up to 4 people. There is a king size bed in the bedroom with a couch in the living room that converts to a single bed with a 2nd single bed that pulls out from underneath the couch. The kitchen is adequate and has a large refrigerator.

We recommend staying on a high floor (3,4, 5 or 6) so the view of the sea is unobstructed and I'll tell you, it's incredible.

The front desk, housekeeping, security and others working there have always been friendly. We have witnessed "rude" guests and sad to say "timeshare" owners who think that they should be treated like royalty and get upset when they are treated well but their feet aren't kissed everytime they walk through the lobby. That said, many timeshare owners are great but we've noticed several who should really stay at home.

This place is located in the "Maho" area of the island. Many restaurants, a casino, shops, a small grocery store are within easy walking distance.

We would recommend renting a car, there are many beaches on the island that go from being crowded and busy to having a beach all by yourself.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Sonesta hotel side tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have been traveling to st. martin for 10+ years and have made the Royal Islander our second home. We first went as a time share exchange and now it is a regular request. The location is on the water overlooking the Maho Bay and airport. It has the Casino right across the street and the night life is great. All the shops and Maho are friendly and accomedating.
The staff at the Royal Islanded treat us like extended family and work to make our visit special each time.
The facilities are well kept and even after the hurricane they were in good shape.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have all the rooms from studio to Penthouse. We have stayed in all but the penthouse. All had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Islander Club La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander Club La Plage

Address: Rhine Road #1, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#2 Spa Hotel in Maho
#2 Casino Hotel in Maho
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Club La Plage Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Royal Islander Hotel La Plage
Royal Islander Resort La Plage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Islander Club La Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.