We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should change the name to YODO - You'll Only Dine Once” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yolo | Fusion Cuisine and Sushi Lounge - CLOSED

Yolo | Fusion Cuisine and Sushi Lounge
2 Beacon Hill Road | Inside Bliss Night Club, Maho 00000, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Yolo)
+(1)721-588-4643
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Sushi, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Yolo Fusion Cuisine & Sushi Lounge sits waterfront on the Caribbean and is considered to have the most coveted restaurant view in all of Sint Maarten/Saint Martin. Open for lunch and dinner, Yolo Fusion Cuisine and Sushi Lounge's views will exceed your expectations, whether it be for lunch while you enjoy our bistro style burgers and the the comings and goings of 747 jets...or for dinner, where you will experience the evening sunset and our thoughtfully created menus. Our main kitchen will served you dishes that have been influenced from all around the globe, including Asia and France. Our Sushi Lounge affords you the experience of the FIRST and ONLY, all you can eat sushi menu on the island. Our goal, is to exceed your expectations and to do it with the smile that only the Caribbean can offer you, thank you for coming and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They should change the name to YODO - You'll Only Dine Once”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I came her for an event, they were offering all you can eat sushi for $29.95. The "all you can eat" aspect of the offer was the most blatant case of false advertising since the movie, "The Neverending Story." Over the course of an hour from 9pm to 10pm, I was served 3 small sushi plates of 3 pieces of maki each. The service was extremely slow for a restaurant that was at 1/3 capacity, the sushi bar actually ran out of sushi rice, and when I complained to the manager, he said the sushi was closed at 10pm and the only way I could get food was "a la carte" and I would have to pay for it. Avoid this restaurant at all costs! There are way too many viable options in SXM to waste your time or money here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoloSXM, Owner at Yolo | Fusion Cuisine and Sushi Lounge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Adam S.

My apologies for responding to your review so late.

My sincerest apologies for the miscommunication in regards to your student event. We organized special offerings for our sponsoring of your evening with discounted food and drinks from 8PM-10PM, which was much lower then $29.95. It is unfortunate that this information was not correctly relayed to you and your classmates by your organizers before you arrived. We actually served a few of the other students at around 1130PM who also were not properly informed of the times of the event and I hope you were with them.

Sincerest Regards,

Yolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food with wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went there on a cloudy, rainy day for Happy Hour. We could just imagine how perfect the location was for a spectacular sunset if only the weather had been better. After looking at the menu, we decided to extend our Happy Hour into dinner. We were not disappointed. The menu is great and the food was fantastic with generous portions. Service was very good too. We will definitely return - next time when the weather is cooperating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived late for dinner and there was only one other table occupied.....it would have been nice to have a few more diners. The location is perfect.....right at the water with booths under the stars. The staff went out of it's way to take care of us, even tho we showed up just as they were going to close. The selection of small plates is wonderful.....priced at either $8 or $11 and we choose to do a selection of those rather than order full meals. The service was quick and the food was wonderful. The staff even leaped to our service when the car wouldn't start......the bartender quickly arriving with jumper cables and the knowhow to use them. We sure hope this new upstart makes it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, people and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thanks to trip advisor we found this charming restaurant near Mayo village with beautiful views of the ocean. Food and ambiance is outstanding. We were there as a couple but families were as equally comfortable. This restaurant pulls you out of the rush of the beach and party atmosphere and gives you time to sit back, relax and take in the Island charm. Say hi to Dennis who does a great job making you feel welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“what a rip off for a nice looking place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went there with friends and kids. The place IS beautiful. Waiters are very friendly but sneaky. We ordered some chicken for kids. The waiter innocently asked us if we would like some french fries with that. We agreed. Kids got exactly 10 french fries on each plate for $4/each (as we found out later). These were the most expensive average-tasting french fries ever. Our food was not bad. We paid with the credit card and the bill on statement came $12 more than on our receipt copy. We had to dispute the extra amount they charged. Watch out for this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yolo | Fusion Cuisine and Sushi Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yolo | Fusion Cuisine and Sushi Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.