We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good- But Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Fou

Moulin Fou
Maho Plaza, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
(00599) 545 5777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 restaurants in Maho
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
chicago
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Very Good- But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food here was great. I had the Filet and it was cooked perfect. My husband had the lamb and wanted to know where the rest of his dinner was. The lamb was over priced for what he received. Not sure why people keep going back to this restaurant. It was very but there are other very good restaurants also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    96
    33
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Margate City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good - but awkward "service charge" discussion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was quite good and well presented.

They could offer more wines "by the glass" - very limited selection.

When the server brought the bill, he asked if we wanted to add "service" to the credit card
transaction? The bill clearly showed they already added 15% for service. The server then said
that management keeps 5% of that 15% so the servers only get 10%. I left additional cash gratuity, but felt uncomfortable with and slightly intimidated by the whole experience.

Just thought you should know.......

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“C'est Magnifique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The reviews we read confirmed our choice to make a reservation and the food did not disappoint. I had the escargots and the duck and my husband had the goat cheese salad and a filet & scallops combo. Lovely dry red wine, yummy garlic bread and my only caution is if you like a soft, warm profiterole, order something else for dessert as these come almost crispy. The ice cream and chocolate / caramel sauce was delicious though. Sit outside - there's no reason to sit inside and you also get the bonus of Cherie's Cafe band. :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dinner Meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent food, freshest fish i ever had in years! Great service, Good location.
When i when to pay my bill, i use Company AMerican Express for all business, they tell me we dont accept AMEX. I told is my only card i use for business, sorry we dont accept. There was no sign there telling me that. My associate had to use his Visa and it was decline, as it was large amount and they told us it was the bank, but when we called the bank, they say it was the merchants system that was not recognized properly.
But besides that it a great restaurant

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

we have been here just 2 timrs during our 2weeks in philipsburg but it is absolutely worth going there. We only had the sushi and the rose and white wine. The sushi is excellent here. The atmosphere is extremely nice and also all the employees. Next time we will take someyhing differently and for sure we have to say that we have to return here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moulin Fou also viewed

 
Maho, Sint Maarten
La Savane, Saint-Martin
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten

Been to Moulin Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Fou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.