We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - but awkward "service charge" discussion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Fou

Moulin Fou
Maho Plaza, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
(00599) 545 5777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Maho
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Margate City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good - but awkward "service charge" discussion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was quite good and well presented.

They could offer more wines "by the glass" - very limited selection.

When the server brought the bill, he asked if we wanted to add "service" to the credit card
transaction? The bill clearly showed they already added 15% for service. The server then said
that management keeps 5% of that 15% so the servers only get 10%. I left additional cash gratuity, but felt uncomfortable with and slightly intimidated by the whole experience.

Just thought you should know.......

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    106
    33
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“C'est Magnifique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The reviews we read confirmed our choice to make a reservation and the food did not disappoint. I had the escargots and the duck and my husband had the goat cheese salad and a filet & scallops combo. Lovely dry red wine, yummy garlic bread and my only caution is if you like a soft, warm profiterole, order something else for dessert as these come almost crispy. The ice cream and chocolate / caramel sauce was delicious though. Sit outside - there's no reason to sit inside and you also get the bonus of Cherie's Cafe band. :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dinner Meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent food, freshest fish i ever had in years! Great service, Good location.
When i when to pay my bill, i use Company AMerican Express for all business, they tell me we dont accept AMEX. I told is my only card i use for business, sorry we dont accept. There was no sign there telling me that. My associate had to use his Visa and it was decline, as it was large amount and they told us it was the bank, but when we called the bank, they say it was the merchants system that was not recognized properly.
But besides that it a great restaurant

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

we have been here just 2 timrs during our 2weeks in philipsburg but it is absolutely worth going there. We only had the sushi and the rose and white wine. The sushi is excellent here. The atmosphere is extremely nice and also all the employees. Next time we will take someyhing differently and for sure we have to say that we have to return here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia Delaware
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A great meal but be warned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The friends that dined with us paid cash for dinner and the tip. Their change was ten dollars short and when the waiter finally was located he whisked the bill back and returned with the proper change. It was absolutely obvious that he was scamming them, no chance it was an honest mistake.

Having said that the ladies had excellent mahi mahi served with sautéed onions that they could not stop raving about. I had crispy shrimp tempura rolls topped with spicy tuna, they were excellent and well presented. My friend had a huge filet that was well seasoned and very much enjoyed.

Go early unless noise does not bother you. Around 8 pm the show starts at Cheri’s next door and it can get raucous. They have indoor and outdoor seating on a quiet side street. I would have given this restaurant five stars except for the short changing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moulin Fou also viewed

 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Maho, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Moulin Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Fou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.