We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff but mediocre hotel room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort
Rhine Road #1 | Maho Bay, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Maho
Guilford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and staff but mediocre hotel room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hotel rooms need work and you need to understand this in NOT (I repeat) NOT the Hotel on the water. The main hotel is across the street and you need to go there for virtually everything. Not sure why the owners are not investing in updating or maintaining the rooms but the sofa was two deck chairs, and a shower mat was the rug beside the bed. As far as maintenance the shower door fell off the first day and it never got fixed. Other than a mediocre room the good news is this is a great location. Maho village has many great restaurants within walking distance, and plenty of shops with two great beaches (Maho and Mullet bay) a short walk. People are exceptionally friendly and you get the fun of watching people get sand blasted when a big airplane takes off. I never get tired of watching people stand directly behind a 747 and get blown into the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I travel to St Maarten at least twice a year and stay with the Royal Islander. I love it here. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. In fact, everyone on the island is friendly, hence the nickname "The Friendly Island". I have never had a bad meal. The restaurants are right outside the hotel so walking is a must. The beaches are fabulous! I was resistant to write a review because I don't want my vacation oasis to be over crowded but I had to share what a wonderful island this is!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A great time share. The pool is wonderful with changing colored lights. Well maintained. The bar unfortunately was only open certain hours by the pool. The view off the balcony was great for people watching and sunsets. Very nice to sit out in the evening. The room was very clean, had a great kitchen and was within easy access to many shops and places to eat on Maho Bay. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great A/C if needed. Nice security. Small cars for the parking lot help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second stay at La Terrasse. We find this location really great and easy to get to both the dutch side attractions like Simpson Bay area, Maho, and Mullet Bay. It is a bit of a drive to Philipsburg, but isn't too bad if you time it right. We found the staff to friendly and attentive. The room is very spacious, we had a one bed room this time and really enjoyed the views from the balcony. The kitchen was perfect for doing simple breakfast, coffee, and a microwave to warm the leftovers. The king bed was very comfortable. All was clean and updated.

Room Tip: Call ahead and try to request a higher floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Maid service is good when they come by which is about twice a week. The rooms are old but well kept and clean. This place charges for everything. Parkng, safe, Wifi,beach towels and PC to print airline boarding passes. But they are friendly people that understand that without tourism that will starve,
This condo/timeshare complex in Maho is right beside the airport, which is not as noisey as you would expect. Parking in Maho is a nightmare, thus the reason for charging fot parking under the complex,
They get a solid 4 star because they were very responsive. Dishwasher burned up, replaced in 1 hour, hair dryer brok, replaced in 30 minutes. They take US dollar an travelers checks. Your redit card company will chage you 3% for it transaction and there is no exchange of currency. Total ripoff.

Room Tip: le islanTake travelers checks on keep everything lcked up. Security is everywhere, but thief is ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I just returned from 8days in St. Martin. Love it there. I had not stayed at La Terrasse. I was impressed with the room. 5577, three bedroom penthouse. I enjoyed the location because there is a lot to do in Maho bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was the second resort we stayed at on this trip to St. Maarten. The first place was awful so that may be why my impression of this place was so good. First off, the location was outstanding! Several things to do within a 2 minute walk. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, though a few times they were sleeping. The room itself, was clean, comfortable, and had great AC. The view was terrific. Though it is right next to the airport, with the sliding glass door to the balcony closed, noise was minimal. I would definately reccomend staying here and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort

Also Known As:
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Hotel
Royal Islander Hotel La Terrasse
St Maarten Royal Islander
Royal Islander Club
Royal Islander Resort La Terrasse
Address: Rhine Road #1 | Maho Bay, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Maho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort to your Saves list