We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worthy of a Gold Crown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort
Save
You added Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort to your Saves list
Rhine Road #1 | Maho Bay, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Maho
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Worthy of a Gold Crown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Traveled to St Maarten on July 30th through August 6, 2011!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom at La Tarrasse which was clean but old and in need of an update. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked. The room was quiet once you close the sliding doors and you would not know you where 150 feet from the runway, noise was not an issue. The bedrooms have widows which overlook the hallways but the curtains kept the light out and noise from other quests walking the hallway was nonexistent. The Hotel is not located on the beach, the sister resort of Royal Islander, La Plage is located on the beach. The La Plage is more modern, at least the lobby and pool areas are and the grounds are very clean. There is security inside each resort and there was never an issue with safety while in Maho Bay and/or Simpson Bay. The grounds were clean, the pool water was blue, the hot tub was warm and clean. The hotel is minutes away from Simpson Bay which has pretty much everything you will need...including the Bada Bing Club...go figure. The A/C was great, it was actually cold, and everything inside the suite was operable. The area of Maho Bay is old with a majority of the stores closed and/or for rent. The Dutch side, where Maho Bay is located, is much friendlier than the French side. The water in Maho Bay is a little on the rough side but there are many beaches nearby that offer calm blue water for swimming. The sand is clean and there is plenty of places to relax and enjoy the people of St. Maarten. The French side uses the Euro which on any given day costs between 1.40 or more. Some of the bets beaches we found were Orient Beach....stay away from the nude side...most of the people in the nude area should not be nude. The beaches on the French side are all Tops optional with many woman choosing not to wear their tops...hurray gotta love the European way! A MUST visit is Pinel Island which is locate off Orient Beach. We found it on Friday and were leaving on Saturday, I wish we could have gone back for a 2nd visit..it was that good. It is a short ferry ride ($7.00 round trip) with the ride being about 3 minutes, there were actually people swimming from St Maarten to Pinel Island. Once you arrive on Pinel Island go to Karibuni Restaurant and make a reservation for lunch, it fills up fast. Pinel Island is small and Karibuni is located to the left of the ramp where the ferry lets you off. Please take this recommendation to heart...it is a must for anyone going to St. Maarten. As for day trips, we went to St. Barths and found some nice beaches. It is most French and it is an expensive Island that we would not recommend visiting, try Anguilla! Places to eat...Toppers on the Bay, there is a Toppers on the main strip, it's the other Toppers (on the Bay) you want to go to for dinner and/or breakfast. If you are looking for a down night and fun place to eat try Lee's in Simpson Bay...great chicken and ribs and live music, all around good time. Mario's on the Bay is very nice, the food is very good, expensive but good, the only drawback is that it is located in the middle of "Hell." You can park in front of the restaurant so you are safe once you get there. The French restaurants are located in Grand Case which is again not the most desirable neighborhood. The restaurants are located on the side of the street and cars drive by blasting good (not really) old American Rap Music, there are motorcycles, scooters and quads all over the place and apparently legal as no one was stopping the craziness. Go to Grand Case to eat on 1 night and find other places like Leyla's on the French side. Great atmosphere, large portions and friendly service. Writing this is making me sad knowing I cannot walk outside and take a swim in the beautiful blue water of St. Maarten! Enjoy your vacation....it's a nice place to visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I didn't know what to expect as the reviews are pretty old and vary quite a bit. Also the links on the Royal Islander website did not work, I sent them an email but got no response. It would have been nice to see pictures and room specs- but went there with very little information, prepared for an "average" resort at best and was very pleasantly surprised.

We arrived around 3pm. it is litteraly 3 minutes from the airport, the lobby area is very small, simple and unimpressive but we had an extremely short wait, and were up to the room in a matter of minutes.

We had a 3 bedroom unit, and it was absolutely huge and very clean. Not brand new, but beachy decor and very well appointed.- lots of rattan furniture. It also came with an amaxing garden deck with hot tub and lounge chairs and was at least 30 by 30 feet. Fabulous ocean view and tropical plants topped it off. Much nicer than I expected.

They provide one mid week cleaning for the 1 and 2 bedroom units and 2 cleanings on the 3 bedroom units. They also provide beach towels and were strict about returns, or they charge 10 per towel at the end of your stay.

The three bedrooms were good sized and each had a bathroom. The living area was very nice with plentyy of room to sit and stare at the ocean. The kitchen was well appointed and had wonderful appliances, stainless steel fridge and icemaker, and dishwasher, everything we needed.

The pool is on the smaller end but very peaceful. A quick walk across the street takes you to the sister resort, the Royal Islander La Plage. The beach there is great and chairs were free. They did ask for a "tip" for umbrellas, but they set them up and were very pleasant. The ocean there has very calm seas, tiny waves and an amazing view of the runway and planes landing.

I had heard mixed reviews about being so close to the airport. To us it was an added plus! The rooms were quiet at night and they planes never woke us up. It was amazing watching them take off and land all day. Unlike what I had heard, there was no "jet fuel" residue on our tables or chairs and my husband and brother in law got quite a kick out of watching them.

The location was perfect with at least 10 restaurants and 2 casino's in easy walking distance. There was a grocery store on site, but the employees were so miserable we only went there once then ventured out to Grand Marche where the prices were much less anyways. They were the only unhappy people we met, the rest of the time everyone was very friendly.

Check out was the standard 10 am, and they held our bags for us so we could enjoy the facilities for a few more hours. They also have a very nice changing facility with showers and everything you need to get ready. They charge a $50.00 resort fee, internet was $50.00 for the week, and parking was another $30.00 but there were no unexpected surprises and the front desk and Mr. Green the belman were very helpful and friendly.

Overall it was a wonderful vacation experience and I would definitely be happy to return!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Va
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We enjoyed our two weeks at this resort. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our condo was well appointed and very clean. The pool was nice, but the fact that kids were allowed to bring in multiple floats and toys made it very crowded at times. Additionally, many of the guests smoked cigars, very unpleasant for us non-smokers. I highly recommend that this resort consider having a specific area for smokers so that the majority of us, who are non-smokers, are not subjected to the secondhand and unpleasant smoke.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

There were 6 in our party - my husband and me, our 2 kids, and my parents. We stayed in a 2 BR and the kids stayed on the pull-out couch - we had plenty of space. The kitchen was well appointed - except for an oven. We had a balcony view of the airport. I was apprehensive about staying here because I was concerned about the noise - not a problem at all. Our rooms were well sound-proofed - even with a wall of windows on the balcony side -- and we really enjoyed watching the planes. The staff was very friendly, the pool was great and there are some good restaurants within walking distance. We frequented the grocery store (n the same building complex) a few times - a lifesaver! There's a laundry room on-site w/ 2 washers and 2 dryers (coin op). We stayed a week, Strongly recommend you get a rental car - attractions are spread out over the island and you can spend a fortune in cabs (the facility has a parking garage - affordable day rates to park). Public transportation (we were there in low season) didn't work well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Islander Club La Plage for a week and we had a wonderful time. The manager and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, we enjoyed their restaurant recommendations. We were upgraded to a two bedroom unit and the apartment was very spacious and comfortable. All in all, we had a wonderful week and would be glad to recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We went to La Terrasse with some reservations, given negative reviews we read about the place. Upon arrival we found friendly front desk personnel, who provided us with a speedy check in. Our two bedroom unit was clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Other reviews complained about the airport being so close (it's literally right across the road from the hotel), but the rooms are sound-proofed, there are no flights after 10 p.m. and to be honest, it's a constant show watching planes take off and people being blown around on the beach (they line up to be blown around). There is a well stocked grocery store at the hotel, with fresh baked goods, alcohol, fresh fruits and vegetables, and other food items. The strip of restaurants in Maho, along with shops, provided us with wonderful meals and shopping. The pool and terrace (two floors above street level) was clean, towels were always available, and the bar was open in the afternoons. The beach was across the street, and was wonderful. I would highly recommend a trip into Phillipsburg for a day of shopping, dining and dollar rum punches on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms above the third floor offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed at La Terrasse Oct 31 through Nov 7. We had read the reviews and since our timeshare (Caravanserai) was not ready for the fourth year in a row. Caravanserai provided us access to La Terrasse. I traveled with my wife and seven other family members, we went there not expecting plush settings so we were not overly optimistic. The resort is dated in several areas but felt our room was adequate and comfortable for our stay. We had a total of five rooms ranging from efficiency, one bedroom and two bedroom. We never encountered lack of service when requested and didn't encounter any service equipment failures while there. We did go to the grocery store and bought food for breakfast and lunch. We went to dinner at a different location every night (resort has a restaurant; La Charolais, Paris Bistro just across the street, Cheri's, Green House in Philipsburg and a couple of others I forgot the name to. In most cases the prices are upscale. I wouldn't have a problem staying there again, they do need to upgrade their kitchen equipment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort

Address: Rhine Road #1 | Maho Bay, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Maho
#4 Casino Hotel in Maho
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Royal Islander Hotel La Terrasse
St Maarten Royal Islander
Royal Islander Resort La Terrasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.