We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best all inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Maho
Waukee, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best all inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for a week v toward the end of April celebrating my best friend's 30th birthday. The hotel staff was so nice and accommodating. Even a couple days after we arrived they brought us champagne and balloons to the room to celebrate her birthday. Location is wonderful as it is close to the airport. Some people may find that to be discouraging but it's amazing to see the planes land. This is a great Hotel. The food was amazing. Each night is a different theme. The bar staff was very nice. Very beautiful beach with no seaweed. Crystal clear water. Casino across the street. Rooms comfortable. I would say they need to have more restaurant staff. There were also a couple of times in which the towel hut did not have towels. One time we waited for over 10 minutes for a towel. We will be coming back for sure. This is a family friendly Hotel. The hotel next door with adults only. We did share a restaurant however we could not enjoy their hotel. The sister resort was about 25 min. away. It is close to. philipsburg.

Room Tip: At least 3 floors up. None back up to pool or beach, but very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    809
    501
    215
    180
See reviews for
527
951
124
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from our vacation at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino and can't get over what a wonderful time we had. My husband and I had an ocean view room that was absolutely gorgeous and well maintained. We were there from April16th-30th. We have been to other vacation hot spots but never treated so well. A special thank you to Fevry at the Ocean Point Buffet where his warm smile and exceptional hospitality made us feel so welcome. Also Kafue who really works his magic @ the omelette station also so very friendly. Lorna also deserves a great thumbs up :) But our special thanks and big hugs go to Sheryl @ the Palms Grill Bar...what a beautiful lady...such a warm welcome everyday and exceptional prompt service...no one can top making a "Maho Vice" like Sheryl. Overall the resort is beautiful and the plane watching from the beach is overwhelming. The food was wonderful. Prior to our stay we read other reviews and thought we were making a mistake, well I have no idea what these travelers were talking about! We will definitely be returning next year. Thank you everyone for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: spend the extra $ and get the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While staying at Sonesta Great Bay we decided to venture over to Maho to check out the hotel and its location next to the runway and Sunset Beach Bar!

We took $2 bus ride from Back Street in Philipsburg, a 12 minute walk from Sonesta Great Bay. Was air conditioned and was a bit of a sightseeing trip as well, going through Simpson Bay, by the airport and then dropped off literally in front of Sonesta Maho.

We entered the resort through the main lobby and proceeded out towards the main pool and there was the towel hut - we had picked up a couple of Maho towel cards from Great Bay before we left and got our beach towels and headed out to the elevated sandy area and found two loungers with a umbrella next to the railing! Perfect locale for the day to watch the planes arriving and it was after 11am!

Drinks were served in the flimsy plastic glasses so we should have brought our bubbas over for the day trip! We headed to the pool - not much shade left and aqua fit was going on - the pool liner was bunched up on the stairs so was weird entering the pool. Pool deck was hot on our bare feet - note to self, wear your flip flops to the pool!

We decided to lunch at Maho and then set out for a drink at Sunset Beach Bar to experience it. We ate at Palms, a la carte at the sand area of the resort. The menu look great but unfortunately our waitress advised us of 4 items that were not available and of course, 2 of them, we wanted to order! We enjoyed our meal in any event and then headed over to Sunset Beach walking the beach - we left our towels, backpack with sunscreen and took money, ID and camera with us.

We wanted to check out Sonesta Ocean Pointe and thinking we were adults so would be able to do so but security stopped us advising only OP guests were permitted - bummer!

We decided against a taxi back to Great Bay and stepped outside Maho and the bus to P'burg was right there, so we hopped on - another $2 ride each!

Glad we spend the better part of the day at Maho, but much preferred Great Bay - better lunch options and adults only!

We probably would be bothered by the constant planes arriving, but for an afternoon, it was fun.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We returned for the second time to celebrate my Mom's 85th birthday! She was so impressed with everything. We will be going again! Many thanks to our maid Deniese S. Labady who kept our room so clean. Also, the restaurant staff Lorna, and Fevry who made my Mom feel very special all week. The food was incredible...thank you Misja Ruijs, the Executive Chef for the wonderful variety. We look forward to being able to return to the Italian restaurant next time as we really missed it this time around. We understand that the new facilities at Ocean Point will be completed shortly and we will then be able to eat there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first trip to St. Maarten and Sonesta Maho was great. My boyfriend and I stayed April 12-16th. We read a lot of mixed reviews before going but we're very easy going people so we weren't too worried. Check-in was a breeze, we booked through expedia and had no problems. Our room was very nice and spacious, we had an island view premier room I believe on the 9th floor and it was a beautiful view of the island from the balcony. They restock the minifridge every day for you with water and soda. All the workers were pretty pleasant when we had questions or needed help. We hardly encountered any rudeness while staying there. We made sure to tip a fair amount when deserved because we understand this is how they pay their bills. The planes never really got annoying to us, every once in a while a loud one would come through but nothing too annoying. The wifi was in and out in certain spots but its complimentary so we weren't expecting anything super high speed. The location is great, kind of in the middle of everything. There is a casino right across the street with a lot of shops and little businesses. The Point resort is located behind the Sonesta Maho resort which was a little confusing as that is where breakfast is served every day (with a beautiful view). The food was pretty good every day (something for everyone) coming from someone who is semi-picky. There is a beautiful pool with plenty of chairs that we never got to use as we were always in and out exploring the island. There is 3-4 restaurants that get turned over at nighttime to different things. Service is slower but you're on vacation so who really minds it. The pub restaurant was a little tricky to find as it off the premises. We went Sunday through Thursday so there wasn't too much night life. There was a really nice lounge right down the strip with a rooftop bar that we enjoyed our first night (can't remember the name). We rented a car so it was fun driving all over the island. The beach is beautiful with very clear water and the weather was great for the most part though our first day it rained for 5 minutes then stopped then started again but that is to be expected on an island. Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely go back. Thanks Sonesta.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Traveled with my sister the April 19-26. Started off badly as Air Canada lost my luggage. Actually not lost just didn't bother to look for it!
Took Sunwing to St. Martins and it was a great flight. Comfy seats and non-stop attention.
Check in at the Sonesta was quick and efficient , and the cool champagne and cloth certainly were appreciated. The view from our 8th floor was amazing. Got the ocean, pool and gardens. We found the staff to be accommodating and so attentive. Always smiling and conversant.. Any request we had was quickly taken care of and perfectly done. We spent a bit of time in the lobby casino and our favorite bartender Felicity always had the drink of the day ready. Diane was a favorite and a joy. Veronica kept the room spick and span.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights (should have been 6, but got stuck in NY due to weather). Anyway, we had such a great time!! I would give this place a 3.5 rating. Check- in was easy and Kevin at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The location is great, if you like quiet then maybe not for you. We like to have fun and the casino across the street is a good time. The planes are noisy, but we loved it and it never got old. Wifi wasn't super fast, but it was fine to check email etc. very nice that it was complimentary. The weather was perfect, we enjoyed the beach and the pool. Food was very good for all inclusive, except The Palms restaurant didn't have chicken wings 2 out of the 3 days we went, which was kind of annoying. Expect slow service, it's the Caribbean and we never let this bother us, just have another cocktail while you're waiting! Enrique makes great pizza and he's such a nice guy! All that being said, the hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. It is very old and looking very tired. The Ocean Point is so bizarre to me. They built a 5 star hotel on a 3 star hotel's property. Their guests need to walk through the Maho to get there. I thought about booking there and I'm glad I didn't. They should have redid the Maho, made it a little nicer, charged a little more and I think this would be more of a benefit to them. Couple of other things; we had reservations for a king bed and got two doubles, we didn't feel like complaining so we kept it. Also, people are just not too friendly. Management should sit down employees and teach them how to talk to and treat guests. We have done extensive traveling and the people are always over the top nice, but not here. Sheryl at the Palms bar was by far the most unfriendly person on an island I've ever met. Actually kind of scary. She yelled at my husband when he ordered a mudslide and said "are you serious?!? You're gonna kill me!!!" I'm sorry, but that's your job! Not to mention there was no one else at the bar so I don't see what the problem was. The sewage plant right outside our balcony was a little bit of an eye sore and not to mention quite stinky. However, I would return here. All we ever want when we go away is a clean room and a nice beach, which the Maho has. Location is fabulous and in then end we enjoyed our stay tremendously!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#3 Casino Hotel in Maho
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#3 Spa Hotel in Maho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.