We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Maho
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a great location if you like to see planes landing, sometimes every 10 minutes. The food, either breakfast, dinner and supper, very good quality. My husband and i were served by Kenton, he provided an excellent service. We simply enjoyed and loved our stay at the Sonesta. To all the personnel that served us, keep up the very good work...see you very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are happy to know that both you and your husband had an enjoyable stay with us and our service was excellent. We look forward to welcoming you both to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    809
    501
    215
    180
See reviews for
528
951
124
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been very well served by Kenton and his crew. They are friendly and I felt welcome. Thank you very much! What a beautiful resort, very clean surroundings, and the personnel goes out of the way to make our stay enjoyable. the food especially the sausage and bacon were extremely fresh and very good. we would also like to give a big hands up for Kaufu, who made very good omelet. Very sympathetic person.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for letting us know of your experience during your recent stay with us and we are happy that our staff made you felt very welcome. We will commend the staff mentioned in your review and we do look forward to welcoming you at our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just returned from a 3 nights stay at Sonesta. We want to thank Mr. Prakash (Shahruh Khan) very much. The hotel was very beautiful, the food was amazing everything was great. Your Staff Victoria and Thaimy was extremely nice. they treat us real good. Thamily was the best and the waffer guy was great.. Great customer services. We would love to visit your hotel again. This is coming from the three ladies form Trinidad. it was the best. Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and we are happy to know that you all had such a wonderful time. We will commend the staff mentioned in your review and would love to welcome you all to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

if is one thing im going to miss is martiko the realest coffee man on the planet he makes my morning so good every single man and i dont even want to start about his coffee its the best he works at the point in the night as a waiter is like its his job to entertain us every where we eat trust me when you are eating at sonesta martiko is the guy to be your server great style he is fast you order the food baaammmm food reach the table one time this young man made my vocation he would tell us where to go what to do and he never direct us in the wrong path he gives better info than the front desk thats for sure but eveything other than that was very nice and im sure you going to see us all back there soon and very soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience with us. Of course, it is always nice to know when our staff has made such an indelible impression on our guests. We do look forward to welcoming you at our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, Saint Ann, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we recently returned from the Sonesta at Maho Bay. It was amazing,We had ocean view room and it was just unbelievable, The staff was wonderful and friendly.... Especially ms Bianca Mcintosh the assistant F&B manager, who was always there checking to make sure that we have the best service ever i would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to visit there your gonna love it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher level are just breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had such a wonderful stay on your recent visit with us and we certainly will commend the staff mentioned in your writing. We do appreciate your recommendation to your acquaintances and look forward to welcoming you once again to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just return returned from a 6 night stay at Sonesta at Maho. It was amazing! We had a premier ocean view room which had been renovated. The staff was wonderful .... Especially Kafue, one of the chefs who made amazing omelettes, eggs to order and for lunch/dinner a Mahi Mahi that was out of this world.

The best best part of the morning was the breakfast buffet and Martiko aka the "coffee man" he sings about "waking up in the morning and wanting sweet sweet coffee" he pushes his coffee cart and makes fancy coffee drinks. They are soooooo good! He was such a pleasure.

The spa was another great experience. We booked another stay and plan to bring our children.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is wonderful to learn that you had such a great stay at our resort and that you will be back with your children. We shall commend the persons mentioned in your writing and we do look forward to welcoming you and your children in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Before I write this review, I would like give a huge "THANK YOU" to Milton Reid (Food & Beverage Manager), Colin King (Front Office Manager) and their staff for making this vacation the best in the nine years we have been coming to the resort. Milton was very tentative to our needs and provided us with amazing hospitality.

Upon arrival to the hotel there was a lineup to get our room, this should be expected as the turnover of vacationers come and go and the rooms have to be cleaned,the front office manager Mr.Colin King and staff worked diligently to assigned everyone to there room as quickly as possible. We changed into our swimwear and headed out to the pool area, the first thing I noticed is they had updated the pool lounge chairs which were badly needed.The pool is always kept clean and I have to give a hats off to the pool maintenance man (Alvan) he works very hard each morning ensuring the pool is top notch, keep up the good work ALvan you deserve to be recognized for the job you do.

Since our first year vacationing in 2005, the food and beverages have greatly improved as well as the setup of all the restaurants (Ocean Terrace, The Palms Grill and The Point). Hats off to all the chefs and servers for a job well done, the food and service was excellent, I would like to personally recognize Fevry, Sharron, Laura and Kenton for their dedication and hard work ensuring the guests are taken care of. Since Milton has taken over the food & beverage department there have been many excellent changes especially in the food area, the jerk BBQ is an excellent addition to the Palms grill. The buffet at the Ocean Terrace is always great with an excellent selection from pasta, meat, salads and the deserts.

The music from DJ Ferone was awesome, he always had the crowd hoping. keep up the excellent music.

Looking forward to our (2) week vacation in September 2014.

Thanks again to all the staff at Sonesta Maho for another AWESOME vacation.

Room Tip: A tip for travelers is to upgrade to an Ocean/Pool view it is spectacular and there is not much nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administrator0813, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us to let us know of your experience during your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and observations and will commend the staff mentioned in your review. We also look forward to seeing you in September 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maho
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#3 Casino Hotel in Maho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.