We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Douglas House
Save
You added Douglas House to your Saves list
63 Queen Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Kirkbride, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Once again a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This B&B is superior to many hotels we have stayed at and we return to it at least twice a year. The owners, Linda and John are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them; the breakfasts are outstanding; there's plenty of parking; its location is excellent for walking into the town or as a base for travelling to the many local attractions and our 'usual' room has a huge bathroom and is spotless and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
71
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Three of us came to Castle Douglas for a family wedding, having booked 4 nights in the B &B.
The wedding was great, so was our stay at Douglas House. It's lovely and clean. Linda's breakfasts are delicious; plenty to eat and more if you want. The goodies on the hospitality tray in our room was greatly appreciated. The impression one gains from Linda and John is that you are welcome. That can't be said about every B & B we've been to.

Room Tip: Room 3 is upstairs and overlooking the backyard, which means that one doesn't hear any traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent three nights at Douglas House at the end of July and made very welcome. Spotless comfortable and enjoyable stay. Easy walking distance to town centre.
Would certainly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for good quality accommodation within easy walking distance of the town centre, and Douglas House certainly ticked those boxes.

The whole property is immaculate - so immaculate that when you go home and look around, you feel as if you should be hitting B&Q to collect the paint charts! Everywhere is spotlessly clean, fresh and tastefully decorated, and this balances well with the traditional style of the building which creates a cosy and welcoming ambience.

The owners show a real eye for detail, with lovely touches to make your stay special. We appreciated a comfy guests' lounge with books to browse (some covering local history etc), nice little extra touches in our room such as magazines, quality biscuits, tablet, mints and bottled water, a hair dryer, a good range of toiletries in the huge ensuite and the fluffiest towels I have ever had the pleasure to use!

Location was important to us, as we wanted to have easy access to the town centre - in other words, a bottle of wine with dinner and no long walk/taxi required! Douglas House is situated minutes away from the main street, but in a quiet location with ample street parking, so fitted the bill perfectly.

Breakfast was a wide range of cereals, fruits and yogurt, followed by a selection of cooked dishes. We enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast (it would be rude not to have The Works, wouldn't it?), and the quality of the food was excellent - the sausage was gorgeous, and it's always nice to get a tattie scone! All served with a big smile and a friendly word, which made it even more enjoyable.

Top marks to the owners for getting Douglas House just right. The icing on the cake is the room rate - such excellent quality accommodation for such a reasonable price! A lovely place to stay, which I would recommend without hesitation. Thank you, Linda, for making our stay just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just spent three nights at Douglas House. Spotlessly clean large room with huge en-suite. Scottish breakfast lived up to all the previous reviews. Plenty of on street parking. Thanks for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room number one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding locally. Our room was superb with an absolutely huge bathroom with first class facilties. Everything one could want was to hand and nothing was too much trouble for the owner Linda. Attention to detail is obvious and from the moment we arrived were made to feel extremely welcome. After a good night's sleep in our super king size bed we were spoiled for choice with our freshly and individually prepared Scottish breakfast. Would certainly recommend Douglas House as a very special place to stay in the beautiful location of Castle Douglas.

Room Tip: We stayed in the super king size ground floor room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights and I was thoroughly impressed with the time spent at Douglas House. The house is immaculately clean as was the room I had booked. I selected the single room which offered everything I needed. Breakfast was another delight and having chosen the Scottish breakfast from the menu I wasn't disappointed by the meal. The staff offer a warm and welcoming greeting and were always willing to help.A nice touch was the telephone call made the night before to confirm my booking.All in all if you`re staying in the Castle Douglas area please check out Douglas House,you won`t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 63 Queen Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our early nineteenth century townhouse offers comfortable, stylish accommodation close to the centre of Castle Douglas and within easy reach of the stunning coastal and hillside scenery of South West Scotland. Generous sized bedrooms with modern en-suite facilities, together with good food and a warm welcome ensure a memorable stay. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Douglas House Castle Douglas, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.