We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kathy B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isla Cottage
Save
You added Isla Cottage to your Saves list
Main Street (A75) | Springholm, Castle Douglas DG7 3LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kathy B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay at Isla Cottage was everything we hoped it would be and more! We arrived to the warmest of welcomes from Caroline and Stewart and they were very helpful in advising us of places to visit throughout our time with them. Isla Cottage provides absolutely everything you could wish for in a b&b- our room was large and had a wonderful view of the garden and beyond. Caroline had even arranged for a beautiful full moon on our first night there! Breakfast was the best meal of our day by far, with a wonderful choice of locally produced food. I am very happy to unreservedly recommend Isla Cottage to others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review and delighted we are living up to our Visit Scotland Award "Taste the Best". Having lived in Dumfries and Galloway all our lives, needless to say we just love it and being outdoor people ourselves try to explore as many walks etc as we can. You can't beat personal recommendations and therefore we are truly grateful to you for doing just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Caroline and Stewart do everything they can to ensure a wonderful stay in their B&B, including the lending of binoculars to help in spotting the varied wildlife in the area! We stayed for four nights in the spacious and very comfortable twin room. Isla Cottage is situated on the main A75 so at times there is a lot of traffic but the guest rooms are at the back of the house. Caroline's breakfasts were scrumptious and she uses fruits grown in her own garden and in the local area to make preserves and also serves them with yoghurt. The bacon, eggs and sausages are also sourced from local businesses. Caroline and Stewart know the area well so are only too willing to advise on places to visit and where to eat. As I am allergic to some nuts, it was great to have the ingredients of each of the cereals attached to their containers. China cups and crystal glasses all add to this spotleesly clean and lovely B&B which I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Stewart and I try hard to make people feel at home in Isla Cottage and are only too happy to help out any way we can - so no problem to borrow binoculars and maps. So glad you enjoyed my food, it really makes it worthwhile when I get such brilliant feedback. Hope you will come back to Dumfries & Galloway, especially next year when many businesses will be taking part in "Savour the Flavours" by offering local produce in many different forms. Easter has been beautiful in Galloway this year and it was good to have guests come and appreciate just what is on offer here. Delighted with your review and thank you again for taking the time to do it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took a short break to celebrate Hogmanay with family in Springholm. As such we stayed on a room only basis with my son (14) and daughter (12) sharing the twin room and we stayed in the double. Both bedrooms were spacious with en suite facilities of the highest order. There were TV's in both rooms which met the kids needs as well as the free WiFi throughout which is pretty much a must nowadays. Everything was clean and immaculate with plenty of room to rest and adequate seating to relax in.
What really makes this a B&B of the highest quality is the welcome from Caroline and Stewart and the attention to detail. Everything you could want was pretty much there and if it wasn't then Caroline would have seen to it. There were the little touches from the quality bedding and toiletries, biscuits, tea and coffee varieties right through to the bedside chocolates.
I took advantage of the guests lounge. Again immaculate with plenty of room and the location of the complimentary whisky and port which came as something of another pleasant surprise! All in all this is a wonderful B&B and no doubt our base for future family visits.
We spent some time in the village pub, The Grapes, which is a few doors down the road. A great traditional pub, nothing flash but a friendly atmosphere and the food is plentiful and pretty good to.
My only regret is not being able to taste Caroline's award winning breakfast due to the family committment. However its a must for the next visit and I'll just have to make my excuses !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Our apologies, Trip Advisor normally sends us alerts when a review is placed but it just didn't happen. That was a wonderful long and detailed review - what a pleasure to read, we are delighted we met all your needs for the whole family and we thoroughly enjoyed having you all to stay. This was a first time to have guests at New Year for us. I hope you enjoyed my breakfasts on your second stay and that we haven't lost any of our 'sparkle' since your stay at the beginning of January! We hope you will stay with us in the future when you are in the area. Thank you for taking the time to do your review, we are delighted with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this wonderful B and B due to its location for a business meeting and what a treat it was. We arrived later in the evening which wasn't a problem and were given a very warm and informative welcome. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Caroline and Stewart have created a real home from home and every tiny detail thoroughly thought through down to the small information cards offering toothbrushes and wifi code. In the ensuite good quality toiletries were supplied and luxurious towels provided. The bed was very comfortable and both my husband and I slept well with plenty of bedding and pillows. Breakfast was a feast and nothing was too much trouble. The homemade preserves and Caroline's passion for local produce provided an education as to what Dumfries and Galloway had to offer. I defy anyone to find fault with this delightful B and B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Isla Cottage and everything was to your satisfaction. We are really pleased with your kind comments about our Bed and Breakfast. Many of our guests use our visitors book but few tend to go as far as Tripadvisor so thank you so much for that. We hope you will visit us again sometime soon and sample some more of our local produce!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Caroline and Stuart made us very welcome, the rooms are very well equipped to a very high standard. Top notch beverage tray with filter coffee and nice biscuits and fresh milk as well. Lovely bathroom, comfy bed with good quality bed linen. Smashing views over the countryside.
The food was amazing, all the breakfast items were carefully made and locally sourced from excellent producers. The preserves were out of this world, the meats and fish were lovely.free range eggs, two kinds of sausage, premium local bacon I'll stop there although there is lots more. Lots of information is available.there is a proper pub nearby. Don't be put off by the roadside location, you barely notice it, the rooms are at the back. There is parking and it is easy to find. Caroline and Stuart go to so much trouble they should win an award. I am sure we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It requires some effort but mainly a great deal of thought writing a review on tripadvisor and you have covered everything that we feel is important to our guests - thank you so much for taking the time to do a review. Stewart and I are delighted with your comments and pleased you had a wonderful weekend both at Isla Cottage and sampling the delights of Flavour Fortnight in this lovely part of Dumfries and Galloway. We look forward to seeing you all again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a welcome we received at Isla Cottage - we were made to feel very at home by Caroline & Stewart who treasted us s if we were old friends, despite just having met for the first time!! Our room was lovely, very comfortable and with a stunning view. Breakfast was superb. Thank you Carolkine & Stewart for making us feel so welcome and we hope to be back again in August for a bit longer next time.

Can also thoroughly recommend The Grapes pub next door - again very welcoming and the food was excellent and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments - we do try to make our guests feel very welcome and a little pampered, that is how we like to be treated when we stay in other B&B's when on holiday. So glad you felt we achieved this and I shall pass your good comments on to the Grapes village Pub too. Look forward to seeing you again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My son and I stayed at this excellent B&B on our way to a wedding reception. From the road it looks deceptively small but once inside it's very spacious. Our twin-bedded room was a very good size with a large shower room ensuite. Also a TV, sofa, and excellent range of free tea/coffee/hot choolate/herbal tea. Both beds had heated blankets, masses of pillows and duvets. Breakfast was comprehensive with superb locally sourced food, particularly excellent bacon, black pudding and marmalade and porridge.
There are plenty of books around, a residents' lounge and a large pleasant garden. The owners, Caroline and Stewart made us very welcome indeed and we would definitely go back again. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Our twin room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winks2010, Owner at Isla Cottage, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor for Isla Cottage your efforts are greatly appreciated. It is always interesting to hear what our guests have to say and confirms the wonderful comments given to us verbally. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future and our kind regards to both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Cottage

Address: Main Street (A75) | Springholm, Castle Douglas DG7 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Scotland graded 4 star B&B. Isla Cottage is situated in the village of Springholm on the main A75 between Dumfries and Castle Douglas. Bedrooms are upstairs, spacious, comfortable, ensuite with wonderful garden and countryside views. Just a few minutes by car from Castle Douglas, Dalbeattie, Kirkcudbright and Dumfries towns. Springholm village has a pub/restaurant and a shop with other eating places close by. Ideally placed for visiting bird reserves (red kite trail), gardens, walks, golf courses, mountain bike trails and many other visitor attractions which Dumfries & Galloway has to offer. Guests are made welcome on arrival with tea/coffee served in china and a little "something" home made! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Isla Cottage Castle Douglas, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.