We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunningly beautiful house and faultless hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast

Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Kirkpatrick Durham, Castle Douglas DG7 3EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stunningly beautiful house and faultless hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Chipperkyle. The house and garden are beautiful, set in tranquil countryside and the house is very comfortable, decorated well, with lovely furnishings. The hosts were extremely kind and gave us excellent food. We could not fault the place or the hospitality. If you are looking for a really special place to stay, Chipperkyle is the answer. We will certainly be going back there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at Chipperkyle. It was a lovely experience. Willie and Catriona are excellent hosts - seemingly knowing when to be available and when to leave guests to their own devices. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent - both in terms of choice and execution/presentation. My husband and I spent a lovely couple of evenings reading and drinking whisky in front of a roaring log fire. My 10 year old loved playing tennis - whilst my 12 year old was very taken with the history of the place - "like living in a National Trust house".
If you appreciate peace and quiet, history - and interesting hosts - then this is the place for you.
Very very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had booked 2 nights at this Country House B & B, the first in the double room, the second in the twin room due to availability. We didn't mind the changeover as it looked like a jolly nice place to stay. We checked with the owner that everything was ok a week or two before we set off and were told there were no problems. We even phoned on the day to confirm our eta. When we arrived the owner showed us below stairs (and we all know what that means) and offered us the family's own bedroom which was basically, well, basic. The two beds had been pushed together so that you would have to climb over one other to get out of bed. The stairs and corridor were uncarpeted and smelled musty and damp. The bathroom was certainly nothing like the luxurious bathroom of the upstairs rooms. This room is not listed as available. The owner told us that he was concerned about our being disrupted by the move and said we wouldn't have to pay the £100 per night expected for the other rooms. We declined, obviously opting for the double as agreed. We were expecting to stay in the lap of luxury, not the servants' quarters. The next morning we packed up our things and the owner kindly offered to take our things to the other room for us. When we got back we were horrified to find our things had been taken below stairs! It was at this point that he informed us 'there had been a mix-up with the booking'. He pretended that he had told us about this. He most certainly hadn't and at first blamed his daughter then decided to take the blame himself. The way we were treated was absolutely unacceptable. We paid for the first night and basically just left. This put a dampener an otherwise lovely holiday which had started a week and a half earlier in Edinburgh to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. I would certainly not trust this chap and most definitely wouldn't stay at Chipperkyle again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is our favourite sort of b&b....and Chipperkyle was voted our best ever b&b! Everything about it was just right - they have that perfect balance. The huge bedroom and bathroom: so comfortable and just wonderful space to linger in. Very comfortable bed and lovely linen. Great shower! Superb sitting room and dining room. Perfect hosts - such a warm welcome, and just the right amount of friendliness and care throughout. Great breakfast. Lots of interesting magazines and books. Interesting garden (and a cocker spaniel!). Excellent location too. How lucky are we that they choose to share their lovely home with us?!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this delightful B and B in the heart of Dumfriesshire. We were made most welcome by Willie our host on our late evening arrival and immediately were invited to sit around a blazing log fire for coffee and biscuits. Our room was very comfortable with enormous bed and bathroom large enough to hold a party. The house is full of interesting family artifacts. It is over 250 years old with lots of history . Breakfast was excellent with home baked bread and ample choice as one would expect in Scotland. Chipperkyle is surrounded by beautiful country side and had we more time there were plenty of walks to enjoy. One tip, it is a spacious old house so in cooler weather it can be chilly. Don't let this put anyone off. We would definitely go again and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

A few days ago I stayed at a different B&B that was described in a testimonial on the web site as the best in Britain - all I can say is they haven't tried Chipperkyle.

In these days where everything has to be "extreme" or "mega", it's easy to become used to superlatives but believe me when I say Chipperkyle is, without doubt, the best B&B I've ever stayed in form Catriona's beautiful homemade bread at breakfast to the amazing accommodation.

I'd forgotten quite how magnificent the bathroom is here. It has a bath, huge shower, the biggest and fluffiest towel I ever saw, loo, bidet and his and hers sinks, not to mention a fireplace - the room is bigger than the bedroom at the last place (and that was big by hotel standards). It's not just the bathroom either, the whole place is fabulous and the welcome is wonderful.

Try it, you won't be disappointed (and no I'm not related to the owners, I just appreciate excellence).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Summer holiday seem like a long time ago? Need a few days to unwind and generally get away from it all? That's how we felt when we took the spur of the moment decision to stay at Chipperkyle, and we couldn't have made a better choice.

The double room is large and airy, with a massive 6ft bed and splendid views over the Galloway countryside. The obligatory tea-tray includes a generous selection of classic teas, fruit teas, instant and filter coffee and biscuits - although for some reason the milk is kept downstairs in the guest dining room.

The en-suite bathroom is equally generous, with a huge bath, large shower, and his-and-hers wash basins, together with masses of soft towels and luxury toiletries

The guest sitting room / dining room is luxuriously appointed with comfortable sofas, hundreds of books, and a roaring fire with an endless supply of logs - all with a perfect homely feel that immediately makes you want to curl up in front of the fire.

Breakfast was an experience in itself, with fresh fruit and yoghurt, still-warm freshly baked bread, full Scottish breakfast, and an endless supply of fresh coffee. Perfect for a relaxed Sunday morning with the papers, again with the obligatory roaring log fire - I can't remember the last time we took two hours for breakfast!

All this in the most peaceful and tranquil locations imaginable.

Oh, and if you end up going, make a point of taking a walk around Glenkiln just along the road - the setting of Moore, Rodin and Epstein sculpture in the wilds of Scotland is absolutely stunning, and under promoted - which means you have it almost to yourself.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kirkpatrick Durham, Castle Douglas DG7 3EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We only offer two of the bedrooms at Chipperkyle; they are both large and comfortable with private bathrooms. One is en-suite the other is adjoining. These rooms are west facing and are often flooded with sun so much so that we have to pull down the blinds - would you believe it in a Scottish home? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chipperkyle Country House Bed And Breakfast Castle Douglas, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list