We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at Kirroughtree Country House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant at Kirroughtree Country House
Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
+44 (0)1671 402141
Improve this listing
Price range: $80 - $80
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Scotland/Portugal
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The building is stately in its own grounds, way out in the countryside. This restaurant is expensive but you get what you pay for. You are met at the door and shown to comfortable armchairs, where you relax with a drink and "nibbles" while looking at the menu. Food is excellent - delicious, well-presented and the service is attentive throughout without being intrusive. There is no pressure to hurry, everything is quiet and relaxing, no kids running about, no loud-mouth spouting off. A place to go for that special occasion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had lunch here recently and it is the most beautiful setting over looking gardens. We were welcomed and given drinks in the lounge while we read the menu. The service was excellent and the food good. It is a set price menu and a tip is to go for lunch which is half the price of dinner as well as being able to appreciate the lovely surroundings in the sunshine

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Not just for residents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Top quality food, great service and top-notch cooking all combine to give an excellent dining experience. Well deserving of its 2 AA rosettes

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Ate here on 3 Oct with my wife and brother to celebrate a special occasion. We arrived at 7:30, it was dark and the very long approach road made us think we had made a wrong turn. However we spied a light and like moths headed for it. We were not disapointed, a floodlit mansion awaited our arrival. On climbing the grand looking steps the door was opened for us by a well dressed attendant and we were shown to the most amazing lounge area for pre dinner drinks and canopies. These were served with aplomb while the waiter presented us with the evenings menu to choose from. After enjoying the ambiance for a little while we were ushered into an elegant dining room by the waiter who carried our drinks in. Meal was top notch, brandy afterwards. Service superb. Actually sorry when it was time for us to depart.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What nice surroundings and a very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

From the moment you enter the hotel you are welcomed and addressed politely by the manager or greeting staff. To start the experience of your 5 course meal, you are seated in the lounge area where you can have pre dinner drinks and canapés , the atmosphere is relaxed and very pleasant.
There is a good choice of food from the menu, and the staff know or will quickly find out any questions you have regarding menu choice. The dining room rooms are lovely and provide relaxed atmosphere when you are eating. At the end of the meal you return to the lounge for coffee an petits fours.
We will return for a meal at the Kirroughtree Country House the next time we are in South west Scotland. The set menu is very good value, if you want to treat yourself.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Kirroughtree Country House also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Restaurant at Kirroughtree Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Kirroughtree Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.