We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country style guest house amid beautiful riverside garden is a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flowerbank Guest House

Flowerbank Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flowerbank Guest House
Save
You added Flowerbank Guest House to your Saves list
Millcroft Road Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6PJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Country style guest house amid beautiful riverside garden is a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We have just come back from visiting our sister and spent the weekend at this guest house. This riverside house is minutes away from Newton Stewart town centre but for all that is so peaceful and quiet. The guest house is spotless and the owners are so friendly and informative. Our room overlooked the back of the house and was very comfortable and tastefully appointed. A nice touch at breakfast was the freshly prepared fruit salad and the potato scone served with breakfast was home made. We woud highly recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the area. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

This was by far one of the most beautiful places we stayed on out honeymoon. We spent a lot of time enjoying the Garden both from the bench and the room. Breakfast was good and the service was friendly.

Our only critique would be that this place is definitely geared towards older people. We felt a little out of place being the youngest in the B&B.

  • Liked — The Garden on the River
  • Disliked — The age discrepancies
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Lovely riverside location. Spacious room and generous size shower room. Unusually, there is a separate lounge for guests. Excellent breakfast, more than ample portions. Good value at £31 pppn.

  • Liked — Splendid riverside location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed recently at Flowerbank Guest House and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It sits on the beautiful River Cree and the gardens there are really nice and well kept. The rooms are of a good size and are nicely decorated and appointed. Our breakfast were great and there was a lot of choice on offer. The owners were very friendly people too. It's very central to Newton Stewart town centre as well, just a short 10 minute stroll. We would definately recommend this guest house and it is the nicest guest house we have stayed in, in the UK . We will be staying there again hopefully sometime in the not too distant future.

Mr & Mrs Roberts (Nottingham)

  • Liked — The room and gardens
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

An ok B &B with a great garden right on the river. Rooms were clean and breakfast was good. Nothing fancy, just a friendly place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flowerbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flowerbank Guest House

Address: Millcroft Road Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6PJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Flowerbank Guest House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flowerbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.