We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of Guest House, a Gougeous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowallan House

Rowallan House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rowallan House to your Saves list
Rowallan House
Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Norfolk, England
1 review
“A Gem of Guest House, a Gougeous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

This was our second stay at Rowallan - no less enjoyable than the first. Thinking about the possibility of returning this winter I am moved to write this short review. Rowallan itself - the house and gardens - is lovely and the service provide by the owners is exemplary. We had a truly relaxing holiday, mainly walking in the nearby Galloway National Park. Rowallan serves good hearty breakfasts setting one up for an active day, and the evening meals are amazing considering the moderate price. Above all the owners, Robbie and Julie Hart, are genuinely hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N. Yorkshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have only written one other review, and that review was to meant to commend the B&B we stayed at a couple of years ago. This time, I feel that I should write to address the shortcomings of the services we received at the Rowallan House. We were a large group of 12 who filled the entire house for a weekend of mountain biking, walking, and general fun. We were to eat Saturday night dinner there, as well, for a large sum of money. The house was very clean and the rooms were most acceptable. The breakfast meals were minimal, as well as the evening dinner. We all walked away hungry, and the men in our group wanted to order a pizza after dinner. What was quite odd, was that we didn't get to sit together for dinner because the hosts kept us at our designated breakfast tables for the meal. Why they couldn't push the tables together for us, I'll never know. I think it may have been too much work for them. They also wanted to stagger our Sunday breakfasts but why be a group of friends, if we can't eat and chat together? We also asked to use the very large lounge for our yoga morning session and was told to go to the town leisure center instead. (The yoga session would have involved no more than four of us.) This would not have interrupted any other house guests since we were the only house guests for that weekend. We won't be recommending this house to our friends, nor going back there again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

What a wonderful stay!

After embarking on a road trip of Scotland we found this hidden gem to be one of the highlights of the trip! For a quaint and charming Scottish experience, you can’t do better than Newton Stewart, and whist here, you simply must stay at Rowallan House! Newton Stewart attracts mountain bikers, golfers, hunters,salmon fishers etc throughout the year (depending on what time of the year, of course).

However, no matter what time of the year, Rowallan House will accommodate your needs (I'm a vegetarian). The house, as I’m told, was once built by the Earl of Galloway for his daughter. It has six bedrooms, is very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is made to order and doesn’t disappoint –I wasn’t hungry until dinner!

The hosts, Rob and Julie Hart, have filled the house with their own collection of antiques from South Africa, Zimbabwe and Britain. The house will make you feel at home. Plus, it has a well stocked bar for a night-cap. I highly recommend a visit!

  • Liked — Great hosts, excellent location, and atmosphere - home away from home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Rowallan. Rob and Julie Hart have been the owners for just over 12 months and have made the property even more pleasant than under former owners. The bedrooms are extremely quiet and very comfortable, with tv and mineral water and other drinks available in the rooms. The main rooms are spacious and those on the front of the property have lovely views over the town to the hills and woods beyond. The gardens are considerable and worth exploring as well as having seats and benches for the use of guests. Breakfasts are very good and served in the conservatory, as are evening meals if you arrange to have them, though there are several excellent eating places in the town, all within walking distance. Rob and Julie are extremely friendly and helpful and are iuilding a clientele of returning guests, which is well merited.
There are two lounges, including a residents' bar and a separate snooker room. This is a small hotel with 6 rooms, but the welcome is big and the total hospitality package very memorable.

  • Liked — The comfort, quiet, cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2005

Our first stay at Rowallan House was on our honeymoon in 1973!
Over the years we have returned many times, and have never been disappointed in this lovely house, with its beautiful garden.
The rooms are spacious and clean, furnished in impeccable style and equipped with every comfort.
Breakfast (delicious, lots of choices!) is served in the conservatory overlooking the garden, and you will find it hard to believe that you are just a few minutes walk from the town centre, and a good range of places to eat out in the evening.
Maurice and Ruth Ann are wonderful hosts, and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Rowallan a B&B in Newton Stewart.There are only 5 bedrooms but they are very comfortable and it is run by a delightful couple Maurice and Ruth Ann Green.The house is an old Victorian building (set in its own inpressive gardens) which has been tastefully renovated and recently decorated,with breakfast served in the conservatory.There is a nice residents lounge bar where it is nice to spend some time with the hosts and fellow guests.
Maurice and Ruth Ann (she is from America) are very knowledgable about the local area and are able to recommend both days out and the best places to eat lunch and dinner.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked a return visit in September.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowallan House

Address: Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rowallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowallan House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowallan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.