We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bruce” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bruce Hotel to your Saves list
Bruce Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
kirkacldy fife
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Bruce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for 5 days which we both enjoyed BUT the Bruce needs to be brought up to date,Rooms big and cleaned every day But needs new beds and new pillows wallpaper in our room was coming off the walls and the ceiling plus a lot off dirty marks which only needed a wipe again enjoyed our time and would go back if it was all updated Breakfast was ok but very greasy

Room Tip: Try to get rooms at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    73
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
57
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding @ Black Clauchrie. Staff were so helpful, rooms comfortable & would return if we can. The staff even went the extra mile for us when transport for wedding was mixed up and manager offered to drive some of us there himself- can't say better service than that!!

Room Tip: Our families had a variety of rooms on different floors - all we're of decent standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel itself was fine & the breakfast was excellent but the overnight experience was very noisy! Unfortunately our room was overlooking the street & being a Friday night the bar a few doors away remains open until the early hours. Around 1am there was a tremendous disturbance with shouting & screaming echoing outside the hotel which doesn't really go down too well after a long day's driving! This of course was no fault of our hotel but maybe a room at the back would be a better option .......especially on a Friday night!

Room Tip: Please ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I were in Newton Stewart for a one-night stay, attending a wedding nearby. Arrived at the bruce Hotel and were given exemplary service from the start. Rooms are spacious, clean and all facilities available for us to get ready for the evening. Staff were very helpful throughout and the a great breakfast the following morning rounded off a very pleasant stay. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel & have no hesitation in recommending it to others. The rooms are clean & comfortable, warm in winter (January) & with a total of 5 opening windows in my room (16) it was cool enough to sleep comfortably in a heatwave on my last stay.
My room had free wi-fi, tea, coffee & biscuits provided, TV & radio, hair-dryer & plenty of towels & toiletries.
The only criticism of the Bruce is the sound proofing, the walls between the rooms & corridor are basic stud walls with I suspect very little sound proofing & the rooms on the first floor suffer from sound penetration from the bar area, it didn't bother me but if you think it could be a problem then ask for a second floor room.
Breakfast is tea/coffee with juice, cereal,fruit, prunes! followed by a full Scottish with as much toast as you can manage.
Overall it is a good quality hotel with pleasant & polite staff. Location wise it's 1 min from the A75 & a 2 min walk into town, just remember it's 3 star so don't expect total luxury, what you will get is clean & comfortable with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Excellent Hotel
Very reasonable pricing; great staff; good, if basic, food; comfortable, clean and quiet rooms.
All round I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a second.
Only criticism they need to improve their coffee I would recommend investing in some French press coffee pots

Room Tip: 20 & 21 have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Check-in was prompt, ALL the staff were helpfull and friendly. We got the last available twin room (Rm16) so were pleasantly surprised that it was of a very good size (no view to talk of and at the price we paid it did not matter!). The decor was ok, however it was clean and bathroom had a good shower. The tea & coffee making facilty was replenished including biscuits & bottle water. The bathroom had the usual complimentary toiletries & towels. There was a very good choice of breakfast and staff were kind enough to change items on the tasty cooked breakfast. We also had a very good bar meal, which was well priced. The only minor issue being the first floor corridor which was very narrow resulting in some slight noise transferance. Check out was also very prompt, the access & egress to the rear carpark was entertaining?
The hotel is located at the southern edge of the town and is less than 5 minute stroll to the centre. This quaint little town is a great base to check out sourrounding areas and has sufficient shopping on the main street and a Sainsbury's and Aldi's down at the river. We also ate at the busy Creebridge House Hotel and enjoyed a great meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.