We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review - lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creebridge House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Creebridge House Hotel to your Saves list
Creebridge House Hotel
Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
cumbria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Restaurant review - lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a lovely meal here if a little expensive.

Very nice though & we would probably return. It was very busy & despite this they managed to fit us in.
Barman a little 'over familiar' but just being friendly I suppose. Creme brulee is to die for!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    56
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
91
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I returned to the Creebridge House Hotel this bank holiday with my wife and daughters, and had a fantastic time. Its a pleasure to be there, the staff are great with the kids and they had the free run of the gardens to explore, whilst we relaxed in the piano lounge. Mealtimes were busy but we didn't have to wait and the food was excellent, we enjoyed the bistro menu at Lunch and spoiled ourself on the a la carte menu in the restaurant on Saturday evening! Sunday was a bonus, the manager invited me to take part in a Golf day he was sponsoring at the nearby Newton Stewart golf club, and the wife & kids were able to come along and enjoy a free BBQ, what a great day (except for my golf). We will definitely return, many thanks to Steve, Sarah & staff.

Room Tip: We had a delightful family room with seperate bedroom for the girls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Creebridge house hotel for 1 night on our way back to Ireland. Its a wonderful old house, full of charm. The rooms we had were lovely and comfy with views over the garden and some do have creeky & sloping floorboards but its what you would expect in a very old house. Everything was spotlessly clean. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming, many thanks to Laura. We ate in the Bistro and the menu was excellent and the food was fantastic - the best meal we had in our trip to UK & Scotland. Its certainly a refreshing change from the moderm hotel chains that we are so used to nowadays. Thanks to all for a lovely stay - we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Excellent staff, food and bar in a lovely old building. Rooms are fine but not luxurious. The staff were very friendly and were most helpful. Particularly liked smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Excellent stay. Very pleasant and helpful staff, good food, better quality and lareger rooms than many more expensive hotels, beutiful grounds and handy location for most of what D&G has to offer. Would recommend to anyone and will use again if in area..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have eaten in this hotel several times, attended a wedding there, and stayed overnight also. I have not been remotely disappointed on any of these occasions. The food was unbeatable - the menu was varied, and the service was excellent. The room was beautiful. It could not be beaten. The gardens are beautiful as well, and was well kept.
I'd recommend this to anyone, as a hotel and an eaterie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

i stayed for two nights in July and found that the 4.5 rating for this Hotel was seriously overstated and sadly brings TripAdviser ratings and credibility into question. My B&B was £116 pn yet the first room I was offered was the worst hotel room I have ever seen. The wallpaper was dirty,grubby and peeling off. The wash basin was cracked and there was no mattress cover revealing an old and dirty mattress. We were shocked. In the managements defence they did respond and offered me another room that was much better but not up to the room rate I was paying. The residents lounge looked OK at first glance but on closer inspection I have seen better chairs and seating on the tip. They were 10 years beyond there 'use by' date. On the positive side the service from management and staff was very good. This Hotel obviously trades off its TripAdviser rating(they had a plaque prominantly positioned on the reception) but quite frankly it contravenes the Trade Descriptions Act. Be warned and beware.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Address: Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creebridge House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.