We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best trail centre in the UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 7stanes - Kirroughtree

7stanes - Kirroughtree
Kirroughtree Visitor Centre | Galloway Forest Park, Newton Stewart DG8 7BE, Scotland
01387 702228
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Still the best trail centre in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Been here several times in the past few years. Having ridden pretty much all of the trail centres in the UK I still rate this as the best. The red/black route is long enough to be testing but not have you totally on your knees at the end & has plenty of technical challenges plus a couple of evil climbs just to remind you who is boss. The single track here has real flow whilst there are other sections you may not clear first time, if ever, but that's just one reason to keep returning. Getting here may be a mission but its one we never tire of.
Only complaint this visit (April 13) is that the seems to be a new visitor centre under construction but the old cafe has already been shut. Not sure what's being achieved there save a loss of lots of custom to other local establishments.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7stanesCIC, Manager at 7stanes - Kirroughtree, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Great to hear you recommend Kirroughtree as the best trail centre, especially as you have ridden most in the UK.

Sorry to hear your last visit did not provide the facilities you have experienced in the past but the Cafe is now open again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant red route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've done most of the 7 Stanes now and the red route here is my favourite.
Great singletrack, fairly challenging and well worth doing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kirroughtree virgins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just did the blue route with my Pal Jim and it was amazing.We're both pretty unfit and found it slightly challenging but worth it,virtually every climb is rewarded with some exciting downhill forest single tracks. A few more visits and our fitness level will be greatly improved.
We enjoyed it so much that that we're doing it again next week for my birthday with about 10 more guys of varying fitness levels. It's going to be a laugh, followed by a pub crawl round Newton Stewart! Bring it on! ;-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawes, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MTB heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

With 2 of the Stanes still to do, Kirroughtree is by far my favourite. Forget the green route - too many farm gates. The blue & red routes are excellent, with good flowing single tracks. The black route is for those with more ability than me - I spent as much time pushing as riding. The cafe offers a good range of cakes for a re-fuel between routes, & there is a handy bike shop for parts & running repairs. They offer bike rental & tuition (by appointment) as well. Best time to visit is in late spring, when the tree canopy is just out & the forest floor is carpeted with bluebells. For non-bikers there are numerous good walking trails of differing lengths from the car park. Only a short drive away is the nature reserve of Cree Wood, also well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Challenge for all levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Arguably somewhere between Mabie and Dalbeattie in terms of technical challenge, Kirroughtree's red trail, with its extended loop is a good two hours of rock and root single track that'll have the heart pumping for all the right reasons.

Having ridden it in the dusty dry of one summer, this year we had the place to ourselves because it was absolutely tipping it down. Not even Uplift Scotland hung around for long. Still, there's enough tree cover to stop it getting too muddy. Roots obviously get a bit more tricky in these conditions, and Rocky Road was made more of a challenge as it was harder to keep the front forks straight, but for some reason all the rock step sections seemed more fun, maybe because we were hanging and hoping. You get your rewards though with some sweeping descents.

Like all but Newcastleton there's a small fee for the car park but please pay it as the Forestry Commission keep them well maintained. The BreakPad will hire you very good quality bikes if you need them as well as selling you any spares you might need. You can also arrange bike tuition with BottleGreen Cycling. Look Ruth up, she knows her stuff.

The cafe - at the end of the red- serves good soup, baked potatoes and excellent cakes of all sorts. They don't bat en eyelid at muddy riders stopping for hot chocolate with all the trimmings, and if the weather is good there's a nice set of benches to talk through the ride on.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7stanes - Kirroughtree also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Ae Village, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to 7stanes - Kirroughtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7stanes - Kirroughtree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.