We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackhorse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blackhorse Hotel to your Saves list
Blackhorse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   66, Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burnley
1 review
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have visited Dumfries and Galloway many times over the years, but this is the first time we have looked for a hotel (having previously holidayed in self catering accommodation). We found the Blackhorse to be comfortable, very clean and very very welcoming. All the staff, without exception were friendly, cheerful and efficient. The breakfasts were substantial and well cooked, as were the bar meals, again all served with a smile. Little things like a bottle of water in the bedroom; knives and forks that were shining clean; and a well kept bar, all helped to make our stay. We will return to Dumfries & Galloway and will stay at the Blackhorse, which is probably the best recommendation we can give.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Whilst spending a few days in the area, we visited The Black Horse for our evening meal on three consecutive evenings. We were made most welcome by Sue and Jackie. Food was excellent - with a good choice - Sweet Chilli Chicken Stir Fry was delicious. Lovely warm friendly place. If you're in the area this place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My son (8) and I stayed here for one night ahead of a sporting event. We checked in late, and the kitchen was closed. But it was no trouble at all for the owner to prepare sandwiches and chips for us.
The bar is lively and well supported by locals, and drinks prices are reasonable.
Our room was spotlessly clean, and had the biggest bathroom I have ever had in a hotel.
Breakfast was a well-stocked hot buffet, with a range of cereals and juices too. Yet again, service was enthusiastic and smiling.
Will definitely be rebooking for our event next year.

Room Tip: Weekend revellers can impact on noise levels at the front of the hotel. Ask for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creetown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hi my wife and I had lunch yesterday , the food was very good , I had a new version of lasagne made with black pudding ( a really nice alternative ) and was told they do a version with haggis , so if you like either give it I try , I would recommend it . Nice friendly place with a good bar and good staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This small hotel owned by Irishman Derek and managed by his trusted local woman Denise is an absolute treat to experience. Great welcome, friendly, they have a "nothing is impossible" attitude, rooms are spanking clean, food in the restaurant is great and so well priced, and a beautiful small bar that is lively and good local craic! We highly recommend this small hotel and we will most definitely be back, so "children friendly too", our three young boys had a ball!

Room Tip: Only "tip" is make sure you leave Denise a "tip" before you leave, she is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkconnel, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

There were 10 of us that stayed on Sat 24th Aug we all arrived early before our book in time but the staff were great and we all got settled into our rooms (which can not be faulted). With a wee refreshment in the bar Denise introduced herself as she would be looking after us at dinner and breakfast (and looked after we were). The Dinner 1st class various dishes were had and everyone complimented the chef. With some more refreshments we got to know a few of the locals and Denise joined us for a while. Great nights sleep then it was into Denise`s full breakfast again this meant 10 clean plates. We will definitely be back and have already recommended this to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Called in whilst on holiday with the family to watch our team on Sky in the English Premier. Even though TVs weren't on when we arrived the staff didn't hesitate to put them on when we asked. Had a great and reasonably priced meal and enjoyed the football along with some locals. It's a small bar but this just adds to the great atmosphere as you feel like you are sat in your front room at home. Would definitely call back in when in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackhorse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackhorse Hotel

Address: 66, Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackhorse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A SMALL FAMILY RUN HOTEL IN THE MARKET TOWN OF NEWTON STEWART. NEWTON STEWART IS A SMALL TOWN IN THE GALLOWAY HILLS. OUR HOTEL HAS A TOTAL OF 9 BEDROOMS AND ALL ARE EN-SUITE. DEREK, TRACEY AND ALL OUR STAFF WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME YOU TO HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Blackhorse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackhorse Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackhorse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.