We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House O'Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House O'Hill Hotel to your Saves list
House O'Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bargrennan, Newton Stewart DG8 9HT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family and i had an Absolutely lovely meal here ...Staff were friendly and informative ..I would highly recommend everybody visit this wonderful gem set in Dumfries and Galloway.P S try the rabbit is tasty

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
61
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here on the 4th and 5th June whilst walking part of the Southern Uplands Way what a superb hotel. Fully refurbished upstairs and part of our party were very comfortable in the cottage. All the staff were amazingly welcoming and helpful. Nicola picked us up from our walk on the second day and both nights the food was outstanding. Good ale and wine too with a wonderful atmosphere and great banter. We were so impressed that later in the week when we had to pick our second car up we drove 60 miles to eat there again. We were even chased by the staff when one of our party inadvertently left his cash-back before leaving, how good is that! We will definitely be back !

Room Tip: The cottage is good if more than one room required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the House O Hill on Sunday 9th June ... After a long bike ride we were made to feel welcome and dinner and breakfast were excellent .. Perfect for the Southern Uplands Way ... Thanks to Tattie and Helen

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After a gruelling ascent of the Nick of Balloch on National cycle route 7 we descended to Bargrennan and were greeted by Nicola like long lost friends. She was brilliant and soon had us ensconsed in the little cottage beside the pub which was immaculately clean. Our bikes were neatly locked away in a little dry shed next to the cottage and we were soon enjoying a glass or two of champagne. One of our party was celebrating a birthday and we had sent up a banner to hang outside the pub. Not only were they happy to do this but Nicola had even decorated the flat as well.
After an afternoon siesta we sauntered to the pub and to a table reserved for us. The menu is imaginative, the food beautifully presented and with a coice of real ales on draught we had a great evening. Nicola joined us for a drink at the end of the evening when we found out the origins of her nickname, Tattie.
After a sound nights rest we took breakfast in a different room in the pub and said a reluctant goodbye. This must be the best pub for miles around and just perfect for an overnight stay if you're cycling route 7 or looking for stars in the Dark Sky Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've been to the House o'Hill last March. After being welcomed at the bar, we were told the hotelrooms were being renovated. Instead of a room we where offered the cottage next to the hotel at no extra charge. One of the employee's helped us out planning our trip for the next day (due to weather-conditions we had to abandon the Southern Upland Way walking path (which passes the hotel at about 600 feet)) although her advice made me laugh at first (I still did not have the chance to appologise for this, but I will at the next visit), she was absolutely helpfull to us.

The cottage itself was magnificent to say the least. Warm, cosy and well equipted. A TV, DVD player with DVD collection, and plenty of room. The bathroom was spotless clean and looked modern.

After a little rest, we went out for diner: to be honest, it was not what I expected: The food was Bib Gourmand if not Michellin-Star worthy. Next to preparing the food to be extremely tasty the cook manages to present his dishes with great almost artistic style.

The bill was about 150 pounds (2 persons including drinks and food) which in my opinion is on the low side for the service offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

In a field of potatoes, this one really stood out. Nicola aka Tattie (or more formally Miss Potato) was above and beyond the perfect front of house - who else hugs the guests as they pedal off in pouring rain? Spent a repeat of my 23rd birthday here, one night, just off the National Cycle Route 7 and had a fab time. Secure bike storage. 4 of us stayed in the cottage with complimentary prosecco chilling in the fridge, birthday banners adorning the walls - its the extra mile that counts and they went quite a few more on top. Happy memories. Thank you so much. We'll be back. Big hugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Mrs Fringe and I dropped in for supper on Saturday night. The place is immaculately clean and smart as a new pin, and inside the main bar the place was buzzing with a combination of locals, trippers who'd been hill walking or touring and a smattering of army folk

I like my beer and there was some excellent and well-conditioned real ale to choose from - a brew called Slainte was smooth and malty, with a nice hoppy bite to balance. Mrs F went for the usual GnT.

We wanted to eat and there was a snag in so far as we hadn't booked. Quickly sorted though with minimum fuss, the only compromise being that we were relocated to 'the snug'. This small room had a nice coal fire in the grate and some comfy armchairs, although otherwise kinda bland. Mrs F ad I were the only folks in it, which suited us fine and we put our feet up and relaxed, but if you were looking for more of a scene you'd be in the wrong room.

Grub was good on the whole - Mrs F opted for a steak and mushroom pie - a big portion with a meaty, mushroomy filling, nicely seasoned. She chose mash with it - a delicious dollop - and good carrots and brocolli. So - no surprises and all done well. I chose a falafel-burger which sounded great on the menu. It wasn't really very hot (the cheese on it didn't melt, for example, so I had a slice of cheese on top of the burger, rather than a gooey melted experience) but was tasty enough. I could have asked for it to be made hotter but, you know, they were busy, we were in the quiet room and so on. 2 courses at dinner and drinks for two came to about £35

Which brings me to service - what fun - warm, good natured, funny - we spoke to three different ladies and each had a few moments to spare to chat to us, tell us what was going on and a bit of the back story of the pub. All this whilst working hard on what was obviously a busy night for them. And, with the single exception of the cool burger, fautless too.

In short this is a great wee watering hole if you're in the area. You'll be welcomed warmly and well looked after. Based on our experieince, book ahead if you want to be sure of a meal in the main part of the restraurant. Recommended.

Visited April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House O'Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House O'Hill Hotel

Address: Bargrennan, Newton Stewart DG8 9HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House O'Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since taking over the House O'Hill in March 2010, we have tastefully refurbished all areas of the hotel. But what makes the House O'Hill truly special is the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere that greets weary visitors looking for rest and relaxation away from the stresses of modern urban living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your House O'Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House O'Hill Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House O'Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.