We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“foreign country” 3 of 5 stars
Review of House O'Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House O'Hill Hotel to your Saves list
House O'Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bargrennan, Newton Stewart DG8 9HT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“foreign country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The 'Hoose' is now a restaurant really, understandable as a remote place has to find some way of making a living. The food was OK, beer excellent if a bit expensive in such a place- Edinburgh prices, but Newton Stewart just as bad. Also, I was looking forward to a trip to Scotland but almost all of the people in the pub were English, with funny accents- thats the real world i suppose but I hear more Scots voices in London! Would quite understand the local Scots (if there are any?) getting annoyed about that!

Room Tip: I dint stay so can't help-
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseohillhotel, Owner at House O'Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a response.

We are sorry you only found the food 'OK' and would be glad to hear how you think we could have improved your food experience. Please feel free to contact us directly as we are always eager to listen and learn from constructive feedback.

We glad you found our beer 'excellent' but are sorry you found our drinks prices higher than you expected - unfortunately it is necessary to charge the current rates for beer, wine etc in this industry across most parts of the UK. It is no cheaper for us to serve beer in Bargrennan than it is for an establishment in Newton Stewart or Edinburgh, hence there might be a similarity in pricing. Indeed, small rural businesses such as this one will often pay higher prices say for kegs of Ale simply due to transportation costs. Bulk buy offers tend to be more suited and available to the very large town/city establishments so we rarely, if ever, get to take advantage of these preferable barrel/keg rates. We hope this goes some way to explain our pricing and why you found similar prices in Newton Stewart.

Your comments about some of the other customers in the pub being English and their 'funny accents' was quite disappointing. We do not discriminate or base our level of service on a persons ethnicity or cultural background. If we only served Scottish customers, and you might not be Scottish, you might not have got to enjoy that 'excellent beer' - which would have been a shame. We welcome all customers equally and are very lucky in this lovely corner of south west Scotland to have fantastically strong cultural and community commitment. Certainly this area, even with it's non Scottish residents and/or visitors, is very proudly and very definately Scottish. Fortunately, as far as we know, we have never heard of anyone expressing annoyance at other community groups settling in this beautiful area. Indeed, more likely the opposite. The local Scottish community is very warm, friendly, helpful and kind. They are perhaps less judgemental than yourself and base their opinion of person on his or hers individual behaviour when they get to know them, and not on where they come from or their accent. Maybe if you spent a little more time here, some of this might rub off on you.

If you did decide to pop in for another pint we would be glad to introduce to our lovely customers who we are sure would change your view of the area and it's community to a more positive one. Certainly you would be left in no doubt that you were not in a 'foriegn country' but very much in South West Scotland.

Yours Sincerely
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
61
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was my fifth stay stay the Hoose and it just gets better and better. The menu gets more and more ambitious and succeeds everytime; the staff team get ever more confident in giving you a warm welcome and great time and there is always a great buzz about the place - on this occasion for Hog many.
The only slight reservation is that there is nt really room to swing a cat in the bedroom but what the heck; its a place to rest your head when you are not walking in the forest or partying in the bar and the beds are huge and comfy and the showers are red hot too!

Ive watched the Hoose grow under Karen, Helen and Daniels proprietorship and reckon it is a terrific achievement that shows no signs of flagging with help from Nicola, Paul and the PInk Ladies now as well.

And Glen Trool and Galloway forest is a real undiscovered gem of a place for a weekend too.

George

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the House O'Hill B&B on our way home from Nairn.

When we arrived there was no where to park the car, and had to park further down the road and carry our bags and son to the door in the pitch black. However once we entered we were warmly welcomed by one of the owners who showed us to our room and helped carry our bags.

The room was warm and cosy with two large beds and a shower room. there was also a tv & dvd player and tea and coffee making facilities. You can hear a little of the music from the bar, but nothing to stop you from having a good nights sleep.

We booked for breakfast at 8:30, and there was plenty on offer. Our son had a huge bowl of porridge and was then brought sausage and bacon for when he had finished. Myself and partner both opted for the full cooked breakfast. Again we were well looked after by the waitress. The only downside was my husband asked for his breakfast to come without egg, tomato and mushroom, his breakfast arrived with all of them on. There was more than enough coffee, tea and juice which got topped up when requested.

Overall a good halfway house on our trip home from the highlands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great incentive to go out into the outdoors is lunch before or after a walk, is lunch at the House O' Hill Hotel and pub. We enjoyed vegetable tempura, home made burger and venesion and mash, followed by ice cream sundae with honey colmb. The atmosphere is excellent, warm fire, great service and great coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We often travel to this wee gem in the heart of Galloway. There is always a friendly welcome and the choice of food is excellent. The dining area is warm and the staff very attentive. The rib eye steak is very tasty and cooked to your liking.

One of the starters we don't see often is so yummy. It's crispy Filo pastry with a creamy mushroom filling to die for! We have been told to ask for this in advance if we would like it again.

They have a new chef who we understand specialises in sweets. He makes his own icecream.
The choice of sweets meant it was difficult to decide what to try. What we did have was Wunnerfu!

The only improvement for me would be some cushioned dining seats.

Customer service is second to none. I would not hesitate to recommend the House O Hill to anyone who likes good food served in such a warm and friendly environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked for 2 nights on 'spec' as the reviews were good and the location just what we wanted for a couple of days exploring an area we had often driven past on the motorway but never visited.

The staff were very relaxed and friendly which made for a comfortable atmosphere and the food was first rate, good local produce well prepared and very enjoyable.

I was delighted to find that one of the ladies was a big fan of 'Erasure' but resisted the temptation to show off my sequined lycra PJ's.

Highly recommended!

Andy Bell

Room Tip: Only two rooms, French Auberge style; it isn't for the rooms you go here although they are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

House O Hill Hotel is our local pub and has been transformed by the owners who took over 3 years ago - they have created a wonderful little country pub with a great atmosphere and superb quality food at realistic prices. Frequented mainly by local people and of course visitors in the holiday periods, the three owners go out of their way to look after their locals, having successful events outwith holiday times and have just had their third Beer Festival with superb local beers, local musical talent and of course great locally sourced food - it is well worth a visit. Well done to Daniel, Helen and Karen

Room Tip: Lettng rooms as small but beautifully formed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to House O'Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House O'Hill Hotel

Address: Bargrennan, Newton Stewart DG8 9HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House O'Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since taking over the House O'Hill in March 2010, we have tastefully refurbished all areas of the hotel. But what makes the House O'Hill truly special is the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere that greets weary visitors looking for rest and relaxation away from the stresses of modern urban living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your House O'Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House O'Hill Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House O'Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.