We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cree

Cafe Cree
48 Victoria Street, Newton Stewart DG8 8BW, Scotland
01671 404203
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Family run business with a desire to provide home made food, with a warm welcome.
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

food was lovely, nothing was too much trouble and we would recommend this surroundings was basic but who cares when the food is that good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food all day long.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

A superb breakfast, tasty baguettes & sandwiches. The lunch menu looks good but we have yet to try anything. Very friendly staff and great service. If I had to be picky I did not expect squirty cream with my fruit scone & jam, that was somewhat disappointing. Clotted cream or double cream is so much nicer.
Definitely worth a visit when you're in Newton Stewart.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good food, very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a Tuna salad for lunch and I was asked if I wanted a large or small portion. Glad I elected to have a small salad as the "small" portion I got had loads of food on the plate *see photo* as well as four slices of brown bread & butter, pot of pickle, coleslaw and some crisps.

Very good value with very good professional service from the young ladies serving. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brill wee cafe and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The tray bakes are out of this world! Staff are friendly and prices are good! The food is homemade and delish!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and very pleasant and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Go to this cafe often and never have been disappointed yet. The food is first class and the staff are polite and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cree also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Cafe Cree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.