We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets in this class of lodgings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conifers Leisure Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Conifers Leisure Park
Save
You added Conifers Leisure Park to your Saves list
Kirroughtree, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrington, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in this class of lodgings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

There's a few niggles you could have about this park/lodge, but nothing that should deter you away from the overall excellent premises, facilities and location.

The TV is a bit knackered, the DVD player didn't work and there's not much storage for food. The lodge is more like a large double static caravan clad in timber, and such creaks and groans like a caravan does, not a solid timber lodge. The lodge is very comfortable, clean although perhaps a touch dated. Nice windows and verandah and the electric heating all works well to ensure a comfy stay. Within its price band, its what you should expect. The park and grounds it is set in are excellent and really well maintained too.

For a 4 night midweek stay for a VIP lodge, I think we've paid something like £230. The booking warned that the hot tub was a 30 yard walk, so we didn't quite know what to expect. There was nothing to worry about, as we'd scored the most private hot tub on the park sheltered in its own bamboo screened timber gazebo. The views from the hot tub overlook Newton Stewart and where the sun sets. The gazebo has its own picnic area too, although icing on the cake would be if they'd provided a BBQ.

Newton Stewart and its surrounds are a lovely part of the world and this is an excellent, very good value for money place to choose. Add the hot tub, and you've got that extra bit of luxury at a great price.

I shouldn't write such glowing reviews, as the availability will decrease and the prices maybe the other way.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Whilst clean there was a very musty smell in our lodge which took several days and several scented candles to clear. It felt as though no one had been in the lodge for quite some time and it had not been aired.
I felt there could have been more cutlery and crockery - 4 of each for a family of four which was a bit frustrating.
We were only in the basic 2 bed lodge so the other larger lodges were perhaps better furnished but ours felt a bit tired and unloved.
We called into reception twice during our stay and again to return the key but never saw any staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for long weekend at these lodges with friends. Lodges were ok but a little tired although spotlessly clean. Twin room was furnished with two rather small single beds which weren't ideal for adults and were most uncomfortable (and we are not large people). If you go here, take towels with you - one bath towel per person is provided and no hand towels and bearing in mind you need towels for showering as well as going in and out of the hot tub, they're pretty grubby after 3 days. Had problems getting tv to work and had some power problems with the hot tub as it kept cutting out but the staff were onto any problems immediately and got things sorted. The decking to the front of the lodge was very narrow and furnished with 3 chairs but a bit tight to sit in comfort - and one of us had to stand ! Found out while we were there that the park is in administration so unlikely that any money will be spent unnecessarily on upgrades/extra towels etc. We stayed in a 2 bed lodge but had a look round the 3 bed which is stunning - pay the extra and stay in one of these.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lodge with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

we are returning customers to these lodges we go twice a year for long weekends, we always love going back . The lodges are spacious and very clean the staff are very helpful and are always on hand if you need them. There is a wonderful golf course right next to the lodges which serve some great food, Newton Stewart is just a short stroll away. I would recommend these lodges.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while taking part in a mountain bike race in the area. 5 guys and two kids fitted perfectly, plenty space for all.
We were fortunate with the weather making it a great spot for a BBQ on the terrace both nights.
The staff were friendly and the hot tub is a winner for tired legs... Definitely recommended for staying if visiting any of the 7 stanes in the area.

Room Tip: Phone them in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djallerton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Great location for exploring the south west region of Scotland. The park is quiet and perfect for that peaceful getaway. Clean, comfortable and a well equipped kitchen. Bathroom and shower well looked after. Beds great. Would go back without hesitation, in fact wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Would definately reccommend getting one with a hot tub.ideal for a quiet few nights away.staff all very helpful.will definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conifers Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifers Leisure Park

Address: Kirroughtree, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Newton Stewart
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a range of lodges sleeping from 2 to 6. VIP lodges feature hot tubs for that added bit of luxury. Dogs are welcome in a number of our lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conifers Leisure Park Hotel Newton Stewart
Conifers Leisure Park Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conifers Leisure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.