We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B that really delivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Cree
Save
You added Villa Cree to your Saves list
Creebridge, Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6NR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Lanarkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“B&B that really delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

On arrival we were provided with tea, coffee and biscuits in the picturesque garden overlooking the river Cree and bridge in glorious sunshine which was as warm as the welcome we recieved from proprietors Sheila and Dave. The accommodation was excellent, cleanliness was top notch and beds were very comfortable. Usual tea and coffee making facilities but all looked very up to date and china cups, saucers and tea spoons were REPLACED every day. Biscuits were excellent quality BORDERS biscuits and different varieties. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and Sheila and Dave couldn't do enough for us frequently offering extra tea and coffee in the lounge in the evenings or afternoons. JACUZZI BATH!!! in our bathroom yes folks I kid you not. And they gave advice on where to eat locally and we enjoyed every meal. They even booked a table for us on our first evening. All this for £30 PPPN and front room with river view £32.50 PPPN All 4 of us heartily recommend you try this fabulous B&B we will certainly be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and myself have just returned from a wonderful stay at Villa Cree. We were made to feel so welcome by the proprietors Sheila and Steve.
As soon as you put your foot in the door you feel a sense of relaxation.
The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable and the outlook is charming overlooking the River Cree with its fast running water over a weir and watching herons feeding on the riverbank and a chance to see otters
swimming in the shallows
The location is perfect for salmon fishing or just lovely walks down the side of the
river and through the pictureque village of Newton Stewart.
After a good nights sleep and a very hearty breakfast your time is your own to take in the sights of a very quaint village and the nearby Galloway forest
We would definitely recommend a stay at the Villa Cree
Heather and Dennis,Sale,Cheshire

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This guest house is just perfect - the owners are helpful, friendly and charming. On arrival we were treated to tea and biscuits on the front lawn. The rooms are clean, spacious and well looked after. We would most definately return and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Great location for Newton Stewart and Galloway Forest Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I used Tripadvisor to choose a B&B for an Easter break, and landed in Villa Cree. We received the warmest possible welcome, with tea and coffee served on the lawn overlooking the river. It was just fantastic!

Nothing is too much trouble for hosts Sheila and Steve. The room was spotlessly clean, and the en-suite bathroom looked brand new. As a keen fisherman, Steve pointed me at some stunning local venues, with beautiful scenery and plenty of fish to be seen.

Breakfast, which was included in the price, was very tasty and made up to individual order.

This is a great example of why I use Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Excellent! The hosts are wonderful and SO helpful. Great location,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We really enjoyed our short stay at the Villa Cree. The location is lovely overlooking the river, breakfast was nice, and everything was comfortable. Best of all was the hospitality from Sheila and Steve, they were very friendly and helpful with tips on places to go in the village and information on the dark skies park. Sheila also brought us tea and biscuits to have in the garden beside the river. A very nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here as a base for exploring the surrounding area and were made very welcome by Sheila and Steve who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They were happy to provide crockery and cutlery so we could dine in and also to heat up food we'd purchased from a nearby supermarket. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Villa Cree is in a pretty location overlooking a river and close to the town. It's a place we'd be happy to return to and to recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cree

Address: Creebridge, Minnigaff, Newton Stewart DG8 6NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cater for most outdoor pursuits, but especially salmon, sea-trout fishing, and shooting. We have our own fishing/gun room with gun safe and rod racks, and wader drying facilities. we also have a large dog cage so even the gun dogs get a nice dry nights sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Cree Newton Stewart, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.