We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice summer break -” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ednam House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ednam House to your Saves list
Ednam House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice summer break -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Stayed here during the summer 06. Probably the best view of any hotel in the town. Bowling green over looks the river tweed. Very Nice for a few drinks early eve.
Very little going on in the town however, lack of restaurants as well.

Apart from all this, was a nice trip - would stay again if it was cheaper - the room wasn't great - not one of the suites - not really worth the money but I can understand why the Americans like it.
Stayed up late drinking in the bar which is a pleasant change these days....

  • Liked — Old fashioned charm
  • Disliked — Too expensive for what you get!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    45
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
21
95
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Ednam House in early October 2006 for one night. The hotel has a great in-town position overlooking the river. We stayed in a principal room, with a lovely bow window looking out to the river.

We probably would not stay at Ednam again, although we wouldn't actively guide people away from it, either.

The good:
1. The staff are wonderful. Helpful, responsive, and very kind. We knew immediately upon arrival in our room that the bed had a problem (see below), and they were very friendly when I went downstairs to see if there was anything they could do to fix it. A porter (also very nice) was sent up to put a board under the mattress while we were at dinner. This did not come close to solving the problem, but they were nice and cheery and not at all defensive about it.
2. The hotel is a small hotel that is all about faded charm. We loved this about it; if you are a shiney new kind of person, you will hate this place. Everything is a bit dusty and deteriorated in an old country house sort of way. Our room was full of lovely, worn-down and mismatched pieces of furniture. Nothing has been touched in years. (Caveat: be careful when you sit in the chairs - they are in desperate need of repadding)
3. Good location in town. You can walk down the river, wander through town, etc. A good base for exploring the borders. Pretty views of the river (though not as good as the website would have you believe).

The bad:
1. The bed. This is the kind of bed that your batty great-Aunt Mathilda might have in her basement, you know - the one she bought in 1942 on sale and slept on for 50 years without changing the mattress until she broke her hip and was forced to get a new one. Literally, it tilted. The top right-hand part was 2-3 inches lower than the lower left hand part. When we lay down, our bums sunk nearly to the floor, so that we were practically kissing our knees (well, not quite, but it felt that way). A very nice porter came to slip a board under the thing, but nothing will help except a new bed. In the $300 price point that they are playing in, this seems unacceptable to me. Motel 6 has far, far superior beds.

2. The bathroom. Not horrendous, but pretty spartan. Motel 6-like, which again, while not the end of the world, is not what you expect at $300/night.

3. The food. The dining room looks out over the river, so enjoy the view - because the food is quite possible the worst I've ever eaten. We were served a salmon soup (in salmon season, on one of the best fishing rivers in Scotland) that was so bad we could not take more than one bite. Lest you think we are outrageously demanding gourmands, let me assure you this is not the case. My husband will eat pretty much anything (English boarding school training) and even he could not manage more than a bite. Our game was overcooked and largely tasteless, and the dessert barely edible. There semed to be a nice bar/restauarant right across the street that had the potential to have better food - if you do stay, I'd head there. Breakfast was nothing special - edible but not particularly good eggs, cold toast, and boxed juices. That being said, the staff that served us were friendly and cheery.

So there you have it. Like I say, it has its charms. But to me, a hotel has a responsibility to provide, at minimum, a comfortable sleeping surface and a decent meal. All the faded grandeur and smiling faces in the world can't make up for a lousy night's sleep and a bad meal.

One other caveat: we are in our 30s, and we were the youngest people there by 40 years or so. We enjoyed this, but we definitely got the impression that their bread and butter is the older crowd that has been coming for 30 thirty years. (All very authentic!)

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Horrible food & beds
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed here for a three night break in August, i only wish i could have stayed longer. I chose the hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, as i don't think there is a better recomendation than people who have stayed in a place before. On entering the hotel you are met with a very grand scottish interior, open fire,f ishing rods etc, all quite baronial. The friendly receptionist guided us to our room which was one of the principal rooms overlooking the river. The room was lovely, quite large, decorated elegantly in pale golds, with a high squashy bed!.It was nice to see white robes hung behind the bathroom door for our use. Looking forward to dinner, we had pre dinner drinks sat outside on the lawns which go down to the river. The food is gorgeous(and i like my grub!), four courses all cooked fresh, the fish being particularly good. Coffee in the lounge followed, now so full we could hardly move, managed to force down the fudge which came with the coffee though. Would love to return, sincerely reccomend.

  • Liked — Food and location.all of it!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a principal room,pricey but worth it.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

We only stay in the border area of Scotland on the way to our holiday destination in the Western Islands each year.
Ednam House is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in the area.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and had all the facilities you could want and the restaurant was very good both for service and for the quality and choice on the menu.

The setting on the banks of the Tweed is idylic and the small maket town of Kelso just a few minutes walk.

Altogether an excellent stopover hotel on the way to the grandure of the Western Isles.

Stephen - Southampton

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

it could have been the lovely weather that we had all week , but also all the people at Ednam House who made us feel welcomed - We have truly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it - We will be back before long !

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

It has been several years since we stayed at the Ednam House but a return trip to Scotland has me thinking about this small hotel again. This place is just great; others have described it well and I agree with all that has been said particularly the accomodations and the meals.

I want to add one little story which says a great deal about this lovely place; we were traveling from the USA with our sons (18 and 13 at the time). The staff (especially in the restaurant) couldn't have done more to make their stay enjoyable. The first night my youngest son asked for some milk. After the waitress clarifed he wanted milk to drink and not for his tea, a small carafe was brought out. That was quickly finished, the waitress discretly expressed her surprise and another was brought right out. Looking around the room, we realized our boys were the only youngsters there and the 13-year-old was the only one drinking milk. We wondered how we were impacting the milk supply. Regardless, at every meal thereafter, as we were walking to our table, another very large carafe of milk was placed at my son's side even as we were sitting down.

They also made sure to walk him through the menu - "I don't think you'd be liking the haggis lad, but the angus beef now - that's for you." He loved both the beef and the service - they made him feel special without "talking down" to him.

A great experience for the whole family and as I type this in, I realize I've decided where to finish on our return trip this coming summer. Thank you Ednam House Hotel!

  • Stayed July 1999
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

The weather was nice so we decided to jump in the car and headed off for the Borders - We had booked a nice country house just outside of kelso, that morning, however when we arrived they didn't know anything about our booking and offered us what seems to be the staff bedroom ! (no discount no apologies) - So we decided to leave and got into Kelso - the town is really lovely with a nice town square and lots of little shops - we cam across Ednam House Hotel; the welcome was really friendly and helpful- we were shown the room to help us decide to stay - what can I say, light, spacious, clean very comfortable - the restaurant has the best views across the river tweed and the food is just spot on ! (£23.00 for 4 courses and coffee) - we managed to extend our stay there as we felt there was no point leaving and moving on to the next place. We will definitely be back to this little gem !

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ednam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednam House

Address: Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ednam House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednam House is a gorgeous Georgian Mansion located in 3 acres of gardens overlooking the river Tweed, yet within Kelso town centre. This idyllic location offers tranquility and convenience and is the perfect base to explore the Borders and access the many castles, gardens,Golf Course,etc.. not too mention the many salmon fishing beats.Ednam House has been owned and run by the Brooks family since 1928, and today Ralph & Anne, the fourth generation, are delighted to carry on the tradition of offering their guests and visitors genuine hospitality and authentic good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ednam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednam House Hotel Kelso
Ednam Hotel Kelso
Ednam House Kelso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ednam House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.