We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ednam House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ednam House to your Saves list
Ednam House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We never tire of the chance to come to Ednam House for a special lunch. Today was to help celebrate a friend's birthday. We had the best table in the room, with view straight to the river Tweed. Some roses remained in the hotel garden and these added to the developing autumn colours. Staff were helpful and cheerful, did not seem to mind how long we lingered. Food was very good , though not a very extensive menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    22
    8
    15
See reviews for
19
81
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

An old favourite of mine. Fourth time I have stayed at Ednam House. Never fails to please, good food,good service and a lovely single bedroom overlooking the Tweed. If you want modern Ednam House will not be for you. If want old fashioned style you will love it as I do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went here with friends who had booked a window table overlooking the gardens and the River Tweed for a bar meal. Three of us ordered fish and chips - fresh Eyemouth haddock in crispy batter - and we all agreed that it was the best fish we had had for some considerable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had evening dinner at Ednam House as a party of 10 but didn't stay overnight. The entrance to the building is very impressive with seemingly endless reception rooms on the ground floor. As the previous reviewer states, some of the furniture is slightly worn but it isn't off putting. The dining room is very grand entering by the large staircase (could be a problem for less able customers) and would have benefitted from a few more diners. Service was excellent and attentive without being over bearing. Good menu and super food. Would happily do it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we arrived, the receptionist was welcoming, friendly and made us feel special.

Our first impression of the hotel was that it had been a grand house and hotel, but that it was a little faded around the edges. We loved the fishing rods and reels in reception and thought that these really made the place, as did the magnificent 18th C plaster work. However, the public rooms, were over-filled with surplus furniture and poorly matched china, ornaments and pictures. A little weeding out of some of the less interesting or antique items would give the rooms a sense of space and elegance. One public room was very unpleasant - it vibrated!! We were told that this was the kitchen ventilation - essential but not for guests.

Our bedroom was clean (other than two hair grips on the floor) as was the bathroom, but again with very oddly matched furniture and decoration that appeared not to have been changed since the 1960s. Our beds were soft but perhaps too much so, whilst the pillows were like rocks - a happy medium, please.

That said, I did appreciate the atmosphere and assume that many of the clients who stay for the fishing love the faded elegance and homeliness that they will find here.

I cannot fault the day staff in any way - they were responsive, helpful and always willing to talk. However, the night porter had to let me out to bring my car into the car park, and then bolted the front door and wouldn't answer the bell; luckily I found a door open for a function, so was able to get back in via the bar. Breakfast was excellent with home cured bacon, ham etc., and an excellent Finnan Haddock - perfectly cooked, as was our dinner.

A tranquil setting on the river and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

lovely grounds,hotel entrance gorgeous,receptionist very helpful,shown to our room on ground flower with a view of the tweed,and lovely gardens,our cousins have stayed many times,hence why we booked,went into bar....and there they were sat !!could not believe it..
dined with them that night very busy,fine food,breakfast sat with them.fine again.
second day not to good..went for breakfast only 4 others in...and we wanted to sit by the big window, river view,7.30! no waitress said, someone would be coming and want to sit there,,,we did !
we just sat on the edge nowhere near the window...disgusting attitude we finished and not one other person came ? then at night same thing restaurant nearly empty.. she asked us to sit in middle of room.by our selves..no we wanted to sit less obvious,near edge .they tut tutted ! they had our room number surely they could remember which table we moved too.!
every other member of staff was lovely ,jimmy,the best,so why be so military in the restaurant..
give and take surely for guests pleasure >

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

stayed here for a fishing trip with my husband and some friends. Shabby chic is the best description I can give this hotel. The stay was lovely although some of the rooms could do with some re decoration but apart from that couldn't fault anything. Staff were very good and couldn't do more for their guests. Food was excellent and the breakfast had a huge choice of items. Would definitely return for another visit .A lovely old country house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ednam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednam House

Address: Bridge Street | Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ednam House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednam House is a gorgeous Georgian Mansion located in 3 acres of gardens overlooking the river Tweed, yet within Kelso town centre. This idyllic location offers tranquility and convenience and is the perfect base to explore the Borders and access the many castles, gardens,Golf Course,etc.. not too mention the many salmon fishing beats.Ednam House has been owned and run by the Brooks family since 1928, and today Ralph & Anne, the fourth generation, are delighted to carry on the tradition of offering their guests and visitors genuine hospitality and authentic good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ednam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednam House Hotel Kelso
Ednam Hotel Kelso
Ednam House Kelso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ednam House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.